Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
46 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 61 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Union Grove Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted May 25, 2016
- a community member
Some teachers are awesome...some are not. Welcome to public school, LOL! I think that at Union Grove I've seen more good than bad and that's all you can hope for.

Union Grove Middle School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted May 25, 2016
- a community member
WOW< honestly, my kid was working his tail off. He's a little slower in some subjects but honestly, they kept him busy!


Union Grove Middle School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted May 25, 2016
- a community member
They won't let your kid quit there...I really mean it. There is an expectation of success.

Union Grove Middle School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted May 25, 2016
- a community member
I see it when teachers address the kids. They set standards for respect. We're also a military-heavy area so sometimes a quick look is all it takes to send a message to military kids.

Union Grove Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 25, 2016
- a community member
The teachers I have dealt with show caring attitudes. The sixth grade teachers seem to be very big on everyone doing their best to treat each other in a compassionate way.


Union Grove Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 25, 2016
- a community member
There seems to be a core group of teachers there every year that lead the new/younger teachers in setting expectations for the students. I think that there is a sense of fairness by the students and the staff.

Union Grove Middle School 4

Posted May 25, 2016
- a community member
This school is across the street from the elementary school....walking distance from my house. It has great access, the kids safely walk to each school and I feel my son has learned at Union Grove. Like all middle schools, two kids could have varying success...they're just entering the tween years. My son had a small group of friends and they were good together. Larger groups of kids can be a pain in the rear but my son felt good at the school. They are somewhat strict. Not overly strict, but clearly want to help the learning environment so they are big on tardiness to class, lunch craziness and the like.

Union Grove Middle School 5

Posted July 15, 2015
- a parent
My son completed 7th & 8th grade at Union Grove Middle and he is now going to Union Grove High School. The teachers were AWESOME and has prepared my son for high school. I now have a 6 grader going to Union Grove Middle in the fall so I am excited and believe she will have a great experience as well.


Union Grove Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 15, 2015
- a parent
My son completed 7th & 8th grade at Union Grove Middle and he is now going to Union Grove High School. The teachers were AWESOME and has prepared my son for high school. I now have a 6 grader going to Union Grove Middle in the fall so I am excited and believe she will have a great experience as well.

Union Grove Middle School 4

Posted August 02, 2014
- a parent
Our daughter transferred in to UGMS during her 7th grade year. She established friendships quickly, and most of the teachers were great about using technology to the advantage of the student. Her science teacher would even text reminders to the class for homework assignments.

Nearby schools

Union Grove Middle School
101 East Iowa Drive, Harker Heights, TX  76548
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 61 reviews. (254) 336-6580
Last modified Union Grove Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top