Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Victory Early College High School

Public | 9-12 | 441 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 21, 2013

...(cont.) I feel a bit cheated from those recruiters. The teachers here are good teachers but some really are not fair at all, high school teacher wise. I feelings for Victory is really conflicted because the opportunity for 2 years of free college is great but students really don't have the traditional high school experience, although Victory does what they can to make it happen. If you're a student that's doing well in school already and has great potential for spectacular grades and what have you, stick to a traditional school where you can excel with no barriers. You won't have to worry about the two year advantage of the students at Victory because your academics will allow you to soar higher than Victory students. What I'm trying to express is, this school is very unique and may not be the best opportunity for you. Don't be lured too much by the 2 year scholarship, do some research, talk to students that already do attend the school and some that don't anymore. I could go on longer but I've got less than 150 characters to go. Understand what you're getting into before you choose Victory, really understand what you'll be experiencing here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 20, 2012

So I am about to be a sophomore at VECHS and spent this time researching my school reviews. Some, just HORRIBLE and negativities! During my freshmen year, I learned A LOT! <-- see that? I learned that from my English teacher! :) She's amazing. I love her. This school is challenging I admit and if I think about it now, I would not be on the mind level where I stand now compared to my home campus! Our brains just grew without us even realizing it. I admit this school takes up a lot of our time for homework at home..and that's just one and only thing I hate of this school. They should narrow that down a bit. We are being attacked already at this age.. lol. It's ok though :) It's for our own good. The teachers are so caring of our grades. The counselor.. amazing! She's concern of everything of each and every student and also KNOW every single name! I just hope to graduate from this campus! #Class of 2015!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 29, 2011

Well I am currently a senior at victory [class of 2012!!] and after being at victory i don't at all regret my decision...i'm not gonna lie b/c victory is not for everyone but it is for those who want to challenge themselves and move to the next level in life! The friends i've made here and the experiences i've had are truly unforgettable and i will remember them forever. the school was hardest for the earlier classes like mine, but each yr there are more opportunities and things changed to make the experiences at victory better. the teachers are great and you get to really know them which is a huge plus b/c you'll know all the teachers there after a little and the counselor is great b/c she does everything she can to help each and every student...it is a great school and i know i did what was best for me by choosing to go there!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 28, 2011

Wow, After reading all these reviews, I couldn't believe my eyes. Look, I'm not in the top 15% of my class, or the top 10% but this school isn't really that bad as people say it is. The thing is people just take it all for granted, the students are actually pretty good to one another, well at least my class is, and the teachers are quite easy to get along with. Granted, only if you know how to act appropriately. As long as your child is actually a good child, and by "actually a good child" i mean, that the teachers won't tell you the opposite of what you believe because there are some kids that will give their parents a different story and try to get the teachers in trouble. Our school isn't perfect but no school really is, and when you come to this school you're gonna realize not to take things for granted because not everyone is able to have the same opportunities as, so just give it a chance, I have been here for about 4 years and I regret some choices I made but coming to this school is not one of them I can tell you that. You don't have to believe the words I have said but I digress, Don't come to a school and then complain cause your wasting the Victory Viking's time #2012
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 7, 2011

There is no validity to the post by a "teacher" on Aug 22. We are a close staff and I can guess who posted on Sept. 2 because we all know each other so well. The August review doesn't sound like any of the 15 teachers I have enjoyed working with the last few years. We love our job and we love our kids. Our first day back this year was one of the best experiences of my professional career. The hallway was endless hugs. Our current principal is also good at her job. She knows all of the students and cares about them. I've not heard of her ignoring any parent with a valid issue and she even humors the ones who do not. You need to know that our school is for the average student who can benefit from an exceptional environment, but only those who develop a strong work ethic will survive here. Our current retention numbers speak volumes regardless of the disproportionately represented disgruntled parent or student published here. Less than a handful of last year's students left voluntarily. Many who left involuntarily stop in often and visit. In the end, no one wants you here if you aren't happy and we don't guarantee that you will be. If your intentions don't match ours, you won't be.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 2, 2011

There is no way a teacher actually posted the review below. My guess it was a disgruntled (probably kicked out) student. Why does Great Schools allow just anyone to say they are a teacher or parent? It completely undermines the validity of your site. If the below were a teacher, he/she would know not to post such things publicly for fear of losing his/her job, AND would know the difference between "weather" and "whether". No one who teaches AP is ignorant of the difference between "in to" and "into," either. Most of the negative reviews below come from people who were kicked out because they could not meet the strenuous requirements to stay here. Does Victory have high standards? Yes. However, we are ranked 19 in a state of over 1500 schools, and we are the only exemplary hish school in the district. Any student who wanted to go to a four year college last year did. Is it for everyone? Absolutely not, but we don't beg people to come here, either. I have never seen teachers and administrators who care more about kids, and I have never seen better kids, for the most part, either.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 22, 2011

I am a teacher at Victory Early College and I'm starting to question weather I will decide to stay or not. These so called "gifted" students are nothing more than a cheap cliche of the word. They are incompetent and lazy. No matter how much a teacher tries, they can't help a student learn if they are not willing, and the students at Victory Early College are just careless. They complain that they receive too much work, well all Pre-AP/AP students receive the same amount of work, and I've never heard as much complaining from another High School AP student. Creating this school was a terrible idea, and working here was too. Parents, i suggest you really look in to weather your child can handle a school like this if they are thinking about attending. Currently enrolled students, grow up please. Sincerely, Your Friendly Neighborhood Teacher :) P.S. All of you have a better chance at going to a better college at your home schools. Just-Saying.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 15, 2011

This school is good in academics but the faculty staff are very disorganized. This goes by the one that needs to set the example "the principal" there is no communication towards the parents. Apperantly your child can be kicked out of this program with out a notice. One day you show up for class and the next thing you know your child calling you to pick them up. But when you are trying to get in contact with the principal by email, by phone or in person she is never there. Till this day I'm still waiting for a reply from June of this year on the grounds to why my child was kicked out of this school. And my child is a very dedicated student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2011

If i could, i would go to Carver, but the people of Victory don't tell you many things before you get here. First of all, if you take college classes, then leave for some reason, you cannot take classes at another school. Second of all, you are getting a degree of ARTS, if you want to get one of something else, you will not get all ur credits. When you are a senior here, you cannot leave. I made a horrible decision coming here, and now i'm stuck. Plus you can take the same amount of credits at CARVER. Victory says you cant, but you can. This is not a school, it is an upperfloor facility that is unsatisfactory.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 18, 2010

This is my second year in Victory, and I have to admit that this is not one of the best schools. Most of the teachers don't know what they're doing, and believe me even CSI don't have a clue what's with these people. Well, I'm not complaining because I'm lazy, for I am in the top 5%, but it's just that the teachers think they are the smartest people because they teach at an "early college." You really have to have nerves to be a top student at Victory, since the teachers make easy things very complicated. I love people challenging me, but you can't challenge someone to do something that you could never have done yourself, even if you lived another life. But, there are some teachers who actually teaches very well, and I'm thankful for them. I do enjoy my college courses, which is mostly the reason why I even bother to stay at this school. And, well it's too bad if anyone disagrees because afterall it's only my opinion.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 23, 2010

I am CURRENTLY a student at VECHS - Freshmen. The system to get in isn't the best. If you're a slacker, you will FAiL ! The work isn't HARD, there's just alot to do at one time. The school is mostly for reqular students, not GT. [i plan on leavinq for sophomore year because i don't want school beinq the ONLY thinq i have time for and everythinq seems too basic for me]
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 10, 2009

I am a freshman this year and three weeks into Vicotry it is already super hard. There is no time to relax once i get home because of all the work. now i only have time for homeowork, sleeping, and eating. And in that order.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 27, 2009

This will be my son's first year attending Victory so my opinion may be a little premature, but I am already impressed with the school, and administrators. I am so excited for him and decision to take advantage of this opportunity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2009

I am a Freshman at VECHS and its not all that bad. I admit that I am not the top in my class and sometimes don't have time to do things that I want to do, but it is totally worth it! When I first heard of this place me and my friends thought it would be too diffcult, but in truth it really isn't all as what people say it is. But I would reccomend that easily stressed people try to avoid Victory unless their good about keeping nice and organized.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 19, 2009

I attend Victory and this is my second year there. The first year was great! But as of this year I can not say the same thing. I understand that I took the responsiblity to have more work and have more things to do but spending 3-4 hours just on homework for two classes is crazy. I am still a teenager and school work does not rule my life. I recommend this school to any student that is very focused on their work and will give up sports, music, dance, etc.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 10, 2009

This is the best school ever. I love victory.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 9, 2008

This year is my second year i am a student at Victory. The first year was a fun year the teachers were great and my college classes were very fun. I started the first time we had tha chance to take college classes. At first the school was unorganized...and you no what im not going to even lie to you parents if you have a child that has good behavior and is only worred about acedemics this is the school for your child. But if your child plays sports, or is in a music program and is heavily involved in that this is not the program for them unless they are willing to give it up. I love play music, doing art and sports but when i first signed up i thought i was going to be able to do that and still get college hours. Wrong!! They changed (cont.)
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 21, 2008

I am a Freshman at Victory and every day there is somthing new and exciting around the corner. All the teachers are very friendly and were like one big family. Even the Sophmores and the Freshmen get along just fine! id definatly reccomend going to the school, its not hard or difficult at all as long as you stay on the right track and just have fun.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 17, 2008

yea, i bagan at victory echs the year of 07-08 and im happy i did, to be totally honest i was totally against th idea of moving away from all my friends but my mom put me in the lottery anywayz. what do you know, i got in! i relly did not and do not want to be there, but im happy my mom is making me stay because its a greatoppertunity o be able to get an assosiates degree when graduating ihavent evn started 10th grade and i alrady have 9 college hours! itsgreat and i love all the teachers(especially mr.hunter, and mr. g) and students and look oward to still be with them my senior year! [2011]
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 6, 2008

During my eighth grade year at Hoffman Middle School , all my classmates were talking about this program called Victory Early College High School and seemed very impressed by this. So I decided to look up information about this school. As I read all the reviews and opportunities this school provided, I just had to apply. Finally my result came in the mail, yes I got accepted to Victory Early College . As I continue to search for information I read that it was mandatory that I attend a summer program. During my experience in the summer program I was very impressed by the hospitality that the teachers and staff were giving to all the students. Now during my freshman year I will be attending this school and achieving my dreams of becoming a lawyer. This school is truly remarkable.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

107 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2011.

109 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

95 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2011.

94 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2011.

94 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 93% in 2011.

94 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 95% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 95% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 98% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Math

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Social Studies

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Exemplary".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
93%
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
97%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students97%
Female96%
Male97%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic96%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged97%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special educationn/a
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted96%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted100%
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted100%
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted100%
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Students98%
Female99%
Male96%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic97%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged98%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special educationn/a
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted97%
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Students93%
Female93%
Male92%
Black or African American93%
Asian100%
Hispanic92%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special educationn/a
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant93%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted90%
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted100%
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Students96%
Female96%
Male97%
Black or African American95%
Asian100%
Hispanic96%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant96%
Gifted/talented97%
Not Gifted96%
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

English III Writing

All Students95%
Female95%
Male96%
Black or African American95%
Asian100%
Hispanic94%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special educationn/a
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant95%
Gifted/talented96%
Not Gifted95%

Geometry

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted100%
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Students99%
Female99%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic99%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged99%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted99%
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Students95%
Female94%
Male97%
Black or African American95%
Asian100%
Hispanic95%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted93%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 75% 52%
Black 16% 13%
Asian or Pacific Islander 5% 4%
White 3% 29%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Two or more races N/A 2%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • Technical design and production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • PHYLLIS CORMIER
Fax number
  • (281) 618-5803

Programs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Performing arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • Technical design and production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2330 South Victory Street
Houston, TX 77088
Phone: (281) 878-7885

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT