Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
34 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 56 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Jersey Village High School
Grateful to: Parent

Posted April 16, 2016
- a community member
JVHS parents are highly involved and motivate their students to do their best. When notified of activities parents are there.

Jersey Village High School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted April 16, 2016
- a community member
Typicially, my child receive homework for chemistry and mathematics, not the other subjects. It would be beneficial to provide homework in all subjects at least twice per 6 weeks.


Jersey Village High School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted April 16, 2016
- a community member
I feel that the students motivation is encouraged more so by their parents and not by staff. JVHS does not encourage extra curricular programs and is cliquish amongst their student body.

Jersey Village High School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted April 16, 2016
- a community member
Staff, teachers and administrators, are not highly involved with students. When a students performance decreases they do not meet with students to discuss the issue to prevent failing.

Jersey Village High School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted April 16, 2016
- a community member
The staff is disconnected from their students and parents. They provide the bare minimum for their students.


Jersey Village High School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted April 16, 2016
- a community member
Not fair in the sense that the teachers are not providing these group of students with preparing for college and careers.

Jersey Village High School 3

Posted April 16, 2016
- a community member
JVHS is seemly "good" in the sense if safety and class sizes. However, I am not impressed with the school's staff and adminstration team. If it was not for the parents of JVHS students the staff would have a problem because they are complacent and disconnected from their students. The staff lack communication with students and their parents. The environment is gloomy and lack s energy; teachers are negative and complain about the school to justify their short comings and lack of communication with parents. If is was not my child's sophomore I would consider relocating.

Jersey Village High School 3

Posted February 08, 2016
- a parent
Staff needs to communicate more with parents when K level students are struggling. My k level student started struggling in her english class and i was not informed of this until they school moved to the lower level. That's a ridiculous way of monitoring students. Teachers are paid to do just that and failed my daughter, a college bound student, in this matter. Students and parents are extremely clicky and judgemental. It's sad that adults act the way they do.


Jersey Village High School 5

Posted January 07, 2016
- a community member
My son is a freshman , and in k level classes. The school faculty has been great so far, and I know that I can reach out to a teacher and get a quick response to any questions I might have. Block schedule has worked well, and I feel gives the students and teachers the extra time they need to focus on the subject. Overall very happy, and off to a great start!

Jersey Village High School 5

Posted January 07, 2016
- a community member
My son recently graduated and my daughter is a senior. JV offers so many academic programs to prepare my children for college. In fact, the college counselor is wonderful. There are many workshops for parents and students to begin the college preparation.

Nearby schools

Jersey Village High School
7600 Solomon Street, Houston, TX  77040
(713) 896-3400
Last modified Jersey Village High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top