Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Garner Fine Arts Academy 5

Posted September 05, 2014
- a parent
This school offers so many different activities through classrooms and clubs, everyone can find something that interest them! The teachers and staff are wonderful! Highly recommended!

Garner Fine Arts Academy 5

Posted May 27, 2014
- a parent
My daughter attends Garner and loves going to school. Her 1st grade teacher, Mr. Eisel, is wonderful and encouraging. They stress reading alot, and homework is to be done every night, along with reading for 20 min. They have lots of activities and parent involvement. They just started 'looping' where the child will stay with the same teacher and my duaghter is so excited to keep her teacher.


Garner Fine Arts Academy 5

Posted June 19, 2012
- a parent
What a joy it was to send my son to GFAA! Mrs. Cappalletti was so caring and did such a great job at keeping me up to date on my sons progress through out the year! Thank you to all who fought to keep this school open and helped to turn this school into an AMAZING place! I also have to give credit to the entire 1st grade team of teachers. They all work together and learn, what seems like, EVERY 1st graders name! It takes a village and from what I saw they applied that to the children benefit. Each teacher showed they cared for the children even if they were not in their class. Thanks GFAA for a WONDERFUL school year and we can't wait for next year!

Garner Fine Arts Academy 1

Posted May 11, 2011
- a parent
I am very disappointed with Garner Elementary this school year. My child has been exposed to many inappropriate things during this school year. This issue was brought to the Vice Principals attention and was not handled appropriately. I am so upset, and regret that my child has ever attending this school. And also, my childs teacher was lazy. I never knew what they were doing in class on a week to week or day to day basis. With this teacher there were no outline or curriculum to follow for parents to work at home with students. So I never knew what my child was learning in school or when my child was failing until the report cards came out and it was too late. My child will be attending a christian private school next year to hopefully get caught up and back on track. And hopefully be taught at an organization where inappropriate things are being monitored and I can rest at night not worried about "What will my child be exposed to tomorrow".

Garner Fine Arts Academy 1

Posted August 10, 2010
- a parent
I was so shocked when my son transfer school from Reche Canyon Elementary (CA) to Garner Elementary (TX). The school rating was the same but Garner quality was so far behind. The teacher only give less homework and no homework sometimes. Remember practice makes perfect, the kids cannot do well if the teacher don't send homework to home for their practice. All their daily work are done in class. The teachers had no sign of caring if they child is learning or not. With less home work going home this school will always be Unsatisfactory. You Send Your Kids With Nothing, They Come Back With NOTHING. The School Staff & the Vice Principal was so cold. The Principal didn't care for student. I gave some input for this school but it seemed they didn't care about it. So disappointed with this school. I transfer my son to another school.


Garner Fine Arts Academy 5

Posted July 04, 2009
- a parent
Garner is a great school! Parental involvement is excellent and the teachers are always smiling and positive. Garner PTA is active and very involved. Most importantly the teachers really care about the students and the parents. When I have had concerns about anything they are always addressed promptly. The principal is great and always greets you with a warm smile. My son has been a student there since kindergarten and my daughter will be entering this upcoming school year and I only hope this school continues to do great. It feels so intimate because everyone knows each other and everyone truly works together for the sake of educating the children.

Garner Fine Arts Academy 5

Posted June 18, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Garner Fine Arts Academy 3

Posted April 22, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Garner Fine Arts Academy 5

Posted January 11, 2006
- a parent
Garner Elementary is excellent! My daughter is a transfer from a private Christian academy and I was skeptical of the academic program and her adjustment to a public school. I was pleasantly surprised with all that she had mastered and been exposed to by our first semester conference. The Garner PTA is very active and teacher dedication is much higher than I ever expected. The teachers really challenge the students with very interesting assignments on their level. Character building is incorporated through reading assignments, plays and class activities. Extracurricular activities offer much more than an opportunity to play. My child gets exposure to classical music/ballet in music, went on a community safety field trip, attended a live performance and competes with other students her age in a chess club. I am thrilled to know my tax dollars are being spent in this way.

Garner Fine Arts Academy 4

Posted June 02, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Garner Fine Arts Academy
145 West Polo Road, Grand Prairie, TX  75052
(972) 262-5000
Last modified Garner Fine Arts Academy is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Garner Fine Arts Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top