Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 25 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


30 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Kerr High School 5

Posted September 06, 2013
- a student
I graduated from this school in 09 and looking back I say it was one of the best experiences in my life! You don't really realize how much Kerr helps you succeed in life until you look back at it years later. Sure, it seems like a lot of pointless work at the time, but it really helps, especially in the business world. You understand how it's like to work under pressure, to meet deadlines, and how to handle a large work load. I loved how close Kerr was, never in any other school will you be as close to your peers as possible. Also, the independence Kerr gives students is beyond words. After going to college, you really miss those days when you went to class and your teachers didn't lecture you. In college, everyone learns at the same pace, which is really boring. If you absolutely HATE Kerr and think it will not help you later on, trust me it will. I feel Kerr inadvertently helps you out but not in the academic ways, more in the "how to manage your time" way. The biggest help for me was how English class helped us take notes for college. It really comes in handy now. Also, take advantage of the college visits and try not to screw your GPA over.

Kerr High School 1

Posted June 12, 2013
- a student
I very strongly dislike this school. The teachers are careless and give so much work that you have to finish in one day and I can't do it. It doesn't make sense - if that teacher can't do all that work in one day, why should the students be able to, even with other classes' work. This school needs to calm down and need to be less aggressive and calm themselves down. I'm talking about one teacher in particular because loathe with a passion his class so much I feel like running in the middle of the highway and stop.


Kerr High School 1

Posted October 18, 2012
- a student
I hate this school. Its so pointless, the teachers make no sense at all and the principal just stands in the halls and conversate. They overwork you. People who went there and came back to visit and said Kerr is actually harder than college.The school is not diverse at all, its boring, no school spirit, no sports nothing but a LOAD if work. Its best if you don't attend this school.

Kerr High School 4

Posted October 12, 2012
- a student
I am currently at this school, and its a very wonderful place to get yourself to learn on your own; its a lot like college/university, I guess you can say. It prepares you for college and how every homework and assignments will be like. But sadly, the staff, well some of them, don't really teach you as much as they can, but they are really nice and fun. This school is mostly for advance students, but if you can handle this school, that's wonderful. This school takes up all of your time and everything, you'll suffer, but who cares? You'll be living like this in your future life, getting ready is a great way to start here.

Kerr High School 5

Posted March 10, 2012
- a parent
If you looking for good academics and self discipline and positive experience then it is a wonderful school. If you want your child do "not" do any home work or want to play a lot sports (Football or basket ball) or play in matching bands please send them to different schools.


Kerr High School 5

Posted March 08, 2012
- a parent
This is one of the most amazing high school environments that I have ever seen. The students have a lot of freedom but the work is very challenging and there is certainly a lot of it. Kerr doesn't just teach academics, they teach a skill that's much more valuable - personal responsibility. Virtually every graduate goes to college, most with some type of scholarship, and the alumni come back to visit and talk to the kids about their colleges. They start to create a college mindset the day the kids enter the building. This year most of the student work and resources went online so that kids could work from their laptops, cell phones, etc. at home. I just wish that the high school I attended had been this amazing!

Kerr High School 2

Posted January 24, 2012
- a student
I must agree that the environment of Kerr is very nice, but the work that students are required to do there is completely useless. College is not like what they make you do in Kerr. Anyway there is no point in doing this much work in high school because a high school degree is not of much value. A college degree is what is important and college is where you learn the important things. In Kerr you have to learn everything from textbooks and the thing that I disliked very much about Kerr is that you have to carry 4 textbooks to school every single day, since there are 4 periods every day, which are each about 2 hours long. Since not every teacher in Kerr is great and not every teacher is going to give a good seminar, so that means if fatigue catches up and you do not study from the textbooks as best as possible, then you will go through some struggles. Kerr offers no sports because there is no way that a student can participate in sports and complete the amount of work that Kerr requires.

Kerr High School 5

Posted March 28, 2011
- a parent
Kerr is an outstanding college prep school with a unique approach to teaching that truly gets a student ready to succeed in college. The previous two principals and one vice principal were absolutely awesome at treating the students like adults and holding them accountable with logical consequences. The current leadership, not so much.


Kerr High School 0
no rating

Posted March 28, 2010
- a parent
As a parent who has two daughters in Kerr, I. must say this was the best environment for my daughters, compare to the other high school environment. Here students who are academically minded are challenged to be self motivated and hardworking, values that are rapidly disappearing in today's youth. I see my daughters studying actaully working on their studies, without my prodding, making them responsible, Halleluyah !! college hopefully will be a breeze !! keep up the good work Kerr !!! Other high schools should take a lesson and give their students an opportunity to be responsible and accountable. I work in a high school.

Kerr High School 0
no rating

Posted March 16, 2010
- a teacher
horrible system useless work, college is nothing like this. highly unrecommended

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kerr High School
8150 Sugarland Howell Road, Houston, TX  77083
(281) 983-8484
Last modified Kerr High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Kerr High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top