Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Corpus Christi Catholic School

Private | PK-8 | 193 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Houston

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $345,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $910.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 9, 2014

I have three children at Corpus Christi, it is the best decision I ever made for my children. The teachers are highly qualified, my childrens' PreK-3 teacher is a former Attorney, the PreK-4 teacher has Masters degree, just to name a few. My daughter is now in Gr 4 hated math until she went to CCCS, she now proclaims that Math is easy. They have the technology when it is needed, but children need to learn the basics and how to think critically. My children are constantly complemented on their maturity and critical thinking. The principal knows each child by name and each parent, and makes every effort to call parents to task when needed. Technology is all around them and will be there forever, but children's mind have to be developed not numbed by technology.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2013

Corpus Christi is a great school for my child. Sure, they lack the technology. Yes, the textbooks may need to be updated. Maybe, money could be raised for smart boards. But my child has read more REAL books than her older cousins who always seem to read from copied passages from some test prep workbook. My child is busier problem solving from real word problems than learning math strategies and test taking strategies. My child cannot wait for Mondays to come because she will learn and be part of a loving community than be part of a mere state data. Her cousins may have access to the smart board, more computers in the classroom, newer textbooks.... But even my sister is noticing the difference that my daughter is enjoying school than her kids are....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2013

My daughter attended Corpus Christi Catholic School for just one year in the 8th grade. We were truly blessed to have had this opportunity . Coming from public school, the teachers, and students at CCCS were welcoming and warm. It was difficult at first coming from public school, but her teachers CCCS took the time to teach her and I am proud to say that she attends one of the best Catholic High Schools now. Her teachers over at the high school are amazed at her writing abilities, and how well she does in science. Props to Mrs. Morrell, and Mrs. Sage her science and math teachers at CCCS. They made this possible. CCCS is a small school that made a BIG DIFFERENCE in my daughters life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2013

I have three students at Corpus Christi. They love their school. They love that their principal greets them every morning at the door with a hug. The two little ones in pre-k 3 and 4 want to go to school on Saturday. Our oldest loves her teacher too and all are getting a great education. As far as technology, every classroom has a Mimio which is the same thing as a white board. Children are able to work on the interactive board during lessons. The children also have access to ipads. The teachers are loving and genuinely care about all of their students. We feel so blessed to have our children in this excellent school.


Posted October 3, 2013

Corpus Christi Catholic School needs to move into the 21st century! Teaching methods and discipline strategies are outdated by more than twenty years. The administration, faculty and staff are lacking in the most basic educational skills that are required in today s world. In addition, technology is completely missing from the campus and curriculum. Computers and software technology are completely outdated. You would be hard pressed to find a white board or other basic teaching advancements in any classroom. Teaching methods compare to those of the early 1990 s. Textbook are outdated by more than 12 years. The basic are lacking at this school and teachers are far from the best of the best. You are not getting what you paying for at the school of smoke and mirrors.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2013

My children received an excellent education at Corpus Christi. They were accepted into academically challenging high schools and were well prepared. I feel that their experiences/opportunities while attending Corpus Christi helped them to reach potentials that they did not know they were capable of. I was surprised to read the comment about pick-up, my friend picked up my kids and was impressed with the strict pick-up procedure. The teachers and principal care about the students and make learning not only interesting, but fun. There are tons of opportunities for parents to get involved. I would recommend this small school to any looking for a well-rounded, quality education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2012

Teachers are fine. Principle seems to not care. They are not helpful. They seem to be judgmental there. They really don't follow guidelines in whose to pick up your kid. They will release to people that they know and not what it states in the file. Overall very disappointed, because of staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2011

My children have attended this school for 10 years. My oldest graduated last year and I now have one in 3rd and one in kindergarten. Mrs. ramirez the kindergarten teacher has taught all three of my boys. This is more than a school its a family. The person that commented on the 1st grade I have to tell you that my 3rd grader LOVED her there were no favorites and she is amazing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2010

My child is always excited to go to school in the morning. Her school experience has helped foster a love for learning and the importance of community service. Great leadership. I have seen an improvement in the math program and I know the school is working toward an improved science curriculum. Indeed, a small school that is making a big difference in my child's life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2010

Corpus is a great option for every family in need of a quality, Christian-based nurturing learning environment. The emphasis is always on the child and their development. Gospel values are modeled in the teachers, parents, administration and ultimately the students. The diversity of the school is fantastic - kids have multiple talents and intelligences and different levels of learning and ability. A great home away from home for any child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2010

I would not recommend this school. We made a mistake in enrolling my daughter here to start 1st grade. The homeroom teacher was very inconsistent with the grading system as well as the lesson plans. The ratio is too high..there are 22 children with no assistant. The school is very unorganized when it comes to drop and pick up. They also play favorites to those kids whose parents constantly contributing their time and money. I can't wait until the school year is over. I'm transferring my daughter to another school where she can more attention and better education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2008

I was brought up around Corpus Christi because I was baptized there, so it was inevitable that I would become a student at the school. CCCS was my home for nearly 10 years and those were the best days of my life! Being in a small school, I got more attention and was able to learn more. This school has had its ups and downs over the years but now they have a great principal leading the way. Overall CCCS prepared me for high school and I am proud to say that it is and always will be my home!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 25, 2008

With two children in and two to go, I feel that we've made the best decision for our family by having our girls at Corpus. Children are treated as a whole whose individuality is celebrated, & parents are viewed as partners in the school's success. We're thrilled with the program that's been put in place to bring up the level of middle school education--especially in math, and we love the fact that every year the extracurricular activities keep increasing--this year they've added dance, which the girls are thrilled about. Add to that the way a Christian way of life runs throughout the day in every activity undertaken, & we couldn't ask for a better school for our children to attend. Thank God!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2008

We began our relationship with CCCS in the fall of 2000. Since that time we have experienced an evolution of strong leadership and solid teaching in mind, body, and spirit. Corpus provides what I call a 'liberal arts' education; well-rounded students. Parental involvement is strong; a working community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2008

I loved this school, it was great. I made tons of friends and everyone treats you like family!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 22, 2007

After attending CCCS from pre-k through 8th grade and being an A student, my son should have been well prepared for high school. However, he was not due to the educational standards of the middle school that lack in Mathematics, Science and English. Grades pre-K through 5 were well taught although more emphasis should have been placed on Mathematics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2007

I am so happy to have found this school for my two children. The instruction is excellent and the administration is committed to providing a stimulating, nurturing environment for the kids. There is a wonderful community at Corpus Christi where the parents, teachers and staff work together to provide a great learning environment in a Christian setting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2007

We attended CCCS since pre-K. It has, without a doubt, a very loving and well taught elementary wing. However, the middle school is lacking in discipline and the necessary English and Mathematics curriculums. The eighth grade experience was a nightmare. Although the school tries, they lack well organized sports for boys. There are very few electives to choose from in middle school. One elective worth taking is Mrs. Miller's art class. It is very well taught and well organized. As for the parents, they are very much involved. However, limits are set as to what extent parents can be involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2006

Corpus is a diamond in the rough -- a small, intimate school in modest facilities, with a smart, nurturing faculty and motivating principal. Parental involvement is high, students are happy, and traditional Catholic values are emphasized.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2006

Great school. Strong Catholic education. Nurturing, calm environment. Emphasis on self-discipline.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 36% 31%
Hispanic 34% 51%
Black 15% 13%
Asian or Pacific Islander 7% 4%
Two or more races 7% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (713) 664-6095

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Galveston-Houston
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • rugby
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Volleyball
  • rugby

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4005 Cheena Drive
Houston, TX 77025
Website: Click here
Phone: (713) 664-3351

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Cliffwood School
Houston, TX


Avondale House
Houston, TX




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT