Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Holmquist Elementary School 5

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
I have three kids at this school and never had a single problem. Holmquist is their second home. The affection and positive energy the staff gives to every student from the front door till the classroom have a magical impact. The principal is also excellent

Holmquist Elementary School 4

Posted August 31, 2015
- a community member
It is a good for my children but far from us and I met problems in the school site registeration


Holmquist Elementary School 1

Posted November 01, 2014
- a parent
This school has a nice appearance, but the staff lacks the ability to control the students. My daughter was being bullied, after meeting with Ms. Desauto her staff began to constantly write up my daughter and call me complaining about her on a weekly basis. Your child is retaliated against after alerting staff about being bullied. The teachers are messy and lack the ability to redirect students with positive reinforcement.

Holmquist Elementary School 5

Posted August 02, 2014
- a parent
I love this school the staff is wonderful my son completed his first year of school going into second year as a kindergarten student, his pre k teacher was Mrs. Dennison, I have also a new comer this year for pre k I pray he gets Mrs. Dennison as well.

Holmquist Elementary School 5

Posted April 30, 2014
- a parent
Holmquist is one of the finest elementary schools in Alief ISD. The teachers really care about the students and go above and beyond for them. The principal is very supportive and does whatever she can including working with students in small groups.


Holmquist Elementary School 5

Posted April 27, 2014
- a teacher
I have worked at this school for 5 years. It is by far the most beautiful school in Alief. The teachers, including myself are all dedicated to our student's safety, development and professionalism with each other and the community. I love this school!

Holmquist Elementary School 5

Posted April 19, 2014
- a teacher
I have been at this school since it opened.. I am in it to win it and anyone who is not will not last long here..

Holmquist Elementary School 5

Posted May 29, 2013
- a parent
I love this school. My daughter started here last year in pre k. The teachers she's had so far are very supportive and the office staff are friendly people. Great school, highly recommend.


Holmquist Elementary School 1

Posted October 03, 2012
- a teacher
I couldn't wait to find another job and get far far away from this Principal and her "team" who targets teachers on a daily basis. Teachers are so miserable and it shows. Lucky for me, I left Pronto!!

Holmquist Elementary School 5

Posted May 30, 2011
- a teacher
This is a wonderful school with caring teachers and great administration! IIt s a great place to work and to send your children.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Holmquist Elementary School
P O Box 68, Houston, TX  77411
(281) 988-3024
Last modified Holmquist Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Holmquist Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top