Advertisement
Advertisement

Sacred Heart Catholic School

Private | PK-12

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Hallettsville

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $92,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $584.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 20, 2010

Because it is an excellent school that also teaches about faith. I know that public schools are fine for the most part, but my children are learning more than what is on a test, more than they would ever learn at a public school. And they are learning to think for themselves. Those reasons alone are why I will continue to support the school even though it is tough to because of the monthly tuition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2009

As a former student, I greatly enjoyed my time at SHS. I would not change it for anything. While there are a fewer AP classes and dual credit classes offered the level of education expected is superior to that of many public schools. The values learned at this school have helped me succeed in numerous aspects of my life. Academically and extracurricularly SHS far exceed what one would expect from a small town school. You will be hard pressed to find a school where your child will excel in all aspects and still feel as though they aren't just another face in a large sea of student. One day I would like to send my own children to a school such as SHS, if not SHS itself.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 27, 2007

The basic academic program at this school is an advanced curriculum which far exceeds that of comparable grade levels at most other schools. The school has small classes, with a good deal of direct attention towards each student. Regardless of being in a small town, this school is progressive in teaching modern skills (eg: computer, etc) and, especially in the upper grades, encourages open discussion and debate on current events. While this school does give the utmost focus on the student, it also requires heavy parental involvement, especially as it relates to supporting school activities and fulfillment of homework assignments. The school does not have 'in house' special education services (other than speech, and like impairments). The school offers a full range of music, sport, and other extra-curricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2007

All of my children have attended SHS and I am very pleased with the academic environment. The small classes, dedicated teachers, and family atmosphere contribute to an excellent learning environment. Christian values are reinforced in all areas. Extracurricular activities are available for all. This small school is able to support a full marching/concert band, all major sports, and academic contests. The only drawback I see is that due to strict control by administration, the student's creativity is sometimes hampered.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2007

Excellent academics in a small classroom setting. Offers as much, if not more than the public schools in the local area in a Christian atmosphere.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 17, 2005

In this school you have to be either a parent that works at the school or a some body in the town to do well. This school does not have good academics becuase they only look at the last name and not the child. They out cast the children that are not very bright instead of helping them grow. They out case your children and will tell your child they will not pass. I would not send my child here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2005

Needs better academic program. Sports program needs better teachers. Teachers in this school needs a lot more education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2005

This is a very good school to send your children to in a small town. They are just very behind in most things due to it being a small town.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 96% 37%
Hispanic 3% 47%
Two or more races 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% N/A
Black 0% 14%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Victoria
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

313 S Texana St
Hallettsville, TX 77964
Phone: (361) 798-4251

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Sacred Heart High School
Hallettsville, TX



Hallettsville High School
Hallettsville, TX



Ezzell Elementary School
Hallettsville, TX


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT