Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Union Grove Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 891 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Harker Heights

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $174,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $680.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 2, 2014

Our daughter transferred in to UGMS during her 7th grade year. She established friendships quickly, and most of the teachers were great about using technology to the advantage of the student. Her science teacher would even text reminders to the class for homework assignments.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

I wish I could say this school is living up to it potential but I have notice a drop in teacher/student relationship as it pertains to academia. My oldest son graduated back in 2011 from 8th grade and I can honestly say that this school cared for there students academic success. I have concerns now with my youngest son attending 6th grade. He fells the teachers are stressed and not as patient with the students. I Hope things get better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2014

We are having a difficult time this year getting the teachers to reliably follow my student's 504 plan. They frequently forget to administer tests orally, even nine week's exams. Teachers are willing to re-administer tests upon request, but I should not have to ask my child after each test if it was administered properly. My student is having a difficult time finding time to fill out and have an agenda signed. All of the responsibility for this has been placed upon the student, and when they work from bell to bell, it is difficult for a child with attention and learning issues to quickly add this additional task completely independently.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2014

Not as pleased with this school as I once was....principal avoids/ignores email and is not communicative. When finally cornered and made to answer, the answers are vague and not helpful at all. I don't really think the school lives up to the reputation it claims to have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2012

A great school with great programs, athletics & extra curriculars. Our oldest is in his only year at this school before a PCS out of country. The initial transition from elementary to middle was hard b/c he wasn't well organized. That being said, when we addressed our concerns and met with ALL of his teachers save the PE coach, we knew we were getting a full picture of who our child is. Suffice to say, he just received an Academic Excellence award. Now if he can just finish out the year strong I will say that it's been a HARD, well earned year. If you apply yourself, communicate with the teachers & staff, and go in with a clear plan of action, you will get what you seek in regards to the best education this area has to offer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2012

This is my oldest child's first year in middle school and we have had a great experience so far. I was very nervous about moving into the middle school world but my son is making the transition very well. His teachers have been very open, engaging, and positive. One of his teachers is especially good at sending home weekly emails with information about that class and school events. I have found the office staff to be very pleasant and helpful and the administrators to be very visible and encouraging. I have seen the principal or an AP every time I've visited, no matter how brief. EVERY teacher provided an after-school tutoring schedule so the students always have an option to get extra help, if needed. The 6th grade team seems to work very hard at helping last year's 5th graders grow into next year's 7th graders with lots of positive reinforcement, a safe environment, and open communication. I could not be more pleased. Thanks, UGMS, for a great first year of middle school for my child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2011

This is my daughter's first year at UGMS. So far, we LOVE it!!!! She looks forward to going to school every day. I've noticed the teaching styles having a very hands-on approach, and the classes keep her extremely motivated and engaged. The new principal, Mrs. Harris, is almost omnipresent as she is involved with every aspect of this organization. Though she has taken on what I can assume is a huge task, she is always polite and immersed in every aspect of the school that I have seen. The staff in the front office has been very helpful as well. To my surprise, they knew exactly who and where my child was when I came to drop something off to be given to her. Not bad for only two weeks in and one of the largest middle schools in the area! In my defense, my daughter is in all Pre-AP classes, so I cannot comment on the regular classes, but so far, we are extremely impressed!!! I'll let the reputation of choir, band, orchestra, athletics, and other various school organizations speak for themselves as these are not my main concern but when it comes to education, I feel I absolutely made the right choice. Keep up the great work UGMS!!! GO GRIZZLYS!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2011

I think the Administrators of this school need to focus a little more on the Children that are under developed in education and help them rather than BRAG on how geat the schools Band program and Athletic program is. Come on lets get real and help those under achievers.I know you are more than capable to do it. It seems those Children are left behind.


Posted December 26, 2009

Union Grove has top-notch fine arts programs. Their band and choir are the model for the district. Their athletic programs have excelled. It is unfortunate that I am extremely concerned with my child's education, though. Too many teachers here pump up averages by assigning grades for participation, homework, open book tests, and take home tests. Parents need to take averages of the few tests done with no parental or tutorial assistance to see their child's true progress. Many would be shocked if they did, but as many teachers know, few parents question high grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2009

This is the most wonderful school i have ever been to. The students and parents who rate it badly are for the most part expecting the school to revolve around them and their child. All of the teachers are well trained, it offers exellent axtra curricular activitys the admin. is amazing, and its easy for parents to get involved in their child's shool. A+++
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 2, 2009

I thought I am doing my son something good with putting him into that school. Well, found out that is was the other way around. Like couple other parents I have to say that there is no teacher-pupil-principal interaction. The kids can do what they want to, how they want to and when they want to do it, literally. We choose this school because of the ratings. The teachers are old, a lot of them, cant control the children, have not clue how and what to teach them. The classes are loud, my child cant concentrate because other kids are mouthing of to the teacher and are loud and do their own thing in class. Parents do not get informed about anything, nobody really cares either. Yes you can sign up for online reports but if the teachers dont put any in we dont get informed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2009

This school saddens me. The teachers are there for a pay check. Many times my child has asked for help but they dont have time..I hate this school. The AP there is sorry and he doesn't care about improving the school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2009

Im an eighth grader at UGMS and having been here I think that this a fairly good school. Depending on what level of classes you take really affects what you learn though. I find that having all pre-AP classes has really helped me and couldn't imagine having regular classes. If you take a Pre-AP class the teacher will have more energy and a higher willingness to teach that class. Also there are less kids in a Pre-AP class and that's definitely helped since there are over 1000 people going to this school. Lunch can be chaotic. The lines are really long and you have to go outside and around the building to get back to class. Aside from that, this school is far better from anything else in the school district.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 24, 2009

UGMS is overall a great school. The teachers are nice and enjoy doing thier jobs, from what I can tell. There are many teams and clubs you can join. The music teachers excell at what they do. Depending on how well you work during class depends on how much homework you get. most teachers give out weekly homework that is given on Monday and is due Friday. Homework is also given when a student has to finish something they didn't during class. (they would just finish the work they didn't get to.) A student will spend on average no more than 1 hour on homework. the administrators are always on thier toes taking care of our school. In Killeen UG is known as the 'It' school, or the school everyone wants to or enjoys to go to. keep up the good work Union Grove!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 17, 2008

Union Grove is the best middle school in the Killeen area. My daughter has been receiving an excellent education here for the past two years. She especially enjoys her pre-AP classes. The teachers and staff are very caring. There are a high percentage of military children here, as in all schools around Fort Hood, and at Union Grove they respect and accommodate their unique needs. The band program is great. The school's facilites are very nice, although neighborhood growth has caused crowding in the school. Hopefully a new middle school will be added to the area soon. I highly recommend Union Grove Middle School to anyone moving to this area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2008

i am a student here going into 7th grade! i love this school and everything about it! there is so much to do and i love all the pep rallies sooo much! the teachers here are amazing and i love it here!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 29, 2008

I am very disappointed at the administration. I feel that the prinicipal doesn't want parent involvement unless she requests it. She is not approachable and in my opinion does not convey the type of attitude children can feel comfortable coming to her if they have a problem. The teachers, I have found, are very willing to work with the students and for the most part have their best interest at heart. The school is very nice and has a lot to offer. Now if only the attitude of the head administration would change it would #1.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2008

I am very happy with this school overall. I was very nervous about my daughter starting 6th grade but all her teachers and administration have been great. Parent/teacher communication gets an A++. My only complaint is that student lockers are so small, they can not fit regular backpacks or coats in there. They are also not allowed to bring backpacks to class for security reasons and so they carry those awkward binders everywhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2008

Well this is a pretty good school but, I am a student here and Im in 8th grade. Some of the teachers are pretty understanding and they really strive for greatness but some teachers are horrible, but other teachers like (Ms. Lisa laffey a history teacher) are amazing! The after school programs are good and there are plenty of sports programs. One for everyone,our football team is deceant too. Our music program though is the best around (Ms. Jacks on-band, Ms. Carney-choir, and Ms. Soloph-orchestra) There fenomenal!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 12, 2007

I found this a pretty good school. They have great clubs and after-school activies. My only complaint was that it is way too packed with 350 6th graders, the lunch line is horrible. Other than that is it good.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 84% in 2011.

233 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2011.

233 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2011.

274 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

272 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
89%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 94% in 2011.

276 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

270 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2011.

270 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 79% in 2011.

268 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
88%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 95% in 2011.

268 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students93%
Female95%
Male90%
Black or African American89%
Asian100%
Hispanic89%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education83%
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students90%
Female87%
Male92%
Black or African American84%
Asian100%
Hispanic93%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special education100%
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students92%
Female95%
Male90%
Black or African American89%
Asian86%
Hispanic90%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special education60%
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students92%
Female94%
Male90%
Black or African American87%
Asian93%
Hispanic94%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special educationn/a
Not special education92%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students99%
Female100%
Male97%
Black or African American99%
Asian93%
Hispanic96%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students98%
Female100%
Male96%
Black or African American99%
Asian100%
Hispanic98%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education78%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students92%
Female94%
Male90%
Black or African American87%
Asian100%
Hispanic93%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special education89%
Not special education92%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Gifted/talented100%

Science

All Students90%
Female86%
Male94%
Black or African American80%
Asian100%
Hispanic90%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special education73%
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Gifted/talented100%

Social Studies

All Students98%
Female98%
Male98%
Black or African American96%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education100%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 71% in 2013.

275 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2013.

275 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

277 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

274 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
89%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

276 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

247 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

245 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
86%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 63% in 2013.

244 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students84%
Female90%
Male79%
Black or African American76%
Asian92%
Hispanic81%
Multiracial81%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special education46%
Not special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)50%
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant84%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted82%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students85%
Female90%
Male80%
Black or African American76%
Asian83%
Hispanic83%
Multiracial81%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Special education50%
Not special education87%
Limited English proficient (LEP)63%
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant85%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted84%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students89%
Female93%
Male85%
Black or African American88%
Asian100%
Hispanic85%
Multiracial88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special education63%
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted88%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students81%
Female83%
Male79%
Black or African American81%
Asian83%
Hispanic75%
Multiracial73%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Special education71%
Not special education82%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant81%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted80%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students80%
Female88%
Male70%
Black or African American68%
Asian100%
Hispanic78%
Multiracial81%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Special education71%
Not special education80%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted78%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students90%
Female93%
Male87%
Black or African American84%
Asian100%
Hispanic84%
Multiracial93%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander80%
White95%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special education71%
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted89%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students74%
Female67%
Male81%
Black or African American71%
Asiann/a
Hispanic88%
Multiracial57%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Special education80%
Not special education73%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English74%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant74%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted74%
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Students89%
Female87%
Male92%
Black or African American79%
Asian91%
Hispanic98%
Multiracial79%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander80%
White93%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special education100%
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted88%
Bilingualn/a

Social Studies

All Students82%
Female77%
Male87%
Black or African American69%
Asian91%
Hispanic82%
Multiracial86%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander60%
White88%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Special education83%
Not special education82%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant82%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted80%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students98%
Female98%
Male98%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special educationn/a
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted98%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 39% 29%
Black 26% 13%
Hispanic 23% 52%
Two or more races 7% 2%
Asian or Pacific Islander 4% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 3%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 2%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • DAGMAR HARRIS
Fax number
  • (254) 336-6593

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

101 East Iowa Drive
Harker Heights, TX 76548
Website: Click here
Phone: (254) 336-6580

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Eastern Hills Middle School
Harker Heights, TX


Lighthouse Christian Academy
Harker Heights, TX


Killeen Jjaep
Killeen, TX



Gateway Middle
Killeen, TX


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT