Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-12
Private
Hallettsville, TX

4 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sacred Heart Catholic School 0
no rating

Posted April 20, 2010
- a parent
Because it is an excellent school that also teaches about faith. I know that public schools are fine for the most part, but my children are learning more than what is on a test, more than they would ever learn at a public school. And they are learning to think for themselves. Those reasons alone are why I will continue to support the school even though it is tough to because of the monthly tuition.

Sacred Heart Catholic School 5

Posted April 13, 2009
- a student
As a former student, I greatly enjoyed my time at SHS. I would not change it for anything. While there are a fewer AP classes and dual credit classes offered the level of education expected is superior to that of many public schools. The values learned at this school have helped me succeed in numerous aspects of my life. Academically and extracurricularly SHS far exceed what one would expect from a small town school. You will be hard pressed to find a school where your child will excel in all aspects and still feel as though they aren't just another face in a large sea of student. One day I would like to send my own children to a school such as SHS, if not SHS itself.


Sacred Heart Catholic School 5

Posted September 27, 2007
- a parent
The basic academic program at this school is an advanced curriculum which far exceeds that of comparable grade levels at most other schools. The school has small classes, with a good deal of direct attention towards each student. Regardless of being in a small town, this school is progressive in teaching modern skills (eg: computer, etc) and, especially in the upper grades, encourages open discussion and debate on current events. While this school does give the utmost focus on the student, it also requires heavy parental involvement, especially as it relates to supporting school activities and fulfillment of homework assignments. The school does not have 'in house' special education services (other than speech, and like impairments). The school offers a full range of music, sport, and other extra-curricular activities.

Sacred Heart Catholic School 4

Posted January 10, 2007
- a parent
All of my children have attended SHS and I am very pleased with the academic environment. The small classes, dedicated teachers, and family atmosphere contribute to an excellent learning environment. Christian values are reinforced in all areas. Extracurricular activities are available for all. This small school is able to support a full marching/concert band, all major sports, and academic contests. The only drawback I see is that due to strict control by administration, the student's creativity is sometimes hampered.

Sacred Heart Catholic School 5

Posted January 03, 2007
- a former student
Excellent academics in a small classroom setting. Offers as much, if not more than the public schools in the local area in a Christian atmosphere.


Sacred Heart Catholic School 1

Posted July 17, 2005
- a parent
In this school you have to be either a parent that works at the school or a some body in the town to do well. This school does not have good academics becuase they only look at the last name and not the child. They out cast the children that are not very bright instead of helping them grow. They out case your children and will tell your child they will not pass. I would not send my child here.

Sacred Heart Catholic School 2

Posted May 04, 2005
- a parent
Needs better academic program. Sports program needs better teachers. Teachers in this school needs a lot more education.

Sacred Heart Catholic School 3

Posted February 06, 2005
- a former student
This is a very good school to send your children to in a small town. They are just very behind in most things due to it being a small town.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sacred Heart Catholic School
313 South Texana Street, Hallettsville, TX  77964
(361) 798-4251
Last modified Sacred Heart Catholic School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Sacred Heart Catholic School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top