Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Chambers Elementary School

Public | PK-4 | 659 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 25, 2013

I pulled my daughter out of a supposedly exclusive private school to place her in chambers, within 2 months she was reading!!! I found it funny that most of the parent complaints about education on this thread lacked proper English and spelling. As parents we are responsible to assist the teacher through homework completion and daily reading with our children to promote advancements in their education. It's should not all be on the teacher!! :) I did my research before placing my daughter in chambers. Their test scores are some of the highest in the district. I am very pleased with the education my daughter is receiving. As stated by another parent I to have pushed back plans on moving out of the area so my daughter can stay at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2012

Parents comments are not to against each other. we comments to make the school gets better. No offending any parents. In general if you see more complains less compliment you better watch out, or opposed. We are parents we want the school doing good job because there are tax payers whose expecting good school for their children. We have the right to point out the weakness point to make it better. I agreed to leave 1 (One) Star. I am about to transfer my kid to another school. Due to our moved last year, my kid have to registed for this school, the system here is fails in may points. 1/ Kids speaking nasty language with F workd in second grade. stolen. Teacher do not know how to control them, took things from one give to another just because he/ she said it was his/her. When we straight it out there are teacher who applogized me at the front office. that kept happen again in class. I asked my kid why don't you tell your teacher? she said:" teacher told us not to complain, becdause "I don't want to hear it" (???) Big kid stepped on my kid's hand... second grade kids talk about lovers, kisses, boyfriends, etc... (2nd grade) (???) These needed to be corrected.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2010

I had the pleasure of student teaching at this school. While I disagreed with certain aspects in the way the school was run, I learned so much from the highly qualified teachers and staff of Chambers Elementary. The methods that these teachers use is definitely considered 'best practice' and the variety in lessons, activities, and projects was unmatched by any of the other 4 elementary schools I have observed in or worked for. The school has so many educational resources for the students and better yet, they put these resources to good use! I cannot speak for all teachers in all grade levels but there were several teachers that I worked with in Chambers that I would be happy to have as my own child's teacher.


Posted November 10, 2008

My daughter has been going to chambers since pre-k she is currently in 2nd grade. I feel that the school- district is not concerned with teaching the kids, they are only concerned about the taks test.Simple spelling and phonics is not in taught.I think they are setting our children up to fail by overlooking the basics and placing so much emphasis on the taks test.I am utterly disgusted and i am trying so hard to do the best for my child's future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

I my doughters went to this school and it was miserable for them especially this last year that pass, the teachers are not responsible or friendly, I use to like it when the old teacher and old principal was there, the education was at a better rate. Thank goodness that I transfer my daughters out


Posted November 6, 2007

Those parents who don't like this school are those who have their own issues. This school is consistent and has high expectations. I have not moved from this neighborhood because I want my child to finsh 4th grade here. Yes they may have young teachers, but they are well prepared.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2007

I am very glad that my child is out of Chambers. The principal and the counsler are not parent friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2007

I am very disappointed with the quality of education and the knowledge of the teachers here. Most of the teachers are very young and don't dedicate thier time to thier students like they should. This place is run like a boot camp, too. My daughter and I hate this school. I can't wait till next year so I can pull her out of this place!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2007

I am very pleased with Chambers. My little boy couldn't read when he first started there. Now, thanks to Ms. Hogan he is reading on grade level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2006

In my opinion, Chambers Elementary is the best elementary school in Alief ISD. It is very parent friendly. The staff that I have had exposure to are excellent, especially Mr. Mark Spilman. They are concerning with educating the whole student. The academic programs, extracurricular activities and parent involvement are on point.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

63 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

62 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

92 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

92 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
83%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

90 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students97%
Female93%
Male100%
Black or African American94%
Asiann/a
Hispanic98%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged97%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)97%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students94%
Female93%
Male94%
Black or African American89%
Asiann/a
Hispanic95%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)97%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students87%
Female95%
Male80%
Black or African American88%
Asian100%
Hispanic85%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education87%
Limited English proficient (LEP)85%
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students89%
Female93%
Male86%
Black or African American75%
Asian100%
Hispanic93%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)93%
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students87%
Female88%
Male85%
Black or African American78%
Asian100%
Hispanic88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)88%
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
72%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
66%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
47%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students56%
Female56%
Male56%
Black or African American56%
Asian50%
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Special educationn/a
Not special education56%
Limited English proficient (LEP)53%
Proficient in English60%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant56%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted52%
Bilingual58%

Math

All Students76%
Female73%
Male79%
Black or African American56%
Asian100%
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special educationn/a
Not special education76%
Limited English proficient (LEP)88%
Proficient in English74%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant76%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted74%
Bilingual87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students44%
Female42%
Male47%
Black or African American41%
Asian50%
Hispanic45%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Special educationn/a
Not special education44%
Limited English proficient (LEP)42%
Proficient in English45%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant44%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted41%
Bilingual42%

Math

All Students72%
Female70%
Male74%
Black or African American56%
Asian67%
Hispanic79%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Special educationn/a
Not special education73%
Limited English proficient (LEP)73%
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant72%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted71%
Bilingual77%

Writing

All Students35%
Female40%
Male29%
Black or African American42%
Asian29%
Hispanic34%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged57%
Special educationn/a
Not special education35%
Limited English proficient (LEP)27%
Proficient in English36%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant35%
Gifted/talented83%
Non-Gifted32%
Bilingual26%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Recognized".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 74% 50%
Black 20% 13%
Asian 4% 3%
White 1% 31%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms Jannae Jernberg
Fax number
  • (281) 983-8493

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10700 Carvel
Houston, TX 77072
Website: Click here
Phone: (281) 983-8313

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT