Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rockwall-Heath High School

Public | 9-12 | 2134 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 19, 2014

School is great and they have high expectations. My children have all had a great education in Heath. There has only been one teacher that absolutely does not care about students. That teacher happens to be at Heath High. The Spanish teacher, Mrs. Ayala cares more about failing kids than helping them. She has done nothing to help my son learn. Playing on her computer all day and not teaching is very ineffective. She hasn't tried to help teach my son. Do not put your kids through this. She is discouraging, rude and in the wrong field of work if she wants to make an impact on our future generation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2013

Wonderful school - great caring teachers and staff! Both of my children have had a strong education here. Respect the "H"!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2010

Excellent in bringing the best out of it's students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2009

I have three children at RHHS and we love it. Great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

The Principal, Tom Maglisceau is a terrific administrator. He listens to everyone who is involved with the school, student, teacher, parent for ideas to improve the school. He often implements the ideas to keep the school at the forefront of education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

After having children attend both Rockwall and Rockwall-Heath High Schools we have discovered that Rockwall-Heath is far superior in regard to its teachers, counselors, facilities, athletics and administration. The level of academic development and programs for AP and honors students are far better than Rockwall. After living in Maryland, Gerogia, Florida and other parts of Texas, Rockwall-Heath is the best all around school we have ever been associated with in the past 15 years. I recommend visiting the school and see for yourself. Anything negative posted here is likely a Rockwall Highschool student or parent who are disappointed they or their children did not get a chance to attend Rockwall-Heath.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2008

I think Rockwall Heath High School is awesome, I am surprised at what some parents say about my school, that the staff are rude? Well I think the staff is great, and of course there will always be someone with an attitude, but hey thats life... and there are far worse schools out there, and how could they say that rhhs is horrible? They obviously havn't been to Dallas schools, then they'd know whats bad. I'm a Freshmen, and I love going to school in the morning, because the teachers are great, the facilities are great and so is everything else. And Mr. Maglisceau is the nicest principal Ive ever met...
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 28, 2008

school is judjmental and sterotypical
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2008

I have a child who will be a sophomore at RHHS this fall. She is heavily involved in athletics and has a full load of classes. We have been extremely pleased with the new leadership. You can see a difference just when walking in the hallways. The students seem much more relaxed with Mr. Maglisceau. The change was much needed and welcome. As a volunteer I have been somewhat taken aback by the attitude of some of the students. Talking back to teachers and staff is prominent. I wish more students would treat their teachers and their peers with respect. I hold all high school teachers in high regard. They have an awesome responsiblity and are dealing with very unruly students. The new leader is always at the games, plays, concerts and his presence is refreshing. He cheers the teams on and makes us proud to be Hawks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2008

This school is a joke!! The counselors are horrible!! Well GOD does not like ugly and she is a very UGLY person with a bad attitude!! She will have to answer for the way she treats the kids at this school someday. Go to Rockwall High School Don't waste your time at this school it is a big disappointment!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2007

This school rocks now that we have a new principle. Some of the teachers are still lacking slightly, but overall I like it much better. We are very crowded in that classrooms and hallways. Kids are nice. Sports are good and Musical arts and good too. Go Hawks!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 31, 2007

I can not believe how much negative things I read about this school, I for one do not agree with it, I am raising my brother and the staff at this school has been nothing but helpful and aswell as showing they care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2007

This school has been the biggest disappointment to our family. The district hired poor administration whose sole focus was football. Our latest test scores reflect the lack of quality teaching our children are receiving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2007

The Principle of this school is unprofessional and very difficult to deal with. The staff of the school treats the students and parents of their students as if they were trash.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2007

A fabulous school. I highly recommend it. The AP courses are challenging and teachers seem to be highly qualified to educate my daughter. The teachers, counselors, and administration respond to e-mails and will meet with you personally to discuss your concerns. And, unlike our daughter's previous high school, we actually get notes of interest from the school via e-mail. The academic planning at this school has ensured my daughter's preparation for college, including dual credit and AP courses amounting to savings of about one semester's tuition in college. The facilities are top-notch, and security is tight. The kids seem to have respect for Dr. Nix (the principal) and enjoy his favorite phrase: 'make it a great day or not, the choice is yours.' His phrase seems to sum-up the school's philosophy of personal responsibility: when you and your teen participate fully, you have a great educational experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2007

I can't answer for the sports, but I am very pleased with the academics of this school. The course offerings match my child's interests, and the work is challenging.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

The counselors are not doing there job. Do not expect any help from them.They have not been there for my child or other children that we know. They are rude on the phone and not very informative. There favorite line is 'look it up on the TEA website' Last time I checked it was there job to help my children. A very disappointed Parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2005

I am currently a freshman student athlete at Rockwall-Heath High School, and I have to say that our facilities and technology are amazing. We are very crowded in our classroom's. The classes are designed for 30 or more students. Our teachers aren't very good either. Most of them just throw a note packet at us, and say we have a test in a week.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

499 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2011.

490 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

514 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2011.

503 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2011.

514 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
83%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 93% in 2011.

516 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 95% in 2013.

433 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

438 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 95% in 2013.

438 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
92%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 98% in 2013.

437 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students97%
Female99%
Male96%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic94%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Special education81%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Math

All Students95%
Female96%
Male94%
Black or African American94%
Asiann/a
Hispanic90%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Special education54%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students96%
Female96%
Male96%
Black or African American94%
Asian100%
Hispanic89%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Special education52%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Social Studies

All Students99%
Female99%
Male98%
Black or African American97%
Asiann/a
Hispanic96%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Special education76%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Recognized".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

345 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
91%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

547 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

406 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
66%
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

555 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
76%
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

575 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
69%
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

525 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

527 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

557 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
100%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
66%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
66%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

552 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
90%
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

532 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students84%
Female86%
Male83%
Black or African American75%
Asian83%
Hispanic78%
Multiracial80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special education78%
Not special education85%
Limited English proficient (LEP)60%
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant84%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted84%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted100%
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Students93%
Female95%
Male91%
Black or African American89%
Asian95%
Hispanic86%
Multiracial94%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education63%
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)50%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted92%
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Students94%
Female95%
Male93%
Black or African American88%
Asian100%
Hispanic92%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Native86%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special educationn/a
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted93%
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Students77%
Female83%
Male71%
Black or African American57%
Asian85%
Hispanic65%
Multiracial88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Special education24%
Not special education81%
Limited English proficient (LEP)19%
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant77%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted75%
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Students64%
Female75%
Male54%
Black or African American47%
Asian85%
Hispanic49%
Multiracial71%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Special education23%
Not special education67%
Limited English proficient (LEP)10%
Proficient in English66%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant64%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted61%
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Students86%
Female88%
Male84%
Black or African American82%
Asian93%
Hispanic78%
Multiracial89%
American Indian or Alaska Native100%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special education41%
Not special education88%
Limited English proficient (LEP)36%
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted85%
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Students69%
Female78%
Male60%
Black or African American47%
Asian87%
Hispanic59%
Multiracial84%
American Indian or Alaska Native78%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Special education17%
Not special education71%
Limited English proficient (LEP)18%
Proficient in English70%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant69%
Gifted/talented98%
Non-Gifted66%
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Students94%
Female96%
Male92%
Black or African American76%
Asian100%
Hispanic92%
Multiracial90%
American Indian or Alaska Native100%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education72%
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted94%
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Students88%
Female88%
Male89%
Black or African American73%
Asian95%
Hispanic81%
Multiracial89%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special education36%
Not special education92%
Limited English proficient (LEP)56%
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted87%
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Students85%
Female82%
Male88%
Black or African American74%
Asian100%
Hispanic76%
Multiracial94%
American Indian or Alaska Native88%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special education38%
Not special education87%
Limited English proficient (LEP)70%
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant85%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted83%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 31%
Hispanic 20% 50%
Black 8% 13%
Asian 3% 3%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

801 Laurence Dr
Heath, TX 75032
Phone: (972) 772-2474

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT