Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Shady Grove Christian Academy

Private | K-12

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Grand Prairie

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $95,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $810.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 23, 2008

The Students really make the school; it was a rather pleasant atmosphere despite a rather mundane curriculum.


Posted March 12, 2008

This school shows a lack of strong academics in the high school, presumably from the underqualified faculty. The elementary and jr. high, however, has a strong staff and system. It offers great tuition rates and varied extracurricular activities, especially for its size.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 27, 2008

I was extremely disappointed with the academic education provided at this school.


Posted September 12, 2005

I have two children that attend SGCA. We feel that the academic programs are of the highest standards. They offer a wide variety of sports and music opportunities for the middle to upper school students. The parent teacher organization is active in all ares of the school. Tuition is affordable and fundraising is neccessary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2005

My husband attended Shady Grove from 5th-12th grade, and he loved it. Our children attended SGCA for one year, and unfortunately we had to move away. It is a great school with a great staff. They have a great music program as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2005

I am a alumni from the class of 2003 and I thought Shady Grove was ok, its just some of the people there were into some real weird things such as speaking in tongues. Some of their religious views and practices made me extremely uncomfortable. If you're not that much into the religious aspect of it (or if your kid is an agnostic) then you and your child will probably be much happier at a public and/or non-parochial private school. Overall though, the teachers were pretty nice and so were the office staff. Also, if you're real big on extracurricular activities and electives, they don't have very many choices for that. For example the foreign language department in the highschool consists of only Spanish.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 23, 2004

My name is Ebony Crawford and I am an alumni of the class of 03'. Shady Grove Christian Academy was a great change for me. At first I attended a 5A public school and wasen't really happy so a family friend told me about Shady Grove and I figured that I would take a chance at an all white small private school. At first I hated it because it was to small and then because of the lack of african americans. After graduating I don't regret switching because Shady Grove faculty and some students make you feel welcome, expecially the basketball coaches. Even though I have graduated I still stop by to visit and I am still loved by everyone. If you are looking for a family in a school Shady Grove is it for you.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 13, 2003

My daughter began in the 2nd grade here at Shady Grove, and is now in the 5th grade. She thoroughly enjoys every part of her day, from the classroom to PE to band. She is flourishing in her talents and is challenged to do so by the teachers and administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

My daughter started SGCA in the first grade and is now a senior! We have been delighted with the school & teachers and are looking forward to her entering college. The Acadamy has been a safe environment for our daughter to obtain a wonderful Christian education that will allow her to go to any college and follow her dreams.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1829 W Shady Grove Road
Grand Prairie, TX 75050
Phone: (972) 313-2431

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Larson Elementary School
Grand Prairie, TX



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT