Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cypress Creek High School

Public | 9-12 | 3251 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 9, 2014

I agree completely with the things mentioned in the other review here by a former teacher of CyCreek. I too used to teach there. After several years things got so painful that I finally left. I couldn't stand anymore the way the administration treated the staff and the lack of expectation it had for its students. The teachers bear ALL the responsibility - administration passes the load onto them and the students never take any for themselves. This was a miserable teaching experience.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 21, 2014

I would say the school is mediocre at best. I was a teacher there for a while. It was going down fast with mr. Wells and the students still respected him. Now the new principle ms. Trujillo is a laugh to the students. Many say she is mean and does not care about the students. I truly know she does not care about her staff. District puts little money into the school because they are going to title 1 very soon. The only thing I have to say good is the majority of the teachers care. The administrative staff treats the teachers as a lower class status creating an us and them situation. Putting the teachers in the middle and not helping student classroom management. This school is really only concerned about the numbers on the state tests and not failing to many students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 16, 2011

Teachers at Cy Creek are either amazing or terrible. The bad ones can talk the talk, but it's lip service. I think they are just overwhelmed by the large classes and increasing demands, but the result is the same--huge classes where the struggling student WILL be lost. The APs are good. The 504 coordinator is very good. My advice would be to look for the teachers that will tell it to you straight--if they start speaking in educational jargon, run the other way because it's all BS at that point.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2011

My son fell and cut his leg while running on the track during class. The coach did not send him to the nurse's office nor did he call me. That night after work, 6 stiches, and a pair of crutches later we left the ER. I spoke to the AP the very next day. He assured me he would take care of the situation. Less than two hours later I get a call from him letting me know he had just gotten out of a meeting with the principal, all of the other APs, director of athletics, director of nursing and several others. They laid out a plan to make sure everybody knew the procedures to follow for injuries during class. They would be having a meeting with all of the coaches as well as an in-service with the teachers to make sure everybody knew the procedures. That evening when my son got home from school he talked about the meeting the coach had with his class on how to handle injuries. Problem solved in less than 12 hours, pretty good turnaround time don't you think. I can't say enough good things about the teachers, principals and staff!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2010

My family and I recently moved back to Texas after being abroad for 10 years and I was enrolled into Cy-Creek High School. I went in with high expectaions and they were, sadly, not met at all. I can't say anything negative about the teachers because I can tell that they were overwhelmed with the obvious over-population of the school and were doing their best. I felt the whole atmosphere of the school was very chaotic and stressful. I speak in the past tense because my parents pulled me out of the school and are going to homeschool me until we can move- because of the high school. I don't want to badmouth the school, but I do want to warn people wanting to send their children to this school. As a freshman, starting late in the year, I still get a little sick thinking about the horrible experience I had.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 2, 2009

The administration and staff really care about the students and want them to succeed. Each student is encouraged to take upper level classes or AP classes if they are prepared for the tougher classes. Those students are expected to apply to college and further their education. If a student is not prepared for the tougher courses, they are encouraged to work at the highest level possible in order to graduate and move on to a career of their choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

My mildly handicapped but gifted student felt very uncomfortable at this school. As a parent I felt like the enemy instead of partner.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2009

Teachers care little to none about you and don't give you a reason to excel. I've gone through 3 highschools and this one is by far the worst.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 14, 2009

I have 3 children- 2 graduated from Cy-Creek and youngest is a junior. I've experienced on-level and k-level classes. I agree, in the K-level classes, the teaching was awesome, yet you must look at the fact, students in K-level classes are there because THEY WANT TO LEARN. On-level classes are a combination of kids who do want to learn, but also the students that just don't care. Because of the latter attitude, it distracts from the entire learning environment. Schools are not allowed to discipline students like they did when I was in school. ( ...and by the way - I AM A CY-CREEK GRADUATE MYSELF!) Todays society has allowed students to get away with not showing respect to their superiors, whether it is a teacher, neighbor or even their own parents. This has crippled teaches ability to control the classroom, therefore limiting the quanity/quality of what is taught.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2008

The academic standards at CCHS, once the flagship Senior High School of the Cypress Fairbanks Independent School District, have deteriorated over time; CCHS used to be a recognized school, but for the past few years it has been classified as 'Academically Acceptable' by the TEA. While it offers many AP and other upper level courses, those in on level courses suffer from teachers who do not care about actually educating students; this problem is exacerbated by the falling socioeconomic status of the student population. I feel that the Cypress Fairbanks Independent School District has gotten too big for its own good. I was privileged to know the principal, Mr. Jim Wells, personally and he even referred to me, several times, as a product of the Cy-Fair School District. For those who must attend CCHS, stay in upper level and AP courses and you should get into a good university.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 10, 2008

My son graduated CyCreek last spring and is working on a Mechanical Engineering degree at University of Texas - Austin. I was overall very happy with the quality of teachers and courses he took during his four years, and he has so far seemed well prepared for his course work at University of Texas. The key seems to be staying mostly in the 'K' and AP level courses as they prepare you better for college but also seem to have more opportunities with the teaching staff. The renovations on-going have made the school a mess, but they really don't have a choice and the school will be better prepared for additional students when it is completed. My daughter current attends the school and overall enjoys it and is being challenged in her classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2008

I am surprised by some of these Excellent ratings. Do a little research and see where this school ranks among Texas or just Houston schools for that matter. If you can see 'history' you will see it's steady decline. I had two children graduate from Cy Creek. One (son) in 2002 and the other in 2005. The school had began to really go down about 2000-2001 by the time my daughter graduated in 2005 the standards were so low, I would have never enrolled her there. I would have been cleaver, as many of my neighbors were and found ways to have their children placed in a different school within the district. Hey, if it means buying a lot in the 'right' area, I think I could have swung it. Cy Creek was once the High School in the Cy Fair District - sadly that is not the case any
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2007

I am a former student of Cypress Creek High School. The academics Cy-Creek offers are second to none if you are taking above-level classes. The few on-level classes I took seemed to be more a babysitting period instead of a learning period, but has more to do with the students than the school itself. The building does need some renovations done, but if I've heard correctly these are already in the works. The teaching staff does vary depending on the department. Some of the teachers I had were outstanding while others seemed to know less about the subject than the students did. All in all, I'd say the school is definitely one of the better schools in the area
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 13, 2006

What an Awesome School! Cypress Creek was a wonderful, challenging experience for our daughter!Under the guidance of Mrs. Winn and her Great Guidance staff, She was able to leave with enough AP credits to be classified as a Sophomore @ OU. Mr. Wells is a dedicated Principal and it shows in his popularity with the students! (Diamond Jim) can be found with his students a great part of his day!(How Cool Is That?)He is always willing to listen to parents suggestions and complaints! My best advice is don't show up at any school only when there is a problem, Make yourself useful, helpful and known as a supporter of your child's education!My biggest regret is that we had to move out of state, and my next child won't be able to Graduate from the Best High school in Texas! Can't Hide that Cougar Pride!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 12, 2006

Huge Student Body. Great academics if student is in excellerated program. On level suffers as it is the catch-all for everyone else. Discipline is an issue in these classes. Teachers very capable and doing the best they can with what they are given. School graduates some fantastic kids and is probaly the strongest in the district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2005

Cchs offers great opportunities for students. They consistently produce top notch graduates that are ready for college enrollment. My son's ap classes allowed him to 'place out' of 15 hours of college work. He received a vocal music scholarship thanks to miss paul and the great choral program!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2005

The school really seems to care about its students. I've heard that there are very good teachers who go above and beyond and that there are teachers who seem like they hate their job. I also believe the school takes proper measures to ensure safety.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2004

Cypress Creek, in simplest terms, is the best school. We consistenly outperform and outshine othe high schools and students love their school! Mr. Wells is a great principal who really cares about the students and he and the rest of the adminstrative staff help make Cy-Creek wonderful! The parent volunteers are active and so are the many student organizations.You just can't hide that Cougar Pride!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 1, 2004

im a current student at cypress creek and i really enjoy it. i moved from another country and would have to say i am getting a much better education than where i was living previously. my teachers are nice, and they are not cliquish. i think i have been graded very well and my teachers make me work hard for the grade i deserve. The Theatre Department at this school is really good, as well as the silverado drill team, and the volleyball team. i think this is the best choice of school my parents could've made. im currently a sophomore and im very excited about my 2 years ahead. Mr. Wells is the best principal.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 25, 2004

As a former student, I would say Cy-Creek is your typical public high school, assuming your typical public high school is filled with snobby rich kids who drive brand new luxury cars and expensive classic cars. If your kid is a stuck-up preppie, athlete or an eating-disorder-having drill team member or cheerleader, they would do just fine. If your kid is an individual and an introvert, send them somewhere else. Some of the teachers were really good, some were really horrible and most were as cliquish as the students. As far as preparing a student for college, that's up to the student themselves and not this or any other school. I got into the university I wanted to just fine and I'm not an overachiever. For the record, I never saw a roach or rat my entire four years there but my four years were pure misery.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

878 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2011.

865 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

766 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2011.

754 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2011.

749 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
84%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 93% in 2011.

747 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 95% in 2013.

723 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

723 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 95% in 2013.

722 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 98% in 2013.

726 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students98%
Female100%
Male97%
Black or African American96%
Asian100%
Hispanic99%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged97%
Special education84%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Math

All Students93%
Female92%
Male93%
Black or African American88%
Asian99%
Hispanic90%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Special education73%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students96%
Female97%
Male96%
Black or African American91%
Asian99%
Hispanic96%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Special education60%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Social Studies

All Students99%
Female99%
Male98%
Black or African American96%
Asian100%
Hispanic99%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged98%
Special education80%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Recognized".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

569 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
81%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

264 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
83%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

832 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
93%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

633 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
65%
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

858 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
78%
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

895 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
62%
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

715 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

710 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

181 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

673 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
100%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
82%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

848 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
88%
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

707 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students77%
Female78%
Male77%
Black or African American68%
Asian92%
Hispanic78%
Multiracial92%
American Indian or Alaska Native50%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Special education47%
Not special education79%
Limited English proficient (LEP)62%
Proficient in English77%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant77%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted77%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Students99%
Female99%
Male99%
Black or African American93%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special educationn/a
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted99%
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Students91%
Female92%
Male89%
Black or African American84%
Asian98%
Hispanic89%
Multiracial95%
American Indian or Alaska Native86%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education82%
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)63%
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant91%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted90%
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Students91%
Female92%
Male90%
Black or African American80%
Asian98%
Hispanic85%
Multiracial88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education71%
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)50%
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant91%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted90%
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Students75%
Female80%
Male70%
Black or African American54%
Asian92%
Hispanic73%
Multiracial86%
American Indian or Alaska Native29%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Special education28%
Not special education77%
Limited English proficient (LEP)31%
Proficient in English76%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant75%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted74%
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Students53%
Female60%
Male47%
Black or African American33%
Asian78%
Hispanic44%
Multiracial83%
American Indian or Alaska Native14%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Special education18%
Not special education55%
Limited English proficient (LEP)8%
Proficient in English54%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant53%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted51%
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Students89%
Female90%
Male87%
Black or African American76%
Asian97%
Hispanic83%
Multiracial95%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special education63%
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)47%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant89%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted88%
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Students55%
Female63%
Male47%
Black or African American34%
Asian79%
Hispanic46%
Multiracial65%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Special education21%
Not special education56%
Limited English proficient (LEP)6%
Proficient in English56%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant55%
Gifted/talented98%
Not Gifted52%
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Students38%
Female36%
Male41%
Black or African American23%
Asian67%
Hispanic31%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White51%
Economically disadvantaged25%
Not economically disadvantaged48%
Special educationn/a
Not special education38%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English38%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant38%
Gifted/talented80%
Not Gifted34%

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Students90%
Female93%
Male87%
Black or African American78%
Asian100%
Hispanic89%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special education77%
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)63%
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant90%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted90%
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Students66%
Female53%
Male80%
Black or African American38%
Asiann/a
Hispanic62%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special educationn/a
Not special education66%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English65%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant66%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted65%

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Students85%
Female83%
Male87%
Black or African American70%
Asian100%
Hispanic80%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Native88%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special education66%
Not special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)42%
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant85%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted84%
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Students79%
Female78%
Male80%
Black or African American59%
Asian94%
Hispanic70%
Multiracial94%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Special education50%
Not special education80%
Limited English proficient (LEP)31%
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant79%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted78%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 35% 29%
Hispanic 31% 52%
Black 22% 13%
Asian or Pacific Islander 9% 4%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 3%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 6%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • SANDY TRUJILLO
Fax number
  • (281) 807-8925

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Gym
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9815 Grant Road
Houston, TX 77070
Website: Click here
Phone: (281) 897-4200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



The Banff School
Houston, TX





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT