Advertisement
Advertisement

Iman Academy - Southeast

Private | K-10

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Houston

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $101,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $810.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 6, 2012

Oh well I never liked any Islamic schools but I have to deal with it and this school deserves four stars. Anyway I would choose alhadi school of accelerative learning (or alhadi) over this onebecause it is more developed and the teachers are cool ( u know what I mean). I used to go there last year and lets be honest it was kind of fun. My friend from there recently told me their school is getting a new building? Well I'm not sure because I don't think they can afford it....but if they are that's good cause their building is a masjid.......and it is not only used by alhadi but also used by Farsi school on Friday nights and Sunday school at sundays (no I thought Wednesdays). Iman academy is good too but id rather go to alhadi.


Posted May 28, 2012

The worst islamic school ever...ran like a third world school..uncertified teachers...unprofessional...kids mistreated...unorganized. it is a jungle..before considering this school take a look at other options.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2011

Very good school. We are happy that our children are in an environment where they are safe and are really cared for!! Staff are caring and devoted. Many clubs and activities!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2010

Iman Academy SE School is excellent in its academics but management is now fainting. Parents used to have more active role and weight! Hope to see things well soon!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2007

Excellent school, all my children go to this school, I have seen a lot of improvement since the first time we placed our first child, very carring teachers and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2007

okay I really do not know where to start........ this school has nice Islamic education but it has very few facilities....... students are not active because there are no clubs or activities. when they decided to have a journalism club the school did not have enough money to provide all the facilities.......... but I have to say that it is improving and parents who want there children to learn Islamic education should send their kids here for elementary and middle school but not high school because it does not have a good high school system..... at least it does not in the south east..... it only has a ninth grade which might not be present next year because there are not enough students......
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2007

Teachers are not professional. The kids are not disciplined. Poor teacher communication. Facilities are small. Too many kids per teacher (33) in 1st grade. 1-2 hours of nightly homework. Southeast branch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2006

Very nice school and staff. Pre-K class could be made more colorful. The playground espacially young childrens play ground could get better swings. Overall the staff is very dedicated and helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2006

Very dedicated Principal and teachers. The parents take an active role and volunteer for various projects. the academic standard is high and they score very well on the TAKS and IOWA tests. The extracurricular activities are bit lacking due to resources; however, they are slowly getting on track.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 59% 37%
Asian 37% N/A
Black 3% 14%
Hispanic 2% 47%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Islamic

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10929 Almeda Genoa Rd
Houston, TX 77034
Phone: (713) 910-3626

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT