Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
41 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 52 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Askew Elementary School 1

Posted May 22, 2016
- a parent
Es la peor escuela que he conocido....horrible...un desorden tanto en la entrada como a la salida de clases....sueltan a los niños como manadas sin control, se han salido niños de pre kinder de la escuela y los han encontrado en las afueras de la escuela Y NADIE HACE NADA....se tapan unos con otros....ESTA ESCUELA ES LO PEOR.....

Askew Elementary School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted May 22, 2016
- a parent
Ya expliqué mi opinion....esta escuela necesita hacer cambios positivos para que los padres se sientan mas seguros


Askew Elementary School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted May 22, 2016
- a parent
Pienso que aunque la escuela no se me hace buena ni segura han de haber maestros que inculquen estoa valores a los niños mas esto se enseña desde casa

Askew Elementary School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted May 22, 2016
- a parent
Desconozco que lo hagan realmente, no me parece buena escuela en terminos generales pero me imagino que habrá alguien que imparta esto en los niños

Askew Elementary School 4

Posted May 13, 2015
- a parent
I would give this school 5 starts if not for the Administrative Staff and the Office Staff. The teachers are awesome!!! The curriculum is very good and we have been very happy. The Office Staff on the other hand are Clueless, Unfriendly and Incompetent. The receptionist really needs a lesson in curtsy. This is the same towards children and parents alike. The nurse is rarely available and if one person is missing the rest of them have no idea how to help you. The School used to have a much better atmosphere. There is not coordination between events. I am disappointed with where the school as a whole is heading.


Askew Elementary School 5

Posted September 08, 2014
- a parent
I am the mother of a kindergartener and really happy to put my daughter in the school.Great teacher,all rounded curriculum and balanced involvement is what I got.I am really lucky to get onto it's vanguard program.

Askew Elementary School 2

Posted July 15, 2014
- a parent
Very Good 'Vanguard' program - however, the non-vanguard program lacks academic rigor. If my child was not in the vanguard magnet I would not send them there. In addition, the lack of leadership, involvement, and an over-all unapproachable principal who allows security and cleanliness to fall below the waist-side speaks volumes.

Askew Elementary School 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
The teacher's are very supportive to the kids. And personally i believe that to groom and prepare a kid for future, the very basic foundation is layed by the teachers. The Askew teachers challenge the kids with every day activities and bring out the potential and make the child aware of his strength and build confidence in him. I would request the teachers to provide their support and impart positive energy to the kids. Thanks from all the parents.


Askew Elementary School 1

Posted December 12, 2013
- a community member
A school plays a very important role in the life of a child..especially a beginner. It is the kind of encouragement or discouragement provided at school, and the support extended by the teacher, that will change the attitude towards life. All that a kid needs is boost his confidence to make him feel that he is capable to do anything and every thing, a good differentiation of what is good and what is bad, develop empathy for his peers. The learning has to start with a good perception towards life. Without all these, does it make sense to be able to read a sentence or book at the age of reading the alphabets or do the big math and read about the globe when the kids is not aware how to help the fellow in trouble.

Askew Elementary School 4

Posted April 06, 2013
- a parent
My daugter goes to Askew Elementary school. She is in Kindergarten. The Vangaurd program is too good. I first applied for T.H. Rogers. Though my kid got 92% she did not make it through the lottery for T.H.Rogers. I do not regret. She learnt a lot from Ms.Johson. Her reading and writing skills improved so much; her math and social skills improved as well. I decided to continue my kid in this school for the coming year as well. They do have extra classes for additional cost like Drama kids, French, Karate etc which is good too. I would highly recommend this vangaurd school because of the highly skilled teachers and good curriculum.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Askew Elementary School
11200 Wood Lodge Drive, Houston, TX  77077
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 52 reviews. (281) 368-2100
Last modified Askew Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top