Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 44 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Grady Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 16, 2016
- a parent
Miss Chu, Ms. Merrill, Mr. Gardner all great teachers who genuinely care. They respect the children themselves and use positive motivation. I can't thank you enough.

Grady Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted April 16, 2016
- a parent
Coaches as teachers? They shuffle around to fit the schools need. Im left wondering about their experience or education level.


Grady Middle School 4

Posted April 16, 2016
- a parent
My child came from Briargrove and this is her 3rd yr at Grady. Her 6th grade yr was great. She was happy and excited about going to school. Towards the end of 7th she wasn't too thrill and now 8th she just can't stand the school. Just like every school you have some teachers who care and others who don't. We have had issues with 2 teachers. She felt she was being bullied by one and just picked on or singled out by the other. She has came home telling me horrible stories of adolescent sex in restrooms and drugs on campus. None of this is communicated to the parents. The principal is tough and stays on top of everything. I must say. When I have had issues I get a response fairly quickly. They also focus on STARR testing. Lots of extra curricular activities. The new campus is great. Kids are no longer in T-buildings. You have your good and bad wherever you might go.

Grady Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
I think most of the teachers are very caring and eager to help our kids. My son is enjoying his first year so far and I know he will do very well. Thank you to all the staff at Grady Middle School.

Grady Middle School 5

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
As a new student in special ed, our son is receiving the similar care and concern he experienced in nine years of private school. The teachers and administration bends over backwards to ensure students get a first-rate education. Grady is a gem of HISD. be more pleased with the care and responsiveness of our the teachers and administration.


Grady Middle School 5

Posted June 08, 2015
- a community member
I am currently a high school student at Memorial High School and after leaving Grady Middle School I felt very prepared. People always say Spring Branch schools are supposed to be more difficult, but I am at the top of my class because of the great foundation Grady provided for me. I loved all of my teachers and I felt like I had a personal relationship with most of them. The teachers really care about the students.

Grady Middle School 5

Posted May 24, 2015
- a community member
I went to Grady Middle School for three years and had some of the best years of my life that I know I will never forget. I always wish that Grady had been a school that went from 6th grade all the way to 12th grade! Grady has so many different activities and fun things that you can do during and after school... Personally I was and still am a theatre kid and the theatre program at Grady is one if the many things that I am thankful to Grady for. Another thing that I could not imagine going to that school with out are the teachers and staff! I had the best time with all of my teachers and coaches and deans! They all are always there for you and I still go and visit them and call them for advice! (My mom and my math teacher are now best friends!) Not to mention that they are in the process and are so close to finishing a whole new school! If Grady is still around when I have a family and kids... That's where you'll see my kids getting the best education I could ever ask for!

Grady Middle School 1

Posted April 13, 2015
- a community member
If you love your children don't go to this school. This school is really bad! One of my teachers lets us watch cartoons and pretend we are working instead of practicing for STAAR test. All the buildings are made of wood and they are really dirty and old. Another teacher doesn't care about you and if you don't understand something he won't explain to you! He also has a really messy classroom! Also a teacher tells us to study something and puts something different in the test!! I have experienced all those conflicts so believe me don't let your child go there!!


Grady Middle School 2

Posted November 14, 2014
- a parent
The student body has quite a bit of kids that are rude, rough and apparently allowed to do whatever it is they please away from school. If you don't mind having your child exposed to all that crude behavior then fine.

Grady Middle School 5

Posted July 02, 2014
- a parent
Grady is a great middle school. It's a relatively small middle school for the Houston area with inspiring teachers who care about their students. I have one child who has attended Grady for the past two years and we are looking forward to one more year. The coaches, teachers and staff take a genuine interest in the students and it has been a pleasure to watch our child excel academically, as well as enjoy all of the extra-curricular activities offered by Grady. This school is truly a jewel in HISD's crown.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Grady Middle School
5215 San Felipe Street, Houston, TX  77056
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 44 reviews. (713) 625-1411
Last modified Grady Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top