Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

First Baptist Academy Houston

Private | PK-8 | 480 students

Our school is best known for being an academically rigorous Christian school
 
 

 
 

Living in Houston

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $521,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,110.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 24, 2009

First Baptist Academy is very unorganized. Teaching did not prepare my student for the 8th grade ISEE exam for High School application. Academics not very strong.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2008

All three of my children went to First Baptist Academy. First Baptist Academy provided them with a strong foundation for high school. My oldest daughter is now a Petroleum Engineer, my middle child is in her sophmore year at Baylor and my youngest son is a Senior at Houston Christian High School. We can truly attest that First Baptist Academy was a nurturing, Christian environment with a strong academic curriculum. We thank God every day for the opportunity to have put our children through First Baptist Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2008

Our review relates only to FBA Primary School, formerly First Kids. The quality of the school facilities is excellent, as well as their teacher/student ratio. However, the level of care a child receives in this program is very inconsistent from year to year depending on the teachers. Some teachers are extremely loving and caring. Others are terribly distant from what you would expect from a highly accredited Christian school. Sometimes there is lack of respect for the children as evidenced by negative methods of discipline, such as yelling, rude talk, lengthy time-outs, etc. The principal is new and it s evident that she is still working on gaining the teachers' respect. Overall, the program is good. Our child enjoys going to school here. I would recommend FBA Primary with the teacher caveat.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2008

My child has been at FBA since Kindergarten. We have been extremely pleased with the education our child has received. Every day he is challenged by his teachers to think outside of the box when researching a subject. Weekly he attends Innovations with an instructor that is beyond what any parent could ever wish for their child! Overall, the teaching staff is outstanding -- saying this, I do believe that every child/parent gets what they give... We enjoy the fact that all of the teachers and staff know our child and us by name. We would and do recommend FBA to our friends!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2008

My child encountered multiple instances of negligence of which neither teacher nor staff made us privy but covered it up as if it never happened. We would never recommend FBA to any parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2006

My child has attended HFBA for four years. Academically I have to rate the school very high. The teachers are professional, dedicated and impressive. I cannot say the same for the elementary school principal. School identity revolves around the typical jock/cheerleader mentality. If your child fits into that group, they will blend in. If not, your child can expect a lot of friction with the other students. As a religious school they teach their Christian views in Chapel each week. Do not expect the students to live by those same lofty ideals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2006

My children attended FBA and were academically well-equipped for high school. I appreciate FBA, too, for the spiritual foundation the school helped we, as parents, build. The low rate of teacher turnover, expecially in the Elementary School, speaks highly of the Elementary Principal. The Elementary Principal has been employed as a teacher as well as Administrator at FBA for 25 years. The teachers do not stay because of the salary. The salaries are much lower than public school. The teachers demonstrate a sincere concern for their students. Private schools are limited in funds and therefore cannot offer extracurricular opportunities to meet the specialized interests of every student. That is where we as parents fill in, providing opportunities for our children outside the school environment. No institution can
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2005

The school provides a well rounded education, but has limited extracurricular activities for the academic minded child. We have been trying to get them involved in some organized robotics program and have not been successful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2005

Enjoyed the low Student/Teacher ratio. The school is also slowly starting to offer more Sports activites.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2005

FBA is awesome. Our oldest child has attended the school for 5 years and we could not be more pleased. The teachers make each child feel special and accept them as individuals. My son has scored very high on the standardized test so I feel they are learning without it being drilled into them on a daily basis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2004

My middle school daughter did very well at First Baptist Academy. She excelled in academics and grew much deeper spiritually as well. They also had an excellent program of extracurricular activities. I would recommend First Baptist Academy to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 31%
Hispanic 9% 51%
Black 6% 13%
Asian or Pacific Islander 5% 4%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
School social worker/counselors(s)
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Vietnamese
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
  • Vietnamese

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Clubs
  • Forensics club
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00am
School end time
  • 3:00pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Brig Thompson
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • ACBS
Fax number
  • (713) 290-2509

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • Gifted / high performing
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Religious
  • Visual arts
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
  • Vietnamese
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • High School Admissions Counsel
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Gymnastics
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Gymnastics
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Boy scouts
  • Cub scouts
  • Forensics club
  • Girl scouts
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Come for a tour and see for yourself the difference a Christian Education at FBA can make for your family.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Tax credits
Sibling Discounts

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Houston Christian High School
Episcopal High School
Memorial High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7450 Memorial Woods Drive
Houston, TX 77024
Website: Click here
Phone: (713) 290-2500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


The Fay School
Houston, TX




Soar Center
Houston, TX



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT