Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
62 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 88 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Varnett Charter School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted April 25, 2016
- a parent
We are all in this together and by inviting me to share my artistic abilities with the children. Thanks to Ms. P. Thomas.

Varnett Charter School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted April 25, 2016
- a parent
Reactions from the kids give me an idea of how the teachers are and most I have met. A true picture is staying involved and engaged with all concern.


Varnett Charter School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted April 25, 2016
- a parent
Children need to keep the mind active and open to continue the learning process. Pro education even at home.

Varnett Charter School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted April 25, 2016
- a parent
As volunteer,found this statement holds true for all students which is a good thing . Very imressed.

Varnett Charter School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted April 25, 2016
- a parent
When there is an emergency or need to come to the school, there is no hesitation for a phone call.


Varnett Charter School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted April 25, 2016
- a parent
At all times, my experiences have been with the school compassion, caring , and empathy have developed fully.

Varnett Charter School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted April 25, 2016
- a parent
Through 20 years of experience with the school and a good rapport with staff, children, and teachers..

Varnett Charter School 5

Posted April 25, 2016
- a parent
Life is short and we are bound to encounter the trials of life or the school of life. We all desire to have the best for our children. An advocate of quality education I chose Varnett. For over 20 years Varnett has been a part of my life with now three grandchildren. The oldest sharing school years from pre-k to graduation. We shared good memorable years which encouraged my decision to enroll the other two in the Varnett School. Coming from the 22 year old, " Varnett was a genuine good foundation in my educational journey.'' "Separated from many of my Varnett friends, ironically we met again and graduated from Lamar sharing the years at Varnett,'' My thoughts capturing the memories leads to a spirit of excellence, a quality academic curriculum, a high standard of education meeting the socioeconomic needs of the community, preparing our future generations and teachers of high concern for the students achievement are all valuables in my opinion of the Varnett School. Thanks for this opportunity to share this great educational experience in spite of some negative past, our children are our future. Of course, there are always opportunities for growth and challenges and that's what we as parents are for to volunteer and help by any means necessary. Varnett School.


Varnett Charter School 1

Posted October 21, 2015
- a parent
Horrible school they call for every little thing they suspend my child for laughing... My daughter hated it she said they wasn't teach her anything

Varnett Charter School 5

Posted October 14, 2015
- a parent
I loved Varnett! My son (Ethan) attends kindergarten and I like the fact that he is learning first grade material! The teacher Mrs. Thornton is GREAT! She makes it fun to learn and communicates with parents. Very good curriculum and I love the fact they keep you updated daily on your child progress.

Nearby schools

Varnett Charter School
P O Box 1457, Houston, TX  77251
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 88 reviews. (713) 723-4699
Last modified Varnett Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top