Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-12
Private
Houston, TX
Students enrolled: 256
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Family Christian Academy 0
no rating

Posted June 26, 2008
- a parent
My older 2 children have attended public school and private school and they both rate FCA's teaching abilities higher than our local public school. At FCA, the jr & high school students do have the 'typical teenage stresses', as referred to in June 6, 2007 post, although with Christian Spirit led teachers and Christian student leaders those stresses are better dealt with and students are taught to put their trust in God and rely on Christ in every area of life. That is something that is not being taught in most schools today, so this makes FCA a unique school where each child is set apart for greatness through Christ Jesus! Also, my oldest graduated from FCA. He is a confident young man & prepared for college.

Family Christian Academy 5

Posted September 17, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Family Christian Academy 2

Posted June 06, 2007
- a former student
I graduated from this school. Trust me, you do not want to send your kids here. I was lucky to have had some amazing teachers, however, this is not the case anymore. When I went to college, for instance, even at San Jacinto Jr. College, I had to take remedial math courses because I was so unprepared. Please, do not send your children here. When you go apply, ask about the teacher turnover. Ask why it is so high, and how they skim by on accreditation every year. The office staff is a joke, there is little security, and just as much typical teen-aged stresses go on here as they do at public school.

Family Christian Academy 5

Posted June 01, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Family Christian Academy 4

Posted March 02, 2007
- a parent
Overall, my child has progressed well, I would really like to see a comparison with other students in public school. It is pretty well recorded that students, entering into public school, 6th grade and above are excelling above their peers. I am not sure what the disconnect when entering Middle School. It is an excellent value, and the Teachers and parents are very involved.


Family Christian Academy 5

Posted April 09, 2005
- a parent
Excellent school...By the time my daughter was 5 she has started reading in public grade 2 level, adding, subtracting, etc.

Family Christian Academy 5

Posted April 09, 2005
- a parent
Excellent school, high standards of education for the k-5 level and first grade level. Have not experienced othger grade levels. Excellent teachers so far, involved with the kids as individuals, great parent-teacher relationship, my 5 yr old started reading before she turned 5.

Family Christian Academy 1

Posted February 07, 2005
- a teacher
I am a former teacher from this school. Please do not send your (7th-12th grade) children to this school. I am not saying this out of vendiction, but purely out of concern for education. This school DOES NOT stress education; it is more like a Christian summer camp. Your children will not be prepared or even encouraged to go to college.


Family Christian Academy 2

Posted December 30, 2004
- a parent
--As an elementary school-- Good books. Very safe. Very challenging. High standards. Excellent teachers. --As a high school-- Almost no academic programs. Poor electives. Teachers underqualified and most leave at the end of the year. Students run classes. Lots of work but no education. No parental involvement. No emphasis on college. GREAT school for students from k-6 grades. Give it an A VERY BAD school for 7-12 grades. Give it an F. As a former student, I would advise parents to send their kids to this school up to their 6th grade. After that send them to a public school or another private school.
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Family Christian Academy
14718 Woodford Drive, Houston, TX  77015
(713) 455-4483
Last modified Family Christian Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Family Christian Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top