Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
37 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 60 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Larson Elementary School 5

Posted July 17, 2016
- a community member
Last year, third grade was my son's first year at Larson. His teacher Mrs Casale was outstanding and my son thrived under her instructions. The whole year was great and the PTA did a fabulous job!

Larson Elementary School 1

Posted September 05, 2015
- a parent
My children never experienced small group instruction at this school. (Guided Reading, Guided Math). They do give tests in small group and call this guided reading. There is no structure or discipline in the common areas of the school. Instruction is antiquated- too many worksheets. Most grade levels do the test every Friday routine ( educators know this is an example of lazy teaching) This is evident by their lack of distinction stars from TEA. They have children sitting in classrooms that can pass STAAR at level 2, but they don't tweek their instruction to get growth out of them.


Larson Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted September 05, 2015
- a parent
Worksheets don't grow dendrites. This school needs higher order thinking questions and less worksheets. They recycle lessons from the 90's and assign homework that doesn't follow the TEKS.

Larson Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 02, 2015
- a parent
I have loved every teacher, but one & the Administration removed my student from her class quickly. Not every teacher is amazing, but so far 3 out of 4 at Larson have been. Ms. Peal is so very compassionate and truly loves every child. Ms. Dressel loves to teach & it is her calling in life. Ms. Lotteryman is a blessingand really knows her stuff. Those three are amazing.

Larson Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 02, 2015
- a parent
So far the amount of homework given has been just right for my students. One of my advanced students could have used more, however other parents probably wouldn't appreciate it.


Larson Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 02, 2015
- a parent
The teachers are pretty fair in their treatment of studentd and they hold them accountable for their actions.

Larson Elementary School 5

Posted June 02, 2015
- a parent
Finishing up another great year at Larson with two of my children! Last year (1st 6 weeks) with my first child was less than amazing because we had a teacher who was clueless, however the Assistant Principal & Principal took a very active role in my child's learning & said I should move my child to another class. They made some moves and picked a totally awesome teacher for my child! What a difference. Of course some teachers & students don't always mesh & that was my case, but the administration stepped in & made it right & did it quickly. I was shocked....they really did care. I even got phone calls from the Admins that they were going by the new class to check on my kid! Now this year, two kids enrolled with two totally all-star teachers and no issues at all. I can honestly say everyone from the office staff, to the cafeteria ladies, to the janitors, to the guidance counselor will really care for your kid(s) at Larson. I went and looked at Ellis prior to Larson & just stepping into the hallways kids were running wild & the office staff was very rude to me. I did not feel welcomed. I suggest, if you have the choice of schools, tour both & see where you feel most welcome.

Larson Elementary School 1

Posted May 19, 2015
- a parent
Worst school my child has ever been to. They have horrible staff and teachers! They were rude, it seems most of them were not concerned about student's well being. I've had to visit the school everyday because of what my child will come home and tell me. if you want peace of mind don't take your child to this school.


Larson Elementary School 5

Posted December 26, 2013
- a community member
I was a student at larson and it was so fun the lions show its self good i went t9 larson seince i was in kinder through 6 it was the best sxhook Go larson i

Larson Elementary School 5

Posted December 05, 2013
- a parent
My son has attended LARSON since 2nd grade and he TOTALLY loves it and so do I. The staff is amazing and he is always treated as if the school truly cares about him...my son has ASTHMA and is often in the nurse office (I am also at the school often when he is sick) so I am always dropping in at random times and not one time have I ever been disappointed in LARSON. My son came from a private school when he started and is currently on his 2nd year of being in advanced classes. I am always telling my friends/family how AWESOME this school is and truly hate that it is the last year we will be here. I am grateful for all the time & dedication he has gotten while he attended this AMAZING Elementary School!!!

Nearby schools

Larson Elementary School
2620 East Avenue K, Grand Prairie, TX  75050
(682) 867-0000
Last modified Larson Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top