Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Houston, TX
Students enrolled: 3,973
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Elsik High School 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
I am the parent of junior @ Elsik. I am really pleased w/ the school. My child has been very successful attending this school. I also really appreciate the involvement in the community.

Elsik High School 5

Posted August 13, 2012
- a student
I went to Elsik High School just one and half year...My teachers, counselor, bus drivers, also others workers are so nice...My teachers were helping me a lot...Students were coming from many countries in the world...We came to this school learned together and share many things about our countries...That's a great!!!


Elsik High School 5

Posted November 25, 2011
- a parent
My daughter went to Elsik and she improved in all her classes if it wasnt for that school she would of failed im glad she went to that school.Her teachers reallu helped her.

Elsik High School 2

Posted June 07, 2011
- a student
I went to Elsik for three years. The school was so bad, I dropped out and got myself home-schooled. The majority of the teachers have no clue what they're doing, and one of the few exceptional teachers was fired for not teaching the way the administration wanted him to, despite the fact that his way of teaching was more effective. I took all AP classes, and even then the teachers spent most of their time reprimanding students than actually teaching (which isn't the teachers fault). It's chaotic between classes with constant riots in the hall, and not one teacher, AP, or hall monitor was able to stop it (not that they even tried). If you want your child to feel safe, get a good education, and actually make friends instead of being alienated for their race, this is not a good school. The test scores are horrible and the graduation rate is even worse.

Elsik High School 1

Posted March 05, 2011
- a community member
One of my friends who goes to this school got pregnet and no one did nothing about it which i understand but they just said "oh we're so sorry for this" but we are not going to do anything.


Elsik High School 5

Posted October 16, 2010
- a student
graduated from elsik high school in 2008 and i think it has great stuff that always tries to help and support your needs. i was very pleased with the teachers i had and i love that the school has 50% hispanics

Elsik High School 1

Posted July 29, 2010
- a student
I have gone to Elsik High School for one year and the year that i have gone the teachers there have no idea what they are talking about. the school hired a non speaking english math teacher for the class. the students there are always in seperate cliques, and the diversity is not all brought together... Elsik high school is a place of chaos..and they are very disorganized in helping their students and teachers to graduate.

Elsik High School 5

Posted November 03, 2009
- a student
This school may be strict but provides a good learning environment for the students. The teachers are very encouraging and all have their own unique way of teaching. This school is perfect for college prepatry.


Elsik High School 5

Posted June 01, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Elsik High School 4

Posted May 27, 2009
- a parent
My daughter attends Elsik 9th Grade Center, the separate campus for Freshmen. It has separate 'Communities', each having its own assistant principals (APs) and counselors. My daughter's AP, counselor and teachers are phenomenal to work with and work for her best interest. My daughter is a teen mother, but all have been more than supportive in helping me keep her re-focused and back on track. She s still on the honor roll, at the top percentile of her class and already has set goals for college. Their support of her education & future has reinforced that this challenge was not the end for her, but a greater reason to push forward. I am eternally grateful. This was difficult, but I know I'm not alone. Work with your school and they can work with you Elsik worked with us. Elsik is a Great School.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Elsik High School
12601 High Star Drive, Houston, TX  77072
(281) 498-8110
Last modified Elsik High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Elsik High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top