Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Fulton School

Private | PK-12 | 190 students

We are best known for commitment to excellence.

 

Living in Heath

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $243,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,300.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted today

Join us July 26th at 10am for Preview Day. Tour the campus and view our renovations, meet our exceptional teachers and staff, and find the difference Fulton is making in a child's education. "Do what's best for the child." Dr. Bernard Fulton

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 5, 2011

Our child has flourished in the Fulton environment, spanning the lower and middle schools. Each teacher in the middle school and high school has a Master's degree, Doctorate, or is working on one. The curriculum is very advanced. They begin lab-work in science in the lower grades, and really get into the science lab in 5th grade. My child will have taken Algebra I and Geometry as well as Spanish I, by the time they enter high school. This is the norm rather than the exception in this class. I believe 5 of the 13 or so in the class are eligible for the Duke TIPs program. Writing skills wise, they are far ahead of local schools. While my child's peers around our neighborhood are writing creative stories, our child is writing research papers, properly noting the research in APA format. The extracurricular advantage is huge too. Fulton has really grown in the past 3 years in this regard. Each child is encouraged to participate in as many extra-curricular's as they choose. The biggest advantage though, is the commitment to teaching kids values. The motto is Service, Honor, and Excellence, and Fulton students are taught to and expected to live this code.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2011

We have seen a difference between the Elementary and Middle schools here. The Elementary school (grades 1-4) is exceptional. The teachers are wonderful and classroom size is great. The academic improvement of elementary school students is remarkable. The teachers in the Elementary school at Fulton definitely get 5 stars. The Middle school (grades 5-7) is good, but academically it's not clearly better than surrounding public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

After moving to Texas two years ago, I struggled to find a preschool that focused on education and would instill in my son a lifelong love of learning. We found all that and more at The Fulton School. My four year old is thriving and often asks if we can go to school on non-school days. Unlike nearly every preschool in Rockwall, all the teachers have degrees. Plus, they are very passionate about their work! Class sizes are very small, and the curriculum is rigorous. Best of all, it doesn't have to end at preschool, as Fulton offers classes through 12th grade with 100% pass rate of AP courses. If anyone is interested in The Fulton School, you can attend Fulton Preview Day on Sat. May 15, 2010 at 10:00, or call the school for a private tour.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2009

Best decision we ever made for our son. He is actually learning - not just testing!! Teachers and staff are the best and every aspect is based on what is best for the child. Would highly recommend Fulton to anyone looking to prepare their children for an educational experience that will prepare them for higher learning and life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2009

The school is not just the kids it is also the students and the parents. Public schools teach the test, Private schools teach to educate. The Fulton school prepares the students to not only learn but to think as well. My children are testing above average on the standardized tests. The staff does care about not only the students but the parents. The staff is well prepared to teach and to work with the students in preparing them for life. My children are ahead of kids in publics not by a grade but by several grades. They learn to read, write and do math, science, computers and to listen. If you are looking for a private school you can do no better than Fulton.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2008

My children have attended Fulton for over three years in grades 2-9 between them. We have found the teacher's willing to listen, and work with us as needed. We are not just a 'number' but they know our whole family and we are greeted by name. I think the individual attention and small class size are worth every penny! My children test above average on national tests and are being prepared for college. I would encourage you to stop by for a tour and see why we love this school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2008

My son thrived at Fulton.. he graduated with a full 4 yr scholarship to UTD and is in his second year in college. The entire faculty and parent involvement was the best you can find. I highly recomend The Fulton School
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 31%
Black 16% 13%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3% 0%
Hispanic 2% 51%
Asian or Pacific Islander 1% 4%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Public
Percentage of students going to 2-year college 5% (2013)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 95% (2013)
Percentage of students going to the military 0% (2013)
Percentage of students going to vocational programs 0% (2013)
Percentage of students going directly into the workforce 0% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation Rice University
Texas A&M
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • TAPPS State Champion Yearbook (2013)
  • TAPPS L&D Debate District Champions (2014)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Textile design
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Drill team
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30am
School end time
  • 3:30pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Letha Hopkins
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • TAAP
Fax number
  • (972) 772-9558

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Computer lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Golf
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Textile design
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Community service
  • Drill team
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


9 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
45
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
50
Students typically come from these schools
Public

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$5000 - $12000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Rice University
Texas A&M
College preparation / awareness offered
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
SAT/ACT prep classes
College prep programs/courses during the year
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
2 year college - 5%
4 year college - 95%
Military - 0%
Vocational - 0%
Workforce - 0%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1623 Laurence Drive
Heath, TX 75032
Website: Click here
Phone: (972) 772-4445

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT