Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-12
Public charter
Houston, TX
Students enrolled: 855
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Yes Prep - Southwest 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
YES is child and parent friendly and I highly reccomend this program for our children

Yes Prep - Southwest 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a community member
My school i terrific. I was really nervous when I started at yes prep. Now I am a true Maverick.


Yes Prep - Southwest
no rating

Posted February 11, 2010
- a parent
The school is not as great as told by others. In order to receive your diploma you must be accepted into a 4 year university or college, so you could go to high school for 4 year and pass but have to get a GED. They are unorganized. I did not receive a student handbook until after the first 6 weeks of school. They are more interested in their logo being on the top layer of clothes so you have to purchase shirts, hoodies and coats from them, which is at a cost higher than I usually purchase them at. The kids spend about 12 hour a day in school, getting ready for school, transportation to school and homework, every day, so it is all work and no play if you attend this school. Rating about a 2 out of 5.

Yes Prep - Southwest 5

Posted May 27, 2008
- a student
This is a great school. Alot of things are hands on and the educational oppurtunities are great.

Yes Prep - Southwest
no rating

Posted April 17, 2008
- a parent
Yes is a real good school. My son really did not want to go at first but now he loves it. He has one major complaint and thats the food there. They do not have any options of what they can eat and not always give them food according to the menu. I try for my son to take his lunch so that he will not be very hungry at the end of the day. They are there til almost five and by that time they are very hungry! The academics are great and I would not take my child out for nothing.


Yes Prep - Southwest 5

Posted August 22, 2007
- a student
Its a wonder school for all childern 6th to 9th grade. Please look this sckool up for more information

Yes Prep - Southwest 5

Posted March 28, 2007
- a student
Great on academic but still a new school not a lot of options for sport or band but they are working on it. Most parent are actively involved to some degree or another. The teachers are always available via cell phone and/or internet. If you or your child are having problems with an assignment you can get immediate help

Yes Prep - Southwest 4

Posted January 25, 2006
- a parent
I enrolled my son at YES Prep this year. I was somewhat apprehensive, at first. I must say that he has excelled and is very happy. He finished Williams Elementary last year and his older sister had gone to Navarro and George. I was not overly impressed with our middle and high school options, so I figured I'd try YES. I had gone to visit the other 2 campuses and was pretty impressed. So far, I am very pleased with his progression and with the teacher's dedication to the students.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Yes Prep - Southwest
4411 Anderson Road, Houston, TX  77053
(713) 967-9200
Last modified Yes Prep - Southwest is a Charter school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Yes Prep - Southwest Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top