Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
5 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Harmony School Of Advancement - Hi
Develops respect: Agree

Posted February 05, 2016
- a parent
I believe that all students should have a voice at the school, and that all students should have the ability to participate for decision making. This school does a lot we expect more.

Harmony School Of Advancement - Hi
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted February 05, 2016
- a parent
I absolutely agree that this school prepares students for college in a safe and caring atmosphere.


Harmony School Of Advancement - Hi
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted February 05, 2016
- a parent
I think it is not fair to say “terrible or Stay away if you can...”Because, this is a school choice issue - this is an open enrolled charter school. We came from a district and had a lot of concerns: bullying, poor education, lock of organization and communication… We were lucky this year and my 9th grade got in to Harmony. I found that this is an outstanding school with very high teaching standards and we absolutely loved it. Just keep in mind, there is no perfect school. You see some are good at academics but not sports, good at discipline but poor with education etc. You just need to find one that is best for your child, and in our case Harmony was the best option so far. Click on the link and see some details about this school - if you have time: https://k12.niche.com/rankings/public-high-schools/best-charter/m/houston-metro-area/ https://k12.niche.com/harmony-school-of-advancement---high-school-houston-tx/

Harmony School Of Advancement - Hi 5

Posted February 05, 2016
- a parent
I think it is not fair to say “terrible or Stay away if you can...”Because, this is a school choice issue - this is an open enrolled charter school. We came from a district and had a lot of concerns: bullying, poor education, lock of organization and communication… We were lucky this year and my 9th grade got in to Harmony. I found that this is an outstanding school with very high teaching standards and we absolutely loved it. Just keep in mind, there is no perfect school. You see some are good at academics but not sports, good at discipline but poor with education etc. You just need to find one that is best for your child, and in our case Harmony was the best option so far. Click on the link and see some details about this school - if you have time: https://k12.niche.com/rankings/public-high-schools/best-charter/m/houston-metro-area/ https://k12.niche.com/harmony-school-of-advancement---high-school-houston-tx/

Harmony School Of Advancement - Hi
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted February 05, 2016
- a parent
I want to thank Ms. L.. for everything she does for my child. She is one of the best teacher in this school.


Harmony School Of Advancement - Hi
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted February 05, 2016
- a parent
The teachers are very helpful and supportive, they stay for after-school programs and come on Saturdays for help.

Harmony School Of Advancement - Hi
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted January 27, 2016
- a parent
The students do not respect the teachers so how would respect anyone else. They can't get through the whole period without any issues

Harmony School Of Advancement - Hi
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted January 27, 2016
- a parent
They cannot instill those things in the students because the teachers cannot control the students. It's extremely disappointing that the classrooms are always out of control.


Harmony School Of Advancement - Hi 1

Posted January 27, 2016
- a parent
This school is terrible!!!! If you value your child's education please run the other way!!! They have a high turnover rate in teachers....my daughters language arts teacher changed about three times during the school year. There is no classroom structure, the teachers cannot handle the students. They just collect money from the state so they have to make sure they keep the classrooms to capacity. So happy we are back in public school in a great school district. Stay away if you can!!!

Harmony School Of Advancement - Hi 5

Posted September 06, 2014
- a community member
A student attends to a charter (school of choice) school for 4 years and accuses the administration and school. It is like I hate fast food but I always go to McDonald's. Our mission is to have safe, collaborative environment emphasizing Science, Technology, Engineering and Math for your higher education needs. A school which has 100% graduation rate in contrast to 70% in State of Texas. A school which has around 60% STEM major graduates in contrast to 10% in State. The college admission officers shouldn't know Harmony because it is called favoritism. They must create diversity in their campus not Harmony Schools' Graduates at UT-Texas, TAMU, UH or etc. While our alumni have pride attending these colleges, you are measured by what you have achieved rather than where you are now.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Harmony School Of Advancement - Hi
3171 North Sam Houston Parkway West, Houston, TX  77038
(281) 741-8899
Last modified Harmony School Of Advancement - Hi is a Charter school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Harmony School Of Advancement - Hi Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top