Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mountain View Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 682 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

52 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 22, 2013

This is a great school. My son went to pre-k here and is getting ready to start kindergarten and he is very excited. This tells me a lot about how the faculty and staff are. I think all the staff and faculty are friendly and genuinely seem to enjoy teaching the kids. I would not send my son to any other elementary school in the district after experiencing Mountain View.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2013

Our son was in first grade last year at MVES. We had a fantastic year. Being a teacher in this same district, I was so impressed with how friendly and open the staff is. Their principal is great- he makes himself visible to the kids and they truly love him. The teachers are great. The PTA is wonderful- they plan monthly activities that involve the entire family. I couldn't ask for a better school for my child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2013

To prospective Indiana parent, misbehaving students do indeed sit out recess. As far as the heat, if anything it is the children who are running, jumping, and playing for that brief 10 minute period who are at greater risk for heat related concerns. And in that short amount of time the greatest risk is feeling thirsty! Hope to serve your children this fall!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 15, 2013

I am moving from Indiana to Harker Height. I am so nervous about this move mainly because of schools for my kindergarten, 2cd , & 4th graders...out of the 3 schools Mountain View seems amazing. My only concern is what I've read about this "Desert" I'm all good with the purpose it serves but as for the heat that Texas has is what makes this not safe..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2013

Students who are being disciplined for misbehavior are made to sit out their lunch recess. Not sure if it's still called "The Desert" or not, but IMO this is an appropriate disciplinary measure for misbehaving students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2013

Question...I was reading about "the desert" back in 2011. Is this still being practiced? Im looking at buying a house and deciding between Copperas Cove and Harker Heights....If such a thing is being done at this school it'll make my decision easier. Thank you


Posted February 1, 2012

love love love our school. Teachers are excellent, the staff really does care for the kiddos! Parent involvement is encouraged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2012

We have been a part of the Mountain View Family for 7 years. My oldest son went Kindergarten - 5th grade here and my youngest, 1st-3rd. It has been a positive experience all the way. This is a very community-oriented school. The teachers are committed, open, and genuinely care for their students. The office staff is helpful and friendly, the administration is visible and engaged, the PTA is positive and involved. My kids LOVED Chess Club and after-school Orchestra. We have been very happy with our experience here. After reading the previous comments, to clarify ... the 'desert' is simply another word for 'timeout' at recess. I have experienced every grade level at this school and (for my kids) 5th grade was the only grade to use that term. It just means the kids lost some recess time. My 5th grader spent some time in 'the desert' ... and was not scarred by the event. He just realized that he needed to modify his behavior to enjoy all of recess each day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2011

I am surprised to see so much traffic about the desert practice. My oldest, now in 6th grade across the street, was in the desert about 3-4 times in 2 years. My younger two, both in 2nd, stated that 1 had NEVER been there and the other, only ONCE. Are we really going to get excited over our children being safely disciplined by the school? It's not corporal punishment, its a LOSS of privilege. Its a temporary behavior modification. I cannot imagine spending so much energy worrying about a simple discipline issue. If you don't want your child to lose privileges (play time), then you had better come up with a solution that meets your wishes. I am not saying my kids are perfect, but I am saying that unless I want to do recess duty EVERY day, when my child isn't playing fairly, or acts up, then YES they should lose out on the rest of recess. To me this is a MINOR issue. Don't throw the baby out with the bath water. We still have EXCELLENT staff, teachers and the BEST PTA hands down!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2011

Amen! And thank you for posting. I completely agree! And to the person who posted in August, i think the best person to direct your concerns to would be the principal of the school. I am certain she would be able to answer your questions or address your concerns as needed. I truly believe that the fifth grade teachers are excellent and have only the best instrests of their students and the school at heart.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2011

So this is seriously practiced? I was hoping this was a hoax. How do I find out more about this and STOP IT now! This is insane and I will pull my children out of this school ASAP if this really happens.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2011

OK lets be honest about the "desert". Unless the ground is muddy they stand in the dirt between the cars and the play area, without an option to be in the shade and they all STAND not sit facing the parking lot. If they are not in the "desert" they can go to the covered pavilion for shade. I have seen up to 40 kids standing in the desert for whatever punishment, now tell me that this is effective? How is this different than the corporal punishment that Texas has banned now? As we all know the Texas sun and heat can be very damaging. Maybe they should try other tactics for punishment since clearly this does not work as there are ALWAYS kids in the desert.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2011

Can somebody please clarify this "DESERT" business?? I will not stand for that and need to make a decision on where my children will attend school. That is absolutely unacceptable. We come from DODEA schools where the Army Post has power to control issues like this... help please.


Posted April 16, 2011

Academically I think the school goes above and beyond to reach the needs of my children. However, recently I walked passed a class and overheard a teacher yelling at her class that they were going to stand in a desert. I learn that they make kids stand in the sun facing the parking lot in the heat as a punishment. How is this any different than a dunce cap in a corner? For this I am grateful that we won't be here long enough for my kids to have to go through that. That's embarrassing and degrading.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2011

Military family, 3 years with this school. My son entered into 5th grade coming from an out of state school on an ILP. It didn't transfer here and I was nervous. His teacher was a miracle worker who gave him a love of reading and an attitude towards testing that launched him out of the box he had been placed in. My daughter, who is advanced, was placed in a cluster class and loves it. What impresses me most is the over all character they recognize and develop in the kids. They have community programs that encourage the kids to think of others and teach them that they can help and are important. I LOVE this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2010

We spent 2 school years at Mt View...when we left this last April, I had a 3rd Grader, 1st Grader and Preschooler. I cannot say enough about the quality of this school! It takes leaving a place to really appreciate it, I think. My first two children were TAG identified, and they were pushed to their potential. I thought that moving to a Metropolitan area would put them at a disadvantage, but my kids were far ahead of their classmates when they enrolled. Being an involved parent makes a huge difference, in my opinion! I always felt in the loop, and felt I had a voice. No school is perfect, but this school has been nurturing, encouraging, and motivating despite a rough duty station (deployment of a parent). Counselors are phenomenal!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2010

Mountain View Elementary School cares very much about each and every student. This is Pre-K through 6th Grade. They go beyond the call of duty to help each student, as if that was there only student. This is from the Principal to the Custodians. Mountain View Elementary School has a great reputation of being one of the best school in the Killeen ISD.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2010

At present, we have a 3rd and a 1st grader enrolled at Mountain View. My eldest has been a lion for four years. We love this school Every teacher we have had has been wonderful to work with and has truly gotten to know their learning style. They maintain high behaviorial standards. It is a nice size school, not too big. Whenever I have had concerns, the teachers and administraion have heard me and we've resolved the issue. In pariticular, my eldest has dyslexia. The understanding and program that Mtn View has given her has been outstanding. ONce Identified as dyslexic, and enrolled in the program her reading has gone from weak to proficient within six months. If i could, I would take this school with me to our next duty station.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2010

a great school! it is a smaller and more traditional school. nothing fancy or big about it. thats what I love about it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

Moutain is located in a great community. I currently have a 5th grader and a 3rd grader who attendened Mt. View. Both my children have been their since pre-k. The staff at Mt. View are great, they are dedicated to the education of every child. It is among the few public schools in Texas to receive a distinguished GreatSchools Rating of 8 out of 10. Just last school year parents voulenteered 3000 hours of their time; in helping the students reading groups, school activites, class room / teacher help and field trips. The Mt. View Community is great and we all dedicate all we can in making our school the best in the KISDistrict. I'm a proud parent of two Mt. Lions.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

115 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

114 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

125 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

124 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

119 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 82% in 2011.

138 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

137 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 87% in 2011.

137 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students90%
Female98%
Male83%
Black or African American82%
Asiann/a
Hispanic96%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special education80%
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)63%
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students89%
Female94%
Male86%
Black or African American79%
Asiann/a
Hispanic95%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special education83%
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students94%
Female92%
Male95%
Black or African American90%
Asian100%
Hispanic88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special educationn/a
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)83%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students94%
Female92%
Male95%
Black or African American86%
Asian100%
Hispanic94%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special educationn/a
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students95%
Female95%
Male95%
Black or African American93%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special educationn/a
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students97%
Female100%
Male96%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education75%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students98%
Female95%
Male100%
Black or African American89%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education100%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%

Science

All Students91%
Female89%
Male93%
Black or African American79%
Asian100%
Hispanic82%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special education50%
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
68%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 73% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students89%
Female93%
Male83%
Black or African American75%
Asian71%
Hispanic94%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special education40%
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)83%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted87%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students70%
Female74%
Male65%
Black or African American50%
Asian43%
Hispanic69%
Multiracial75%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Special education20%
Not special education72%
Limited English proficient (LEP)67%
Proficient in English70%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant70%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted65%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students83%
Female89%
Male78%
Black or African American68%
Asian100%
Hispanic81%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Special educationn/a
Not special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)70%
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant83%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted81%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students74%
Female75%
Male71%
Black or African American44%
Asian100%
Hispanic77%
Multiracial88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Special educationn/a
Not special education76%
Limited English proficient (LEP)67%
Proficient in English74%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant74%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted69%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students83%
Female87%
Male78%
Black or African American71%
Asian100%
Hispanic83%
Multiracial88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Special educationn/a
Not special education84%
Limited English proficient (LEP)80%
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant83%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted80%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students84%
Female86%
Male82%
Black or African American79%
Asiann/a
Hispanic79%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special education60%
Not special education85%
Limited English proficient (LEP)40%
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant84%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted81%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students79%
Female81%
Male76%
Black or African American69%
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special education40%
Not special education80%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant79%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted75%
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Students76%
Female72%
Male80%
Black or African American59%
Asiann/a
Hispanic76%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Special education50%
Not special education78%
Limited English proficient (LEP)60%
Proficient in English77%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant76%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted72%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Recognized".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 42% 31%
Black 24% 13%
Hispanic 19% 50%
Two or more races 8% 2%
Asian 6% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Rated Exemplary by the state of Texas (2011)
  • Recognized Rating (2010)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Nancy Varljen
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Fax number
  • (254) 680-2479

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

500 Mountain Lion Rd
Harker Heights, TX 76548
Website: Click here
Phone: (254) 336-1900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Skipcha Elementary School
Harker Heights, TX


Temple Montessori School
Harker Heights, TX



Lighthouse Christian Academy
Harker Heights, TX




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT