Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 31 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Cannon Elementary School 5

Posted March 23, 2016
- a parent
Awesome school My 3rd grader loves going to school every day. His brother graduated to middle school and continues to take STEM classes. Great staff and wonderful environment

Cannon Elementary School 1

Posted March 03, 2015
- a parent
Cannon elementary is doing everything to bring your child down not to build him up. They have favoritism for some parents and kids. You better pray you are one of them otherwise your school days will be everything you don't want them to be.


Cannon Elementary School 5

Posted February 23, 2015
- a parent
This school is run by a very dedicated Principle, Ms Blizzard. Her true interest in every child's success shines through the whole school. This attitude is reflected in the commitment of every teacher here by cultivating an environment of enthusiasm and life long love of learning! Cannon has an extraodinary STEM curriculum which is very well implemented. My children's personal happiness, life skills and motivation for learning has grown in leaps and bounds since they moved here from another GCISD school. They love going to school every day, because "school is so much fun". The students who attend here are from very diverse sociodemographic backgrounds, but they are all welcomed and treated equally - no cliques or special groups that I can attest of. We are truly privileged to be part of this very well run, welcoming school. Thank you Cannon (and GCISD)!!!

Cannon Elementary School 5

Posted February 22, 2015
- a parent
I have to admit I was worried abou sending my children to Cannon five years ago, but can say it was the best decision ever. Cannon has been the best experience for my two children. The principal and staff are committed to education and embracing the diverse nature of the demographics. I have never seen such passionate teachers who engage the students. The STEM program really should be STEAM. It is a whole brain school program with great arts and music along side of the math and science curriculum.

Cannon Elementary School 1

Posted February 20, 2015
- a parent
Oh please if your kid has a disability do not bring them here the principal and vp are the worse they do not take care of bullying the lie and say they do which they never did then blame my kid!! The one who was getting bullied, cause I stood up for my kid and to pay me and my family back made up lies and called cps on us nice huh?? All cause we stood up for my child!!! horrible school!!!! The principal and vp need to be fired got my kid out of there and I would never let another kid of mine near that school


Cannon Elementary School 5

Posted July 25, 2014
- a parent
Cannon Elementary is a GCISD school. It's within a great school system. They are an elementary STEM school. AND every child, K-5 take home iPads everyday. When we moved to this area and was assigned to Cannon, we had no idea how innovative this school was. The children have individualized assignments, as well as work teams, which is a good simulation of the real world. The principal is laser focused on education. The assistant principal is nurturing. They make a great team. Parents are down to earth and teachers are approachable. As a former private school parent, I'll tell you, this school gives me no reason to go back.

Cannon Elementary School 5

Posted May 30, 2014
- a parent
Cannon Elementary's teachers, principal and staff are a great asset and this school deserves recognition beyond the 'stats' that are used to rate schools. The STEM program, dual-language options and GT classes make it a great place for kids. 2 of my kids have been through K-5 at Cannon and the third one enthusiastic attending now.

Cannon Elementary School 5

Posted May 28, 2014
- a parent
Absolutely love this school. STEM, Dual Language, 1 to 1 iPad initiative. Cannon has so much to offer our daughter. We love the diversity.


Cannon Elementary School 5

Posted May 24, 2014
- a parent
What an outstanding place to send your child. Both my son and daughter go here and I have nothing but good things to say. There are so many after school activities and clubs as well as great projects my kids are involved with its staggering. The principal Mrs Blizzard (formerly Taylor) is great and is really leading this school in a positive direction with STEM education, Bi Lingual curriculum and, in championing the school by seeking grant money and supporting Cannon's awesome robotics team. There is always something happening here. So many of the parents I know who have children here are involved in some way. There is a very active watchdogs program where dad's can come volunteer and be part of their child's day. I've done it a few times and am thrilled with the interaction I have with their teachers. There are so many great, caring teachers at Cannon I feel blessed that my kids are there.

Cannon Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
This school really deserves a higher rating and in time it will show. I am so impressed with how this school runs like a well-oiled machine! It has a lot to say about the Principal and her dedication to our children and her amazing staff. Every child has their own ipad that they take home which is unheard of! As well as the STEM program they offer. My child is so excited to get to school, just absorbing as much as possible and loving it! There's nowhere else we'd like to be. we are definitely at the right school!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cannon Elementary School
1300 West College Street, Grapevine, TX  76051
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. (817) 251-5680
Last modified Cannon Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top