Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


22 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hancock Elementary School 1

Posted May 30, 2014
- a parent
My daughter has spent this year in the 5th grade, and we have had an horrible experience. Long term assignments are given to the students, with no parent notification until a few days before the assignment is due! Grades miraculously appear because assignments hardly ever make it home. The only time you really have a clue as to your child's grades is progress report or report card, and by that time it is to late. The few activities they do offer at the school through out the year, we hardly attended due to the fact that the notifications would come home after the event. Administration always seem to busy to discuss anything with you at all, and are always in a hurry to do what appears to be nothing. DO NOT SEND YOUR STUDENT HERE unless you have time to be at the school everyday, playing private "I" in Mission Impossible.

Hancock Elementary School 1

Posted May 24, 2014
- a parent
My son is a 3rd grader at Hancock Elem. This year has been terrible! There is a huge problem with bullying in this school. My son has been bullied in the classroom, recess, bathroom, and even on the bus. The Asst. Principal says she addresses the issues, but then less than a week later another bullying issue occurs. The bus staff doesn't care at all. The administration and teachers are not doing a good job of supervising and giving consequences to the bullies. As far as academics the 2nd and 3rd grade teachers are not doing a good job. My son was getting D's and still not put into tutorials. I had to push to get him in. So far the only teacher that has been great was my sons 1st grade teacher. I'm very unhappy with this school. I have a high schooler that use to attend here and it was not so great then...now it's going down fast! Parent involvement is very low at this school too. It's bad all around!


Hancock Elementary School 1

Posted October 28, 2013
- a parent
This school is horrible! Communication is NOT a specialty for this school!! Coming from a whole new state and school, my children and I were completely lost. I tried to talk to the principal about my concern and she pushed me along and told me to contact her staff for assistance. My children both have been lost and confused in their assignments and what is expected of them. They used to be on honor roll. I have emailed, called, gone to the school and exhausted my limits with this school, I am even in the PTO and it doesn't even make a difference. They only care about making money not about the children or making things easy for the children. DISGUSTING!!! I don't know how their test scores are so good when the way they communicate and teach are so bad. Wish I never moved into this district!

Hancock Elementary School 4

Posted November 05, 2011
- a parent
This is the second year my children have attended Hancock. They teachers are very attentive and concern. My children are currently learning sign language, and Hancock currently has deaf student and have translaters in class, so it is really pushing them to dive into the new language they are being taught at home. Overall good school and hope that they can finish at Hancock!

Hancock Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 22, 2010
- a parent
Friendly and great teaching staff.


Hancock Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
Both of my children went to Hancock and were very happy there

Hancock Elementary School 5

Posted October 12, 2010
- a parent
5 children have either attended or are attending great experience

Hancock Elementary School 5

Posted February 19, 2010
- a parent
I have been very pleased with this school. My son is special needs and he was in the PPCD program, K, and most of 1st grade. I have loved all the teachers and they have all made a huge effort to support his extra needs and provide him with support. I have no complaints with this school except that it is a little crowded. They need to add on to this school in my opinion.


Hancock Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 07, 2009
- a parent
The administration at this school is absent! we have a new principal as of March last year and I have never met her. She does not attend parent nights or open houses. I am starting to think she is fictitious!

Hancock Elementary School 5

Posted August 18, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hancock Elementary School
13801 Schroeder Road, Houston, TX  77070
(281) 897-4523
Last modified Hancock Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hancock Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top