Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Harker Heights, TX
Students enrolled: 2,286
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 41 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


45 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Harker Heights High School 5

Posted October 09, 2014
- a student
Harker Heights High School is a great place! The teachers are friendly, the sports are competitive, and its an all around great atmosphere! I had an amazing time at Heights and I wouldn't have wanted to go anywhere else. The school gives you all the tools you need to succeed, its just up to you to rise to the challenge!

Harker Heights High School 3

Posted October 28, 2012
- a parent
I'm very concerned about the Pre-AP Geometry instruction. The teachers don't teach from notes or a textbook. They write problems on the board but don't always finish them due to interruptions from the large class sizes of 29-36. They don't use the district provided technology to post the examples to their website. None of the Geometry teachers have set up web sites and communication is poor. Material isn't always completed covered prior to tests.There is nowhere to go to get the material if you miss class for illness or a school event. and are told to get it from another student, who may or may not have copied it down correctly, if at all. Even the math tutoring center is unsure of what curriculum is being taught. At shadow day, one teacher had grades posted and 2/3 of the students had D's or F's. More homework needs to be given so students can practice the concepts. Lesson plans need to be communicated to the math tutoring center so they know what is being covered in the classroom. Resources such as textbooks, web sites, powerpoints or notes need to be used like other Pre-AP teachers provide.


Harker Heights High School 3

Posted September 08, 2012
- a student
the teachers here dont give any homework and we hardly get taught anything as a freshman last year my algebra teacher didnt show us how he did the work to get the answer all he did was just write it and all the students in the class were confised about it

Harker Heights High School 1

Posted August 29, 2012
- a parent
The teachers seem to think that all the students think exactly alike,and that's a lie. My kid struggles hard to keep up,but when they fail you just for not taking the notes in the way they want you to, it's not surprising that he has problems. Maybe,if the school saw the kids as humans instead of a burdensome load of numbers,we might get somewhere. When I went to school, teachers would really connect with us. Now,it's all about looking good and having the smartest class so they get more funds.

Harker Heights High School 1

Posted October 05, 2011
- a parent
It seems that the assisant principals like to pick and choose how they enforce the dress code. If a gir is pretty and white then they will call them for EVERY thing possible where it is in the student manual or not. If you can't figure it out then GO TO UNIFORMS. I see so many girls pass by teachers and assiant principals with their breasts hanging out and that's ok. Guys can wear pants down around their ankles and that too is ok. But let a girl show her shoulders or a little bit of her leg above the knee and THAT is NOT permissable.


Harker Heights High School 3

Posted May 05, 2011
- a student
As a student, I believe Harker Heights High School has prepared me for the college atmosphere/workload. However, in my experience, the administration is mediocre. Very rarely are they in classrooms fixing educational problems but are rather in the hallways writing a child up for having a hole in his/her jeans or lecturing a student about something irrelevant. Many upper-level (academically) students are unhappy at Heights because of the lack of efficiency in the staff. The coursework can be rigorous and rewarding but the school is frustrating due to lack of organization, logic, and explanations.

Harker Heights High School 5

Posted February 13, 2011
- a parent
Excellent principal who believes in fair and logical discipline. This is the best high school in the district. Now if only the football program was existent this would be the best high school in the area!

Harker Heights High School 4

Posted April 29, 2010
- a community member
Great school if parents who take an active role in childs education. True; HHHS. has taken heat concerning Graduation Rate. Its a shot gun blast from the state based on certain demographics. Read all the tests results and read into the test results. This is a great HS to prepare your child for the future. However, parents who leave the raising of their child to the education system, do not participate in the childs education and/or a child with discipline problems will find the child struggling here. HHHS has great educators, most do their best to avoid the unfair trend of expending 90% of their resouces on bad students and only 10% the deserving just to make numbers. Also true; kids hanging out in mass smoking during lunch, OFF school grounds. Parents? This is the best H.S. in KISD. It would be even better if HarkerHeights had a HHISD


Harker Heights High School 5

Posted April 02, 2010
- a parent
This is not true. I have seen the test results. Harker Heights has the highest scores in KISD. The drop out rate issue was a paperwork error. Please get the facts straight before posting.

Harker Heights High School 1

Posted April 01, 2010
- a parent
This school has not impressed me. At lunch students are allowed to leave and are seen smoking across the street form school. The paper has recently reported that this is the worst school in the area with the highest drop out rate and lowest test scores.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Harker Heights High School
1001 Farm to Market 2410, Harker Heights, TX  76548
(254) 336-0800
Last modified Harker Heights High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Harker Heights High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 45 reviews. Top