Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Greenville, TX
Students enrolled: 1,070
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Greenville High School 2

Posted October 27, 2013
- a parent
Greenville ISD continues to struggle with mediocrity especially at the MS and HS levels. The administration lacks fire and this is reflected in the teaching staff. They continue to whine about money thinking that is the cure all but the ISD is more that adequately funded and most want to see results prior to pouring more money into a sinking ship.

Greenville High School 4

Posted October 09, 2012
- a community member
I went to this school in 2004 and it was great school then. it had very thing that was needed all the teacher where great and so was the academic programs


Greenville High School 5

Posted September 25, 2009
- a parent
Students are offered various educational opportunities. They are offered Dual Credit courses (concurrent enrollment) as well as Advanced Placement courses (from the College Board). They can earn credit for college, through examinations in these programs, and could even be considered a junior in college.

Greenville High School 1

Posted July 08, 2008
- a parent
My child will be a junior this coming year at GHS, unless we are able to transfer her as she is begging for us to do. We also have a child who just graduated from GHS...both have been in the Greenville school district their entire lives. We didn't really have too many complaints until middle school, but from that point on we have been very disappointed in the quality of education they have received. There is a complete lack of communication from the teachers & schools. There seems to be little concern for individual students, especially those not in avanced classes or special ed. Classrooms are disruptive and teachers spend too much time dealing with behavioral issues and dress code violations instead of teaching. There may be more extracurricular options for students to choose from, but too much emphasis is placed on sports and winning instead of team building and fairplay.

Greenville High School 2

Posted December 10, 2007
- a parent
Before choosing Greenville, we visited with the principals and counselors at the high school and middle school (we have a student at each). They were frank about the district's problems and what new steps were being taken to correct them. Based on our comfort level with the principals at the high school and middle school, we bought a house in the district and moved to Greenville this spring. As far as I can tell, a lot of efforts are underway to correct some of the problems of prior years, and I commend the district for this. We have been underwhelmed, though, by the poor communication skills of some teachers and staff members. Perhaps it's their inexperience, but there have been several instances where crucial information was communicated poorly or not at all.


Greenville High School 5

Posted December 07, 2007
- a student
I love my school. 2007 brought alot of change and just as our school is growing, so is our town. It's fits just perfectly.

Greenville High School 2

Posted December 05, 2006
- a student
Some teachers don't teach therefore I'm always confused and lost in class.Some faculty members don't ever seem to care about you and overall,it just isn't a fit school.I would change schools if I had the chance.The one thing GHS does offer is extra-curricular activities.

Greenville High School 3

Posted April 20, 2006
- a parent
The school is quite big, but it doesn't have the learning and materials needed for the student's to learn, nor the power by the principals and the teachers.


Greenville High School 3

Posted October 28, 2005
- a student
This school is growing and is losing a bit of its 'small town feel'. More focus needs to be spent on positive reinforcement, as well as encouraging and educating students more about options for higher education. Counselors could spend more time in the classrooms teaching students how to be proactive in searching for scholarships and how to apply for financial aid. There are some great seasoned teachers that are the cream of the crop - but you can also find those who have been there a while and are just holding out for a paycheck or retirement. The choir program is wonderful!!

Greenville High School 2

Posted September 16, 2004
- a parent
Too much distraction caused by students who don't care to be in school and end up controlling the classrooms/teachers. Principals and others who should be aware of negative situations, are oblivious .

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Greenville High School
3515 Lions Lair Road, Greenville, TX  75402
(903) 457-2550
Last modified Greenville High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Greenville High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top