Advertisement
Advertisement

Windwood Christian Academy

Private | K-5 | 60 students

We are best known for friendly Christian environment.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Houston

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $133,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,020.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Tuesday, April 15, 2014

We have been so blessed by our experience at Windwood. My son attended Pre-K and stayed to attend the Academy. The environment is loving and nuturing and parental invovlement is welcomed. The teachers genuninely love the kids and most importantly, Christian principles are part of every day. We came for the small class size and have stayed for the Christian education and nurture.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2014

Windwood Christian Academy has been wonderful for my child. The academics are very advanced and it is such a warm and loving Christian atmosphere. I love that there is a maximum of 15 kids per class and they have lots of great field trips, music, art, PE etc. We originally planned to just do kinder there but she loved it so much and the education was so much better we decided to stay and are so glad we did.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2011

I was so blessed to find this school. After searching all the other nearby private schools in the area, this one had the most reasonable tuition and extremely knowledgeable teachers who have a real love of teaching. This is now our second year here and I can't even imagine placing my child anywhere else. Not only is she getting a superb academic education due to the small classes, her knowledge of the bible and love of Jesus is remarkable for someone her age. I was also impressed because they teach Spanish and Computers. Most of the other schools I had visited didn't start those subjects until 4th and 5th grade. The thing I like the most about this school is my child doesn't want to miss one minute of it. She is so excited to arrive in the morning and never wants to leave at the end of the day. She is enjoying herself while learning and growing. That is absolutely priceless to me. Love, Love, Love this school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2011

I have two children at Windwood and could not be happier with the way this school is run. My son is in Kindergarten and my daughter is at the PreSchool. I truely believe the teachers are here for the right reasons. I am very proud to say my children attend Windwood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2011

My son attends Kindergarten at Windwood Christian Academy. The reading program is excellent. He was reading books by Christmas. In the second semester he is writing sentences and spelling words. I am amazed at all he has learned. It is obvious that the faculty care for the children. The principal and teachers are very careful to maintain a nurturing and Christ centered environment for the students. I highly recommend Windwood Christian Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2011

My child had an AMAZING start with Windwood. Her kindergarten teacher EXCEEDED my expectations. I was thrilled that by the end of the school year she could read on a 2/3 grade level. Now she is in 1st grade (and has weekly spelling test - can your child spell Punxsutawney?), and her reading has advanced even more! If your desire is to have your child surrounded by the love of God, truly caring teachers, have an excellent education, and be in an atmosphere where he or she can grow and feel good about their relationship with God and friends, then I highly recommend Windwood Christian Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2011

We have four children that go to Windwood. Two of them are in the academy and the other two are in the mother day out programs. Our two older children love the school and their teachers. They excel in academics because the class sizes are so small and the teachers have time to teach. our four year old is starting to read this year and is excited about kindergarden. and last but not least our son loves the music, painting and learning about Jesus! This school has been such a blessing to our family!!!! Hope to meet you soon....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2010

My child attended Kindergarten and 1st grade at Windwood Christian Academy and will be returning this fall for 2nd grade. I highly recommend WCA to everyone exploring private school options! The faculty and staff are very accessible and responsive, know each child by name, and are sincere and committed to their goal of educating students in a safe, nurturing, Christian environment. Students have the opportunity to participate in art, music, computers, PE, Spanish, Bible, library, extracurricular clubs, service projects and field trips. Tuition is very reasonable and class sizes are small, no more than 15 students per class. School procedures are convenient, and parent involvement is welcomed. Both my husband and I place a high priority on quality education, and my child is a strong student. We have been very pleased with the academic program at Windwood and feel very much at home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2010

My son has been so happy at this school. The faculty are all so nurturing. My son is in Kindergarten and started reading practically in the first month. Tuition is not as high as some other schools. Small classes, Spanish teacher, computers, gym class, and extra curricular activities and clubs. They really have it all!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

I have had two children in the Academy and have been very pleased with all aspects of the school. The teachers are creative, engaging, and their love for the children shows. I had the opportunity to be on staff and saw how things worked behind the scenes. I became more impressed and had a greater respect for the administrators as I saw their superb leadership and genuine care for the students and teachers. If you are looking for an alternative for your child, I highly recommend Windwood Christian Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

My son is in kindergarten here and couldn't be happier. We have found the staff to be very cooperative and informative as well as creative. They are quick to adopt programing to meet the individual needs of students -- providing enrichment for those who are ready for it and providing extra help to those who need it. We have been very impressed with the new principle who has expanded the extracurricular options by developing several clubs (my son wants to be in 5!) Her enthusiasm has been contagious. We are looking forward to many years at the Academy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2007

Our Son has gone here for Bridge class and it was a wonderful program. Our child was all ready reading going into Kinder. He also attended Kindergarten here and will be going into first grade at this school. They have a Spanish teacher who comes in once a week. Even the kindergartners use the computers on a regular bases. The teachers are loving and personable. I would recommend it to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 37%
Black 6% 14%
Asian 5% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 47%
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30am
School end time
  • 3:15pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Julie Cox
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Presbyterian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (281) 378-4081

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Klein ISD
Tomball ISD
Cypress-Fairbanks ISD

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Klein ISD
Tomball ISD
Cypress-Fairbanks ISD
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10555 Spring Cypress Rd
Houston, TX 77070
Website: Click here
Phone: (281) 378-4164

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT