Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Continuing a Tradition of Service, Excellence and Honor as We Grow and Improve Heath, TX - Dr. Letha Hopkins flunked retirement. After thirty-five years in the public school arena, she should have been ready to kick back, plant a garden, volunteer at church, and play with grandchildren. Not so. She got busy working as a consultant and stepped in as interim school superintendent. Then she heard about an opening for Head of School at The Fulton School which really sparked her interest. The Fulton philosophy is Do what s best for the child . That intrigued me, she said. Away from the pressures of mandated testing, I realized we could do what s best for EACH child. Then she heard the term concierge education which brought it all together for her. If a child needs extra help in math, they get it at The Fulton School, she said. But if that same child is in 5th grade, reading on a 10th grade level, we have the freedom to challenge and encourage him. The Fulton School begins with excellence in academics. But there s also a full offering of art and athletics. Students have the opportunity to play multiple sports, explore music, computer art or any number of extracurricular activities. We also emphasize service to others, with each Fulton student completing 48 hours of community service before they graduate. All of this is in line with The Fulton School mission of educating the whole child mentally, morally, socially and physically. The Fulton School was established to provide: Teachers who INSPIRE self-discovery A teaching approach that MOTIVATES students to pursue excellence Values that INSTILL civic leadership in every student In classrooms with an average fourteen-to-one student/teacher ratio, Fulton School curriculum is focused on creating critical thinkers and lifelong learners. Children are taught not just to memorize and regurgitate facts to pass a test, but to apply those facts in practical, relevant ways. Fulton teachers seek to stimulate a joy and excitement for learning; to equip students to excel in college and far beyond into life. They have a leader at their helm who is excited about expanding that vision, who is spending her summer overseeing expansions in technology, sports, AP English and more. Come meet Dr. Letha Hopkins and learn more about The Fulton School at Preview Day on July 26th from 10:00 until noon for PreK 3 through 12th grade. Learn more about The Fulton School at TheFultonSchool.org, or call 972-772-4445.
July 23, 2014

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


The Fulton School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 28, 2015
- a parent
We have been very happy with all of the teachers our children have had. The teachers communicate with each other very well to aid in the flow of a child's growth from grade to grade and subject to subject. The teachers seem to work very well together, and this helps the students to transition from teacher to another.

The Fulton School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 28, 2015
- a parent
With such small class sizes, the teachers really have an understanding of what each child needs to reach their potential. The teachers are able to assess each child's level of understanding. Homework assignments are given as an extension of the class lesson.


The Fulton School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted June 28, 2015
- a parent
The teachers are not limited by state curriculum. They are able to cover the basics quickly and move on to more stimulating lessons that are stifled in public school. My children still love to learn, and I credit Fulton for that! The teachers challenge the students to actually think rather than regurgitate answers back as instructed.

The Fulton School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted June 28, 2015
- a parent
There is a respect that the students have for each other, for the staff and for the campus as a whole at Fulton that is rarely seen today. Our students are proud to members of the Fulton family.

The Fulton School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted June 28, 2015
- a parent
There is an incredibly warm, family feel on the Fulton campus. Fulton is an extension of the homes our families come from. The older students truly feel like older siblings to the younger students. Students feel safe, appreciated, and cared-for while at Fulton. The staff expects the same compassion and empathy from the students at Fulton as parents expect from their children.


The Fulton School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 28, 2015
- a parent
The Fulton School focuses on the whole child - with the three tenets of service, honor and excellence.

The Fulton School 5

Posted June 28, 2015
- a parent
My family has been a part of the Fulton family for over 5 years. We truly love the warm environment Fulton has to offer. There are small class sizes and a strong emphasis on academics. The staff is dedicated and compassionate. The teachers enjoy the freedom to teach their subject rather than the state-mandated curriculum they see in public school, and the students are able to learn with an uninterrupted flow that is stifled when they must stop to take the multiple state benchmarks and tests throughout the school year. We strongly recommend Fulton to anyone living in the Rockwall/Heath/Rowlett/Forney/Terrell/Garland/Mesquite/Royse City/Fate/Dallas area.

Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
Continuing a Tradition of Service, Excellence and Honor as We Grow and Improve Heath, TX - Dr. Letha Hopkins flunked retirement. After thirty-five years in the public school arena, she should have been ready to kick back, plant a garden, volunteer at church, and play with grandchildren. Not so. She got busy working as a consultant and stepped in as interim school superintendent. Then she heard about an opening for Head of School at The Fulton School which really sparked her interest. The Fulton philosophy is Do what s best for the child . That intrigued me, she said. Away from the pressures of mandated testing, I realized we could do what s best for EACH child. Then she heard the term concierge education which brought it all together for her. If a child needs extra help in math, they get it at The Fulton School, she said. But if that same child is in 5th grade, reading on a 10th grade level, we have the freedom to challenge and encourage him. The Fulton School begins with excellence in academics. But there s also a full offering of art and athletics. Students have the opportunity to play multiple sports, explore music, computer art or any number of extracurricular activities. We also emphasize service to others, with each Fulton student completing 48 hours of community service before they graduate. All of this is in line with The Fulton School mission of educating the whole child mentally, morally, socially and physically. The Fulton School was established to provide: Teachers who INSPIRE self-discovery A teaching approach that MOTIVATES students to pursue excellence Values that INSTILL civic leadership in every student In classrooms with an average fourteen-to-one student/teacher ratio, Fulton School curriculum is focused on creating critical thinkers and lifelong learners. Children are taught not just to memorize and regurgitate facts to pass a test, but to apply those facts in practical, relevant ways. Fulton teachers seek to stimulate a joy and excitement for learning; to equip students to excel in college and far beyond into life. They have a leader at their helm who is excited about expanding that vision, who is spending her summer overseeing expansions in technology, sports, AP English and more. Come meet Dr. Letha Hopkins and learn more about The Fulton School at Preview Day on July 26th from 10:00 until noon for PreK 3 through 12th grade. Learn more about The Fulton School at TheFultonSchool.org, or call 972-772-4445.
Posted July 23, 2014


The Fulton School 5

Posted September 05, 2011
- a parent
Our child has flourished in the Fulton environment, spanning the lower and middle schools. Each teacher in the middle school and high school has a Master's degree, Doctorate, or is working on one. The curriculum is very advanced. They begin lab-work in science in the lower grades, and really get into the science lab in 5th grade. My child will have taken Algebra I and Geometry as well as Spanish I, by the time they enter high school. This is the norm rather than the exception in this class. I believe 5 of the 13 or so in the class are eligible for the Duke TIPs program. Writing skills wise, they are far ahead of local schools. While my child's peers around our neighborhood are writing creative stories, our child is writing research papers, properly noting the research in APA format. The extracurricular advantage is huge too. Fulton has really grown in the past 3 years in this regard. Each child is encouraged to participate in as many extra-curricular's as they choose. The biggest advantage though, is the commitment to teaching kids values. The motto is Service, Honor, and Excellence, and Fulton students are taught to and expected to live this code.

The Fulton School 4

Posted June 06, 2011
- a parent
We have seen a difference between the Elementary and Middle schools here. The Elementary school (grades 1-4) is exceptional. The teachers are wonderful and classroom size is great. The academic improvement of elementary school students is remarkable. The teachers in the Elementary school at Fulton definitely get 5 stars. The Middle school (grades 5-7) is good, but academically it's not clearly better than surrounding public schools.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Fulton School
1623 Laurence Drive, Heath, TX  75032
(972) 772-4445
Last modified The Fulton School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
The Fulton School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top