Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

3 stars
Based on 35 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


36 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


First Baptist Academy Houston 1

Posted May 02, 2015
- a community member
In all honesty FBA does have some great caring teachers that do help you in either spiritual or educational problems, but the number of teachers that do not care what you do is outrageous.My bible class does not talk about the salvation. They talk about circumcision or put on veggie tales. In middle school, girls do not get as much sports as boys do. Boys get lacrosse and soccer, but girls do not. There are staff and facility that quit because either they were fired or "they found a better job". Since the departure of many teachers, FBA accepted anybody they could get or at least applied, therefore not really making the teachers policy very high. Whenever girls do something wrong (the majority) the teachers will just laugh or "let it slide", but when the boys do something wrong, the teachers will give them an infraction. The children are either nice or back stabbers. When you complain, little to no action will be done. In middle school, they expect you to pay over $1,000 for a computer that in 7-8 grade, you will barley use. There are students who don't get to go to the high school they want to go to because of the lack of educational advancement FBA gives.

First Baptist Academy Houston 1

Posted February 20, 2015
- a parent
FBA is a school. Either you go there, or you don't. I don't recommend it if you are in 9th grade or above.
1 person found this helpful


First Baptist Academy Houston 2

Posted February 02, 2015
- a parent
MIDDLE SCHOOL ONLY Class Size: PRO Smaller, opportunity to participate & interact w/ teachers. CON Everyone included in everything/knows your business. Academics / Electives: PRO Teachers come to school early for free tutoring/review. CON Not enough electives. Teachers: PRO Some teachers are very caring, innovative and excited about teaching. CON Some are less so. The teachers can be TOO involved. Teachers vote in school elections, pick their favorites overriding peer votes. This does not prepare kids for the real world. Technology: PRO On-line parent portal with assignments, grades and class resources material. One-to-one computer program. CON Only a few teachers keep their portal page updated. Required to purchase computer, yet they have failed to develop the curriculum around using it. Atmosphere: PRO Christian school inside a church. CON FBA lacks a neighborhood/community feel; not enough social events for students to foster camaraderie and build relationships. The school is very hung up on suppressing any individuality. A lot of the rules seem excessively petty. Conclusion: FBA currently suffers from years of poor leadership. Caveat emptor.
26 people found this helpful

First Baptist Academy Houston 1

Posted January 26, 2015
- a community member
The middle school at FBA is very disorganized and ridiculous. My children have attended FBA since kindergarten. The lower school was great and we made memories that will last forever. I could tell my kids enjoyed it and I was very satisfied. Now that my oldest daughter is in her eighth grade year, she couldn't be more depressed. FBA is in this transitional stage that you do not want to be caught in. Multiple experienced teachers left the school simultaneously. That was my first indication that something was wrong. Then my daughter tells me FBA is breaking many eighth grade traditions that she has been anticipating for such a long time. For example, the eighth grade retreat was accompanied by seventh graders this year. Not to mention the cheer captain position was given to two seventh graders rather than the eighth grader. As the school year advanced, I realized there is a huge problem with the discipline in this school. If there is an incident between two students, the first student to tell an adult is labeled the "victim" while the other gets all the punishment, even if there was equal damage done on both sides. The 1200 words are not enough to express my disappointment.
13 people found this helpful

First Baptist Academy Houston 2

Posted October 01, 2014
- a parent
FBA middle school is very poorly run & the administration is out of touch with what builds great children. FBA is run for the general masses & doesn't develop/promote special talents. FBA administration puts up a good front, but follow through isn't there. FBA doesn't prepare its kids for the future compared to reasonably good private schools. The test scores prove it. FBA doesn't know how to develop boys, nor does FBA understand them. They are way off here. In general, they love & support most girls infinitely more. FBA hangs on to teachers they should fire when evidence is overwhelming against supporting those teachers. The FBA administration imposes its own wants & desires on a student body that should be relatively free to learn to work out social situations without interference UNLESS there is a threat of harm to someone. Their meddling cripples the true development of the kids and harms them for their entry into a world that awaits them. FBA administration should quit believing its own self assessment & start making efforts to earn the expensive tuition they charge. They won't, because they can always fill the seats with average students. Admission standards are low.
20 people found this helpful


First Baptist Academy Houston 5

Posted June 24, 2014
- a parent
I love having my kids at FBA! Amazing and encouraging faculty, engaged administration and a wonderful Christian atmosphere. My kids have grown so much academically and socially - and it's due to FBA.

First Baptist Academy Houston 5

Posted January 10, 2014
- a community member
I have been a part of this school for the last 2 years on a volunteer basis. My wife and I will be sending our own children here in the near future. The school has lots of pride and the new Head of School is such a blessing. He is a leader and really has a heart for the well rounded student. He cares about academics and athletics, he realizes all of this makes for a strong school and a great experience for the institution.

First Baptist Academy Houston 5

Posted November 06, 2013
- a parent
We are in our second year at FBA with both a PreK student and a Lower School student. While last year was somewhat transitional as they searched for a new Head of School, this year has had a tremendous beginning. The Head of School is a great leader who takes time to be with the students and parents. The teachers challenge the kids academically, but also give them confidence. I'm so grateful that my kids are getting such a strong education in a place that they are loved and taught Christian values. Honestly, after being part of other schools, I had no idea what we were missing until we came here. We love the school - most importantly, our KIDS love the school. And I love that parents are involved in so many ways - from the parent association to booster club to reading to students in the library. It's a great place for both of my kids.
2 people found this helpful


First Baptist Academy Houston 1

Posted April 19, 2013
- a parent
This school is in a transitional stage. Don't get caught in it. They haven't had any real leadership in the last 2 years. Many graduating 8th graders were not able to get into their chosen high schools because they weren't qualified. The lack of leadership reflects in lack of education. Many teachers don't know how to teach or don't care about teaching and in turn, when a parent complains, nothing gets done or changes. It seems like it is just a burden for the prinicipal to take time out to meet and in the end nothing gets done. There is no concern about any individual child. The program is turning into a one size fits all environment. This school does not compare to its competitors. The other schools are much stronger with more high school credit options. This school lacks strong parent involvement-a red flag!
7 people found this helpful

First Baptist Academy Houston 5

Posted September 30, 2012
- a parent
We are in our third year at FBA and truly love it. The community is built of kind and genuine people, the academics are strong, and the teachers are fabulous. There are sports and extra curricular activities for everyone. The small class sizes and accreditations are also bonuses. This is the hidden gem of Houston independent schools!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

First Baptist Academy Houston
7450 Memorial Woods Drive, Houston, TX  77024
(713) 290-2500
Last modified First Baptist Academy Houston is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
First Baptist Academy Houston Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. Top