Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
38 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 56 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Clear Horizons Early College High School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted October 19, 2015
- a parent
I feel that this school concentrates on information only. Input and output. Basically, students learning so much in such a short time, there isn't anything else addressed or cultivated.

Clear Horizons Early College High School 2

Posted October 19, 2015
- a parent
As a parent, I am frustrated with a few issues at the school. I do not find that the teachers are as outstanding as some have stated. Some teachers I have encountered have been rude and not accommodating. The tablets issued last year were completely worthless, as they did not function properly. While this school is academics based, it lacks anything else that helps to make a well rounded student. It does not offer classes such as drama, choir, sports, sports teams, no Senior play, etc. The running joke among my child's friends is that "they have no life, their life is school" There is no time after school for previous lessons, as well as weekend time for family is very limited. And the great two years worth of college they offer doesn't transfer out of state. I was not informed of this prior to attending. There aren't any social events for the students. It is a school that definitely is for some and not for others . Depending on your student, this "crunch" of studying for four years preparing them for college, can go either way. The student can flourish with this experience in college or the opposite effect of becoming very burned out by the time college arrives.


Clear Horizons Early College High School 5

Posted September 14, 2015
- a student
The teachers and staff are excellent cooperators and stand as a great role model for everyone. The community is very friendly and give you the determination even the slightest, on your darkest of days. This school is definitely a high recommendation from me for everyone whos willing to put in effort.

Clear Horizons Early College High School 4

Posted July 23, 2014
- a student
I will be a sophomore the upcoming year, and so far, there have been many more pros than cons. I came from a gifted and talented program in intermediate school. The challenge comparison to the gifted program is a lot less. If you are a student or a parent of a student who took all regular classes, be prepared to face challenges. The regular programs seem to not teach enough of the important skills students need to learn in middle school, especially writing. Because there is only one teacher for a subject, and one academic level, the classes aren't very hard. It is hard for the teacher to teach at a rigorous level because if they do, they know that most of the students will not do well, and there is not a lower level class for them to go to. If you, the parent, know your student is not good at writing, you should have them take classes or something, because writing is an essential skill not only at this school, but in life. My favorite part of being a student at Clear Horizons is that I get to experience college in high school. There are tons of events where students can get free stuff and free food if they have their college I.D. Also, there is not much bullying, or drama.

Clear Horizons Early College High School 5

Posted June 08, 2014
- a parent
I am a parent who had 2 students attend the zoned high school and one who attended Clear Horizons, class of 2011. I also substitute teach in both schools.. My daughter is currently working on her master's degree at university of Texas at Dallas. This program was a great jump start to her degrees. Yes, there were issues with staff learning how to get the program up and running. No new program is going to be perfectly run right out of the box. If a student is interested in learning, in a small environment and being academically challenged, then consider this school. I witnessed a very kind student population. If a student got into real trouble, they were sent back to their zoned school, no second chances. Students don't need to worry about gangs, or bullying for being different. By joining the honor society, my daughter received $18,000 in transfer scholarships over a three-year period. Don't believe it when you hear there are no scholarships for transfer students.


Clear Horizons Early College High School 4

Posted January 23, 2014
- a parent
CHECHS is a GREAT school. Not perfect, it has it's flaws BUT I am incredibly pleased with the quality of the education. The principal, Brett Lemley and most of the staff. It could be better about communication & organization, but all in all, my daughter and I are BLESSED to be a part of this school!

Clear Horizons Early College High School 5

Posted January 22, 2014
- a parent
The Best in Class. In academics, and academics. Yes there is not many activities, but you can join tennis, and other clubs in SJ College. The main focus of the program is academics, and it delivers what promised. My son is Senior and going to a Medical school with scholarships. 2 years ahead of his class in college. Priceless...

Clear Horizons Early College High School 3

Posted February 18, 2012
- a community member
I am a prospective parent, hoping to find out more about whether the school is getting more organized.


Clear Horizons Early College High School 5

Posted October 02, 2011
- a student
I am a freshman a this school and i going to this school is the best desicion i've ever made, i know everyone, everyone is my friend. We really do treat each other like family, this school is tough, but well worth the stress.The college classes aren't hard, it's the highschool ones.

Clear Horizons Early College High School 5

Posted June 16, 2011
- a student
Clear Horizons is a good school. My brother went there, and I go there. I consider my friends and classmates my second family because we have a small class size and everyone knows everyone else. Sure, the classwork is rigorous, but it's worth it because as you graduate from Clear Horizons, you also graduate with an Associate's degree from San Jacinto College.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Clear Horizons Early College High School
13735 Beamer Rd Box 613, Houston, TX  77089-6099
(281) 929-4657
Last modified Clear Horizons Early College High School is a Charter school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Clear Horizons Early College High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 56 reviews. Top