Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Travis Elementary School

Public | PK-4 | 631 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 8, 2010

My two daughters go to Travis and they love it. Everyday they are up and ready to go. I love seeing them so excited about school. The teachers and staff there really care about the students and that makes me as a parent feel good about me sending them to this school. Both of my daughters are above average for their grade level and the teachers keep them motivated and keep challenging them to do their best. Keep up the great work TRAVIS!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2010

My experiences with Travis Elementary have been overwhelmingly positive. I appreciate the caring staff and the family-friendly atmosphere. My children love going to school there. The school has always had high standards. The hard work of the teachers and administrators led to the school receiving a TEA Recognized rating this year, and I am confident they will continue to improve! Go Travis Lions!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2009

My child has gone to this school Prek & Kinder and I believe it to be an awesome school for my daughter. So far both of the teachers my daughter has had..have been wonderful, teaching her alot of things, especially Mr. Escalera. At age 6, in kinder, she knows how to read, write short stories (age appropiate) math, subract and other things. GOod Job Travis!! awesome job by mrs. luke as well (kinder teacher) very informative.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2009

i find myself not liking that classes havie to be emptied because other students go into fits of rage . the teachers have no choice but to clear the room for the safety of their other students. this school needs some seriuos help from somewhere before i would send any of my lkids there .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2007

My 2 sons have attended Travis before the remodeling and after. I have always had any and all problems or issues dealt with promptly, professionally and with care and understanding from the Principals and Teachers. Keep up the good work! Thank you. TRB
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2006

I find that tis school parent teacher communications are terrible and teachers never seem to stay it is very disorganized would never recommend for your child to go.Programs for parent teacher are not very good at all there serious lack of communication.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2006

Both of my children have attended Travis elementary the past 2 years and I couldn't be happier with their learning experiences.The teachers were truly caring and helpful(especially Mrs.Luke).They've gone out of their way to get me any information I might have needed to help with my children's progress.Mrs.Potucek is a very enthusiastic and motivating principal.She is well liked by the students and staff,as is the vice-principal Mrs.Lykins.I like the fact that the classroom sizes are smaller than average.I would like more parental involvement.I believe the teachers would,too.Overall,this is a great school.I hope my children continue to be excited about getting to school as they have in the past.-Norma Gonzales
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

43 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

97 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

61 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

93 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
95%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

58 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students93%
Female100%
Male86%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education92%
Limited English proficient (LEP)92%
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students90%
Female89%
Male90%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic89%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Special education88%
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)91%
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students92%
Female88%
Male94%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic91%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education100%
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)81%
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students91%
Female90%
Male92%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic91%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education100%
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)90%
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Writing

All Students98%
Female100%
Male97%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic98%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged98%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)96%
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
62%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students58%
Female45%
Male72%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged33%
Special educationn/a
Not special education56%
Limited English proficient (LEP)55%
Proficient in English63%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant58%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted57%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students61%
Female54%
Male67%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic62%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged29%
Special educationn/a
Not special education61%
Limited English proficient (LEP)63%
Proficient in English63%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant61%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted58%
Bilingual66%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students55%
Female56%
Male54%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic54%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged33%
Special educationn/a
Not special education55%
Limited English proficient (LEP)36%
Proficient in English62%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant55%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted53%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students53%
Female54%
Male52%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic54%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White43%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged33%
Special educationn/a
Not special education54%
Limited English proficient (LEP)56%
Proficient in English55%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant53%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted49%
Bilingual62%

Writing

All Students42%
Female58%
Male25%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic38%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged17%
Special educationn/a
Not special education41%
Limited English proficient (LEP)21%
Proficient in English45%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant42%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted39%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Recognized".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 92% 50%
White 6% 31%
Black 1% 13%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Rob Waller
Fax number
  • (972) 343-6198

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

525 N E 15th St
Grand Prairie, TX 75050
Website: Click here
Phone: (972) 262-2990

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Lee Elementary School
Grand Prairie, TX


Crockett 5th Grade Center
Grand Prairie, TX


Calvary Baptist School
Grand Prairie, TX


Austin Elementary School
Grand Prairie, TX


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT