Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sneed Elementary School

Public | PK-4 | 1177 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 27, 2013

This is my first year working with Sneed, and with Alief ISD. I was very impressed that we have specialists in all major subject areas. My last school did not have this so this was a great PLUS to me. All the Administrators and Specialists have been very professional and helpful. Our staff works together and we have had Literacy, Math, Science, and Fitness Night to get our community involved at school. The children always have a BLAST and so does the staff. We are always looking for parent volunteers. I am very lucky to have a parent volunteer from my class. She has been amazing and has help me so much this school year! And as for school safety we take this very seriously. We have cameras in the halls and we have a protective gate that wraps around the school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 11, 2009

My daughter has attended this school for 2yrs now and so far I have had no problems. I think the curriculum is just fine and the teachers my daughter has had have been perfect. The conferences I had with the teachers where ok, (in-person, every parent has a choice, over the phone or in person) they took time to explain my child's progress and promptly return my calls after school when ever I do call. And the staff in all the departments I have contacted so far have been professional and nice both in person and over the phone. I think the school is a good school, academically and environmental wise.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2009

My daughter went to this school last year and I do NOT recommend it. The teachers become less involved with the parents as the year goes on. It took months to get a parent/teacher conference, and it still ended up being over the phone. The progress reports we received were not even written in complete sentences, and these are the people we rely on to teach our children to read and write. There is poor communication between the school and the student's parents. Teachers are quick to judge and yell when it is not an important issue. 'They're only 5 years old, that's what they do. Let it go!' The school is well organized within their workings (without parents involvement) and appears safe for the children though.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2006

Academic programs are good, but they do not have a PTA and parents to not appear to be very welcome in the school. Some teachers are excellent while others do not seem to know what is going on in the school and many are first year 'alternative certification' teachers. The principal is not warm and inviting at all and creates a somewhat 'cold' atmosphere in the school. Discipline can be harsh and negative and teachers often yell and rarely just let things go, making things much harder on themselves. It is orderly and safe, although to the detriment of fun.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 6, 2006

I strongly would not recommend it. They are quick to label your children rather than help them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2005

My son assist to this school by two years, it's a very good school.The quality of academic programs are excellent. There are classes of music,sports and art. Excellent discipline and security.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

112 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

116 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

96 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

99 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

89 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students90%
Female95%
Male85%
Black or African American98%
Asian59%
Hispanic98%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)85%
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students84%
Female88%
Male78%
Black or African American88%
Asian47%
Hispanic92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education84%
Limited English proficient (LEP)80%
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant83%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students84%
Female81%
Male88%
Black or African American96%
Asian82%
Hispanic79%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Special educationn/a
Not special education84%
Limited English proficient (LEP)76%
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant84%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students91%
Female86%
Male96%
Black or African American89%
Asian82%
Hispanic95%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special educationn/a
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)94%
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Writing

All Students91%
Female93%
Male89%
Black or African American92%
Asian82%
Hispanic96%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)90%
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

178 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
66%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

141 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
68%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
60%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

141 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
42%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students71%
Female75%
Male67%
Black or African American88%
Asian42%
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Special educationn/a
Not special education71%
Limited English proficient (LEP)64%
Proficient in English79%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant71%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted70%
Bilingual75%

Math

All Students74%
Female74%
Male73%
Black or African American66%
Asian71%
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Special educationn/a
Not special education74%
Limited English proficient (LEP)79%
Proficient in English77%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant74%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted74%
Bilingual89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students59%
Female67%
Male49%
Black or African American61%
Asian35%
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Special educationn/a
Not special education59%
Limited English proficient (LEP)41%
Proficient in English67%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant59%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted57%
Bilingual46%

Math

All Students67%
Female74%
Male58%
Black or African American39%
Asian90%
Hispanic77%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged55%
Special educationn/a
Not special education67%
Limited English proficient (LEP)78%
Proficient in English67%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant67%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted66%
Bilingual83%

Writing

All Students53%
Female71%
Male32%
Black or African American58%
Asian27%
Hispanic59%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Special educationn/a
Not special education54%
Limited English proficient (LEP)40%
Proficient in English64%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant53%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted51%
Bilingual59%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Recognized".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 58% 50%
Black 22% 13%
Asian 15% 3%
White 5% 31%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms Gwen Sandles
Fax number
  • (713) 260-7307

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9855 Pagewood Ln
Houston, TX 77042
Website: Click here
Phone: (713) 789-6979

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Wesley Academy
Houston, TX





River Oaks Academy
Houston, TX


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT