Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
28 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 37 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Colin Powell Elementary School 3

Posted July 06, 2016
- a parent
Sometimes one can forget who are the teachers as opposed to the students. Good news, this may change since the principle in leaving. Bad news is she will be going to another GPISD school.

Colin Powell Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
Ms Arnold, thank you for making the difference in my introduction to Colin Powell Elementary. Your guidance, responsiveness and patience made the difference. You rock!!


Colin Powell Elementary School 5

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
We are new to Colin Powell and we have had an awesome experience so far. The school has a diverse population of students and their leaders are equally as diverse. It's truly refreshing to see! The principal is very caring and concerned about the students. Upon meeting her, and my daughte'rs teacher, I knew I had found the perfect fit for my daughter. The environment is very positive and welcoming. The school is clearly passionate about making a difference in public education. The administrators and teachers are easy to work with, patient, supportive and always responsive. We love my daughters new teacher, Ms. Stewart, she has been a pleasure to work with.

Colin Powell Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
I appreciate giving the students time to complete the homework during the week. We have a demanding schedule at times and it helps to be able to manage it and create a reasonable balance.

Colin Powell Elementary School 5

Posted June 11, 2014
- a community member
I am a former student there at Powell. The first moment I walked in the school I knew it was going to be great well when you are in kindergarten they treat you like angles because you are small but on 1st grade the discipline you for your on good but all my years were great but when I got to 5th grade it was a little tuff for me because I didn't understand what I was learning but that moment that the 5th grade teachers knew they we're helping me a lot to pass my STAAR test and also you get to go to camp Grady spruce it is a over night camp with your friends I loved it their you get to go on a mountain and a island and to ride on horses also do archery there a lot more I don't want to spoil it but last but not least my principal Thelma jones was the best you could ever have !!!!!! : ))))))


Colin Powell Elementary School 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
Heard so many great things about this exceptional school. Can't wait for the new year to start for my little one.

Colin Powell Elementary School 5

Posted December 19, 2013
- a parent
I have two children attending Colin Powell Elementary and I have to say this school is wonderful. The teachers and programs are top notch. They really care and it shows!

Colin Powell Elementary School 1

Posted September 28, 2013
- a parent
There is almost no point in submitting this review since for every bad review, the teachers pose as parents and post a good review. Myself and my child were treated horribly by the teachers and staff at this school. I have to wonder if it is because we were not as "affluent" as others at this school. All snobs! Hate this place.


Colin Powell Elementary School 5

Posted August 31, 2013
- a parent
Powell is the BEST public elementary school without hesitation. The principal is strict but in a caring way and the teachers follow suit. We decided to stay in the area simply because of this school and the education our children are getting. One of our children is special needs and we could not ask for a better environment for him. Thank you, Powell, for being the best. We are blessed to be able to attend.

Colin Powell Elementary School 4

Posted August 14, 2013
- a parent
Powell is a wonderful environment for children. Goals are set high for each child's achievement and parents are expected to participate in their child's education. I have two children still there and one that will attend middle school this year. I know that my children are well taken care of, motivated by the staff, and feel very loved. What more would a parent want for their children?

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Colin Powell Elementary School
5009 South Carrier Parkway, Grand Prairie, TX  75052
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 37 reviews. (972) 642-3961
Last modified Colin Powell Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top