Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Robert M Beren Academy

Private | K-12

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Houston

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $201,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $780.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 20, 2009

This is a school that strives to provide the students with the best of both worlds - strong, Jewish education with an equally strong General studies education, making it unique in the community. My kids are happy and growing beautifully here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2009

The classes are small, the love of the students is BIG, the teachers care about each student as an individual, and make sure to communicate and involve the parents in the kids education. They teach great values, and the kids care about each other and their school....Go Beren!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2009

An amazing school where kids learn important life skills alongside their general and Judaic studies! We love RMBA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

When we were considering our move to Houston it was the school that confirmed our decision. A fantastic, warm environment with great Judaic and General Studies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

teacher caring shows in the students caring....... I love the school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

raises great kids, who think for themselves
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

Robert M. Beren Academy helps students become the best people they can be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

I have been a parent at Beren for 6 years and have 4 children in elementary and preschool. I have been immensely impressed with the teachers and staff. They all go out of their way to learn the names of all the kids, which is important in feeling a sense of belonging. But I have been even more impressed with what they have been teaching my children. I've seen my children with other private-schooled children and they are far beyond other children of the same grade. I love the compliments I get on my childrens middot, passion for Israel, and their knowledge of Judaics. I love that my 3rd grader corrects my Hebrew! With the addition the last few years of art and music classes, the education is even more well-rounded.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

I think Beren is an amazing school. I've never found a place where the staff and faculty care more about the students. The Hebrew language, Judaics, and General studies are all at a very high level. I still can't believe how quickly my son learned to speak Hebrew, and I'm hopeful he'll be able to enter the Gifted program once he's old enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

I am new parent at Beren and we are thrilled with the level of education our children are getting. After only 1 year my son is translating Chumash, reading Hebrew fluently and his English language skills have soared. My children (5 and 7) have developed a huge love for Israel and chesed while being at Beren. It is like being part of one big family. The teachers are ridiculously committed
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2007

I have been a parent at Beren Academy for 13 years. I am so grateful for the amazing education that my children continue to receive year after year. I have one child in highschool, one in middle school and one in elementary school. My children go to sleep away camp and I always get many compliments on my childrens Hebrew speaking abilities and especially their middot. The school is my partner in educating my children. The school strives to hire the best teachers, provide a wonderful environment and constantly grows its programs across the board for Judaic, General Studies as well as our wonderful after/before school opportunities. The Torah values are clearly evident in everything that the school does and I can't imagine finding a better school anywhere!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2006

This is a terrific school. The hebrew, the judaica and the academic curriculum are all excellent. The teachers really take pride in what they do, and know their students. Definite winner. Atletics are weak
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2005

I found this school to have an excellent Hebrew program...your child will learn to read, write and speak fluent Hebrew. The down side is that the school day is very long...7:45am - 4:00pm. The secular side of the curriculum is not set up for 'gifted' children. So, if you are interested in academics, this is not the school for you. There are no extracurricular activities of elementary kids..and only 2 45 minute sessions of PE a week. This is an orthodox school so do not expect anything less...If your focus is having your child build a strong Jewish identity and learn Hebrew fluentlyl, this is the school for you. Some parents are too involved...and others not enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11333 Cliffwood Dr
Houston, TX 77035
Phone: (713) 723-7170

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Imani School
Houston, TX



Trafton Academy
Houston, TX




Cliffwood School
Houston, TX


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT