Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Houston, TX
Students enrolled: 1,004
Before care: No
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Youens Elementary School 3

Posted October 23, 2013
- a parent
If only there could be more diversity. This whole area has turn into one ethnic group. I am no where near caring about things as little as skin color, but every child and every place needs different cultures. Not just one. Not the fault of the school. Many neighborhoods end up being all "one type" sooner or later. Youens is clean and they seem to offer different things to get parent's more interested in their child's education.

Youens Elementary School 1

Posted September 27, 2011
- a parent
This school is very crowded and majority are Spanish speaking students, at a quick look you would think you are in a Mexico school. Classroom ratio is of one of the worst in the area. I would not recommend this school.


Youens Elementary School 1

Posted August 07, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Youens Elementary School 4

Posted April 16, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Youens Elementary School 5

Posted May 30, 2008
- a parent
the teachers are very good and my dauther had commanded performance in her TAKS tanks to the teachers: Mr.Felix and Mr.Mellado fourth grade teachers


Youens Elementary School 2

Posted June 13, 2006
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Youens Elementary School 4

Posted April 06, 2005
- a parent
Youens Elementary School is a great school in terms of academics. My children learn progressively very well the basics they will need on the next level. I am very happy with the arts and sports program as well. They are equally important for my children. My wife and I take part in the activities as much as we could.

Youens Elementary School 3

Posted October 23, 2004
- a parent
I have lived in Houston since 1999. I have 4 children in the alief school district. I see that the Mexican population in growing. I had never heard of ESL until coming to houston. I see they are teaching Mexican children to be bi-linqual at an early age. The job market here is requesting a large volume of applicants to be biligual. Why not teach americans (Black/Whites/Asians) to speak spanish in school on the elementary level to better equipt them for Houston (Texas) great demand for the future.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Youens Elementary School
12141 High Star Drive, Houston, TX  77072
(281) 983-8383
Last modified Youens Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Youens Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top