Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-12
Private
Houston, TX
Students enrolled: 850
Before care: No
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 59 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


60 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


British School of Houston 2

Posted September 19, 2014
- a parent
Our son went to this school and in our experience this school is way overpriced with marginal returns. One would expect that the staff and teachers would care more about their student's progress and accomplishments. There is no way to check which assignments are due and when. Students write down assignments in their agenda books and if they didn't, you are out of luck. Can't check on the dates when the tests are given either. Several times we've asked for the school officials or teachers to set up on online parents account where teachers would post assignments, etc but it fell on deaf ears. Also, this school is not a member of TEA which means that a Texas public school may decide not to accept credit transfers from BSOH.

British School of Houston 1

Posted September 14, 2014
- a parent
Looked round this school as it had good results. Kids put off by brusque Admissions woman who seemed to think that English being their second language was a problem. Yet then reminded us that school was changing it's name to British International School of Houston. the fact they were intimidated by her, hence their quietness did not occur to her. Given the people we met it seemed an odd unfriendly place. Headmaster and Deputy Head are married??!!! No school nurse for 800 kids. We ran .


British School of Houston 4

Posted June 02, 2014
- a parent
The comments about the nursery class are wildly misleading. I have checked and now know that in the class there are three members of qualified and experienced staff and the class size never exceeds 29 at any one time. The ratios are much better than in a standard day care center. As it is a British school the children start to learn the basics of reading and writing from the age of three and seem to love it. The range of activities on offer to them is wonderful and the teachers seem to know the children very well and show great care and attention to them. I am very impressed.

British School of Houston 2

Posted May 23, 2014
- a parent
Very disappointing. Teachers are here to socialise first and teach second. No support from the top for them available for their youth and inexperience. Of course, some are good ones but not most. Anti-parent barrier as if we are a nuisance. Average to poor facilities (not including the structure which is temporary until new school is built on another site). Primary sports programmes non existent. Unqualified staff. No real policies in place. Nobody cares. Very expensive mediocre school.

British School of Houston 1

Posted February 23, 2014
- a parent
We are self paying parents of a student in nursery of this school with 31 students in class and only one teacher available to teach all of them.


British School of Houston 1

Posted February 21, 2014
- a parent
This school is amazingly bad. It actually beggars belief how bad it it. The staff are young and inexperienced. There has been a mass exodus of the really good ones over the last 3 years. It is a bit of a running joke among the expat community who do not send there or have removed them. Among Americans it is known as the private school you send your kids to when you can't get them in to a better one. The quality of education is very poor compared to other private schools. I'm not sure what the pp is talking about when they said the curriculum is two years ahead. I am a teacher and have worked in England. It is not two years ahead by any stretch of the imagination. The pastoral (not religious but rather mind and spirit) care of the children is also poor. No attempts to help them settle in in any meaningful way. Avoid if at all possible.
1 person found this helpful

British School of Houston 2

Posted February 20, 2014
- a parent
This might be a great school for elementary or middle school equivalent but for the Pre-K program it needs a lot of improvement. Student to teacher ratio is quite high (too many kids per teacher) considering the also high tuition fee. Some teachers are young and very inexperienced indeed and I found them enthusiastic only on Fridays. Nonetheless, they have some good ones, I just wish there were more experienced teachers or LSA's. We have never been asked for donations. They teach French as a second language which is something positive as all other schools teach Spanish and honestly learning Spanish in Houston is quite easy either with a Nanny or friends. Their sport facilities are average. There is a good parents community, very diverse and friendly. Our child has learned a lot there but is not passionate about the school. Maybe later there is the wow factor so much advertised. Principal leadership is weak, we look forward to BSOH having a new principal as well as the new campus in Katy.

British School of Houston 1

Posted February 18, 2014
- a parent
British School of Houston is a for profit organization. Building is outdated. Leadership aims to increase revenue by enrolling increasing amount of students through aggressive and inaccurate marketing. Minimum salaried teachers from the UK without experience and motivation are contracted on a two year visa. Quality of education ranked low in comparison to any other school in the UK. Insufficient number of classroom assistants. School relays heavily on volunteer work of parents. Students and parents are encouraged to fundraise and donate frequently. School might be a necessity to Expats because of British curriculum. No benefit to any child to attend this school since Houston offers variety of safe, friendly and high quality schools without the ever increasing price tag.
1 person found this helpful


British School of Houston 5

Posted February 18, 2014
- a parent
Reviews ought to be based on facts!!!!! All parents including myself, are fully aware that the school is continually being improved, most recently the bus canopies and new, fresh reception after half term......This is without mentioning the fantastic new build school opening 2015/2016. Teachers are rewarded most handsomely and are carefully recruited based on credentials and experience. Young, enthusiastic teachers are a bonus to the school. I am unaware of volunteers working at the school as even the invidulators are in paid positions! The academic results speak for themselves and as we are all aware, not everyone can be satisfied all of the time!!!! I can honestly say I have NEVER been asked for a donation of any kind. For my family, BSH has been absolutely the right choice and my children enjoy the homely, friendly surroundings.

British School of Houston 4

Posted February 10, 2014
- a parent
We moved our child here from a local private school in the Memorial area that teaches a US curriculum. The difference is amazing. BSH is teaching approximately two years ahead of our old school. Our former school talked a lot about differentiation, but here at BSH they actually do it. The practical effect is that your child is taught at their level. If they are at the top of their class in a given subject they receive instruction at a higher level, if they are in the middle, or bottom they also receive appropriate instruction. The result, EVERY STUDEN IS CHALLENGED / no one is left behind, or ignored. The staff and teachers are incredibly professional. If a great education is what you are looking for BSH is an excellent option. We believe the international culture present at the school will help our son in the future. We know the high academic standards will.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

British School of Houston
4211 Watonga Blvd, Houston, TX  77092
(713) 290-9025
Last modified British School of Houston is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
British School of Houston Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 60 reviews. Top