Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 29 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


30 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Nimitz High School 2

Posted March 17, 2014
- a community member
The school needs to stop with the ridiculous collar shirt dress code; it's not a private school! It's a PUBLIC SCHOOL. The collar shirt dress code, does not put a stop to inappropriate attires of some girls. I see short dresses, crop tops, low cut tees on girls! WITHOUT COLLARS, but they still go a whole day without being put in "SAC". But honestly the whole dress code thing does not help improve grades, so why in force it to the school. Also, the staff who are "in charge" (I put quotation marks, because like I said I see many out of dress code students) need to be more focus on the outside of the school, during working school hours, because many students skip and go to LoneStar or outside in the forest; by the staff keeping the students in class instead of skipping to the outside, grades will most likeky improve.

Nimitz High School 4

Posted January 14, 2014
- a teacher
The school offers a lot of dual credit and there is a diverse campus of great teachers who work diligently, creatively, and compassionately at what they do. Students that take advantage of what is offered will go far in college and their career choices.


Nimitz High School 5

Posted July 20, 2013
- a community member
I recently graduated from Nimitz High School as part of the Class of 2013. As a former student I have to say that the school shouldn't be blamed for its bad reputation. Though many parents might not want to here it, the fault lies with them and their out of control children. I was at the top of my class and had many of the faculty members help me through high school. I actually tried to do well and as a result, I start college at UT Austin in the fall. I can honestly say that without the encouragement from the teachers and counselors at Nimitz High School, I never would've made it through school.

Nimitz High School 2

Posted December 31, 2012
- a teacher
Nimitz HS has some good athletes and some good students with accredited teachers who are really working hard to do their jobs. Often, however, with the high special ed population and/or support facilitated there is a lot of paper work. The jaded students that work to help their family and the esl students who don't speak english well, cannot often add much to the classroom. Alot of students are transit and move from school to school or decide to start working. The teachers have the heart, but the students of this generation (the spoiled ones) are missing the discipline to succeed due to their values being in the wrong place. And as a teacher who does metal-detector duty, calls out dress-code every day (id badges too), and reprimands for foul language...I can be jaded especially when I set up labs that students don't have the respect to try and do. SO, if you are a good student...please pray for our school...just don't attend if you don't have to.

Nimitz High School 1

Posted November 19, 2012
- a student
Nimitz is HORRIBLE! Every day after breakfast there is trash everywhere. The teachers are horrible and hardly ever teach. The students dress like prostitutes and the administration say absolutely nothing at all. They don t care what you do especially if your parents come up to the school and get ghetto. There is a fight almost every day and it is just atrocious! I live in the Woodcreek neighborhood next to the school and from that you would think the school would be a nice school seeing as how the neighborhood is so nice and quiet a good suburban area then you go to the school and realize that it is the exact opposite. They have over 100 buses at the school because they bring students from all over and dump them at one school. I ve been told that Nimitz was amazing at one time until 2009 when it went downhill and unfortunately I am a part of that horrible class of 2013. A word of advice: DO NOT send your children there. Do not even take a second look at Aldine ISD because it will turn your sweet children into MONSTERS! It s sad but true. Find a new school, because the administration is just as bad if not worse than the students. I put one star but it should be none.


Nimitz High School 5

Posted August 13, 2012
- a student
As its been stated before Nimitz is a school with a vast majority of students whom don't care about recieving an education. The teachers give you the basic knowledge you need to perform outstanding on Benchmark Exams. My suggestion is if you want to feel like your attending a good school try some AP courses which will change your outlook on things.

Nimitz High School 1

Posted September 02, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nimitz High School 4

Posted June 08, 2009
- a community member
Compared to all the other schools in the district, its alot better! Education starts with the individual and if more students 'Wanted' to learn the school would probably be a 5 but that would be with any school!


Nimitz High School 1

Posted March 06, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nimitz High School 1

Posted January 27, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Nimitz High School
2005 West W Thorne Drive, Houston, TX  77073
(281) 443-7480
Last modified Nimitz High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Nimitz High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top