Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Brookwood Elementary School 5

Posted September 28, 2014
- a parent
Rated #1 in area according to newspaper. I volunteer a lot at this school. I have heard a special ed student crying as teacher guides him to class. Staff very patient. Its sad people are not tolerant of this population. Adm and office very good.

Brookwood Elementary School 2

Posted September 06, 2014
- a parent
Both Principal and asst. Principal are letting down. Kids are screaming in hallways. Parents are not welcomed by asst. Principal. Front office staff is really kind. Some of the teachers are below average. if you think this is a great school then I would say explore around there many good school..


Brookwood Elementary School 5

Posted September 20, 2013
- a parent
Principal Arrington best thing happened to school .Really focused on student learning Parents can be act like snobs and want to run school At least some of them Other parent are nice and not opposed to change Glad the administration doesnt allow that to take focus off the kids The other new assistant principal is also helpful

Brookwood Elementary School 2

Posted August 14, 2013
- a parent
Correction to previous comment ... Principal Arrington is the culprit. She's really letting Brookwood's children and parents down with her policies.

Brookwood Elementary School 5

Posted May 10, 2013
- a parent
My daughter study in Kinder garden. Ms. Fisher is so kind to take the students to next level. I do see during PTA meetings, principle remember each student by class at least some by name. Teaching curriculum and home work to students keep them so encouraging. I strongly recommend this school.


Brookwood Elementary School 4

Posted May 26, 2010
- a parent
Brookwood is a good school academically and has strong principal leadership. The school would be even better if they had an afterschool daycare as well as afterschool extracurricular activities. My daughter previously attended another school that had an afterschool daycare. This program resulted in much ease and convenience for her and our family. Also, the availability of the afterschool daycare provided her an opportunity to participate in afterschool activities such as chess club, group piano lessons, and other special classes. I rate it high for academics but low for other programs.

Brookwood Elementary School 5

Posted May 24, 2010
- a parent
The principal Homer has made a great school. She know and bring out best in every child.

Brookwood Elementary School 3

Posted April 16, 2010
- a parent
Slightly overrated. Overall it's a good school, unless you want to be involved in your child's education. Parental involvement is limited to outside the classroom (with small exceptions in K-2). So while there is alot of parental participation (good for fund raising, parties, etc) there is very limited teacher/parent involvement. The principal does not support advanced education (in this NASA community!). So unless the teacher allows it, the above average student does not get challenged. Social interaction among students is limited. Even at lunchtime! The kids have had to sit boy/girl at lunch and only talk to the students sitting next to them. While the kids get a solid education here, it is not a GREAT school because kids and parents are not dealt with on a personal level.


Brookwood Elementary School 3

Posted February 03, 2010
- a parent
What is keeping Brookwood Elementary from being a great school is the lack of an 'aftercare program'. The kids in Elementary school are so little. It is really tough for my kids going on a local Daycare buses that make several stops before arriving the daycare center. They are so exhausted when I pick them up. An Aftercare at the school site would help relieving both the kids and the parents from this kind of stress

Brookwood Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 29, 2009
- a parent
Very high standards for the kids - lots of highly accomplished kids and parents. School events see lots of parent involvement like at Field Day, etc. Lots of activities for the kids. Brookwood is fortunate that the school draws from two very affluent neighborhoods and only apartments/townhouses that cater to accomplished parents. We have three boys there, teachers are almost universally enthusiastic. We frequently talk to the teachers in person and sometimes by email. The Principal (Ms Homer) and Assist Principal (Ms Thornton) are often seen in the hallways interacting with the kids.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Brookwood Elementary School
16850 Middlebrook Drive, Houston, TX  77059
(281) 284-5600
Last modified Brookwood Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Brookwood Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top