Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
67 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 85 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mountain View Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted May 25, 2016
- a parent
ALL schools have good and bad teachers. the best thing about MVES is that the staff seems to be well led by the administrative members. I think the principal keeps them on their toes. He's a good one!

Mountain View Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 25, 2016
- a parent
It's not too much or too little...I do like the diversity of assignments his teachers send home. When I was in school all I did was write. My son did a video project. That made him excited and he worked a lot on the project.


Mountain View Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted May 25, 2016
- a parent
I dunno...they keep pushing my son to do better. I know he wants to do well so is that the school or me?

Mountain View Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted May 25, 2016
- a parent
Absolutely! My son is learning respect at MVES and the staff clearly treat students with respect. I see it. I am very happy with the school's leadership. Like any school, there are a few teachers that could use a change of career but the overwhelming majority of staff are great. They also tend to hire local parents to man some of the lunch room needs and office jobs. All of them thus far have been very professional and show us respect when we enter the school.

Mountain View Elementary School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted May 25, 2016
- a parent
I know that my youngest son has clearly learned to care for his fellow students and I see this in him. It may be hard to teach these traits but he's learning it at MVES.


Mountain View Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 25, 2016
- a parent
I have to say that fairness is apparent. I firmly believe the staff treats students to respect diversity and work toward a goal of learning.

Mountain View Elementary School 5

Posted May 25, 2016
- a parent
We've been with Mountain View for 4 years now. The school has caring teachers and professional leadership. Most importantly, I felt my two boys learned at Mountain View. Some schools seem to be there and go through the motions but MV seems to be a live...you can sense it when you walk into the school. At no time is there any drama or a sense that everyone isn't here for the kids. When my older son left the school last year he was genuinely sick over leaving. I really have been pleased with the school.

Mountain View Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted March 28, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Blackman is a wonderful teacher and I am grateful my child has had a chance to work with her.


Mountain View Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted March 28, 2016
- a parent
Most of the teachers are very nice and work to try and help your students, however, their hands are tied by management. They aren't your child's advocate and don't step up when you're child is being mistreated. Brush things under the rug and do their best to help the child's feelings out in the process.

Mountain View Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted March 28, 2016
- a parent
This school assigns a reasonable amount of homework that it, generally, on pace with what the students are learning.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mountain View Elementary School
500 Mountain Lion Road, Harker Heights, TX  76548
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 85 reviews. (254) 336-1900
Last modified Mountain View Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top