Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Reed Elementary School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted January 15, 2016
- a parent
honestly can not answer this question., I do not have enough information to provide a rating.

Reed Elementary School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted January 15, 2016
- a parent
I honestly can not answer this question., I do not have enough information to provide a rating.


Reed Elementary School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted January 15, 2016
- a parent
I honestly can not answer this question. I believe yes, not do not have enough info.

Reed Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted January 15, 2016
- a parent
Most of the teachers are nice and really care. I appreciate all that they do, I wish they had help, either with teacher aid or less students.

Reed Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted January 15, 2016
- a parent
With the high student teacher ration this school has, I don't beleive that the teachers can be effective with ALL the children they have, some have to suffer with less attention. I have hired additional help for my children to fill any gaps I identify they need help with.


Reed Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted January 15, 2016
- a parent
I understand the need to give a lot of homework, it helps our children practice and develop stronger academic skills.

Reed Elementary School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted January 15, 2016
- a parent
I honestly can not answer this question due to lack of knowledge, I would hope they do.

Reed Elementary School 2

Posted January 15, 2016
- a parent
This our first year in this school district, and I must say I am highly disappointed with Reed Elemetary. Other than the ladies in the front office and a few of the teachers, this school is unpleasant, unwelcoming and the people in charge, never smile. They come across as arrogant, overbearing, and act as subhumans. The principal does not return calls, some teachers don't respond to emails, and they lack communication, with parents. The student/teacher ratio is high, they have 1000k students. I regret moving my family to this school. Will have to make decisions to change schools even if I have to move or pay for a private school. Very disappointed that I moved my family for what I thought was going to be better for them. All previous reviews are old, perhaps things were different 9 years ago, but this school year 2015-2016, my personal experience is the opposite of what was written back then.


Reed Elementary School 5

Posted February 01, 2007
- a parent
I have a daughter that started at Reed mid year in Kindergarten, we came from HISD. She is now in 5th grade (her last year at Reed). This school has been great. At this school a regular class does what a Vanguard (advanced) Class would do in HISD. You get a real sense that they care for your child and are genuinely interested in your child's education. Not one day did I drop my daughter off at school and worry about her or her safety. In the beginning of each school year, goals are set forth for the child, the parent, the class and for the school as a whole. During the year they never stray from their goals. I would recommend this school to anyone who wants the best for their child's education.

Reed Elementary School 5

Posted April 13, 2006
- a teacher
Reed provides a warm and friendly environment. It is truly a child-centered school and a great place to work.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Reed Elementary School
8700 Tami Renee Lane, Houston, TX  77040
(713) 896-5035
Last modified Reed Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Reed Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top