Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Bell Elementary School 3

Posted January 13, 2016
- a community member
The teachers were pretty nice and caring. It wasn't a bad experience.It was actually pretty fun.

Bell Elementary School 2

Posted September 19, 2015
- a parent
The school have good after school magnet sports but it's very segregated. Only African American kids get picked for gymnastics and the cheer squad. There is no car pool line so to find a place to park at dismissal is a nightmare. Communication is bad between school and parents no newsletter and the website is never up to date. In the morning they open the doors very late, the children arriving by bus have to be outside alone for several minutes without any supervision. At lunch there is someone with a microphone yelling at the students. They have some very good teachers and some very bad. It's a lottery.


Bell Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted September 19, 2015
- a parent
To Ms. Nguyen for being such an amazing teacher. And challenging the children to get better everyday.

Bell Elementary School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted September 19, 2015
- a parent
I think some staff member are very caring and keep the children in high standards. Others not so much.

Bell Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted September 19, 2015
- a parent
It's doesn't because there is no diversity in the magnet sports. The PE teachers tend to take race in account while judging and picking the students for the teams.


Bell Elementary School 1

Posted January 22, 2014
- a parent
do not enroll your kids here. you will not be happy. It was a decent school until the new principal came. Unorganized and the staff are cold and will answer with, "i don't know" most times and you the parent will have to inquire as to who could answer your question. so, imagine how they do the kids if parents are treated this way. No one really smiles to the parents.

Bell Elementary School 1

Posted January 06, 2014
- a parent
This school is horrible! I can not believe I let my son & daughter go here for the short time that they did! The staff is horrible. I've witnessed them pulling and dragging the kids around, they yelled at them, and treated them with total disrespect. Thank goodness my kids were well behaved and had decent teachers or I would have really been worried for them. Its almost like a prison in there. During lunch, the students are monitored in the cafeteria by someone with a microphone who is constantly yelling at them to be quiet and eat. If your kids attend this school, watch out for the man that works in the library. Hes short, bald, and wears glasses. He's the one who I've witnessed dragging children by the arm the most! I have finally moved my children to a FBISD school. The atmosphere is so much more better than Kate Bell!

Bell Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
This is a great school. It meet the State Standardized Tests. Teachers and staffs are good. I would recomend this shool with my friends, and relative.


Bell Elementary School 5

Posted September 16, 2009
- a community member
This is an excelent school that everybody want to come to join.

Bell Elementary School 2

Posted February 29, 2008
- a parent
I use to go to this school when I was younger so I just assumed it would be a good school for my kids, but now I am not so sure. There are no men teachers at the school. It is basically being run by nothing but women. They walk around like they have a chip on their shoulders. I feel like they only care about their paychecks.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bell Elementary School
12323 Shaftsbury Drive, Houston, TX  77031
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. (281) 983-2800
Last modified Bell Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top