Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Crockett Elementary School

Charter | PK-5 | 474 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 4, 2014

My granddaughter attends this school. I'm so impressed with her academics and the fine arts she takes at school. She is becoming a great artist and knows so much science. She is only in first grade, but by her vocabulary she sounds like a fourth grader. I'm impressed with this school. This is the best kept secret in this part of town. Thanks Crockett, keep the good work, our children deserve it! Ps. Summer enrichment camps are priceless, they are doing hands on science for engineering, experiments, math for the real world and of course fine arts! The best, I tell you!


Posted June 3, 2014

My daughter is an outgoing 5th grader and she is terribly sad to leave Crockett. She spent 3 years here and we both love love love the school! I am so proud of the young lady she became and I owe so much to her caring teachers! I cannot wait for my son to begin Pre K coming this fall!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2013

I would like to comment about Crockett Elementary! I think this is a great school! My daughter just loves this school and she loves the teachers, too! She is involved in so many of the arts and thrives in all of them. Her academics are also excellent! I would highly recommend this school! It is proven research that your child that is involved in the arts will also be successful in academics! A great school right in the heart of Houston! You can't ask for a better location! I read the negative comments that have been written and am saddened to hear about their bad experiences. I guarantee those are isolated cases.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2013

This school is terrible, I would not recommend this campus to anyone! They are very unorganized, what I mean by this: the staff and teacher do not EVER know what is going on. You also have the librarian taking care of matters that the principle or assistant principle should be. This school was highly recommended to me, I was very disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2013

This school is terrible. Mainly administration outside of the front office, Ms. Taylor, and Ms. Alvarado. No discipline from the principal, and I can tell by the morale that the staff are poorly treated. No counselor, no consistent help from a special education specialist outside of a Gen. Spec. Ed. teacher, and the classes are crowed. Some classes have like 28 students. How can the teacher be effective. The bigger classes have all kinds of student problems. Poor teachers, they can't teach the students because of all the student behavior. Never mind about phone calls be returned by administration.


Posted May 18, 2012

I am totally disappointed and upset with this school has improved in the field of infrastructure, materials for music, chorus, etc. .. But I want to mention that they do what they want in that school. They sell things without telling the children during the classroom as chips, candy, school supplies, as lapicez to 1 dollar each, nearly $ 3 sharpeners, erasers a3 or 2 dollars every one ... And I'm not making this up,, actually doing this happens .... Also sell used items for children, not knowing .. parents and children spend their tips your parents give in things used .. I'm not agree with that, parents and find out what happens inside ... It's totally a scandal, and talk to the teacher of my son because my son will not go to school and I have no other choice in school change because that is near me ... But the teacher yell all the time until try to stupid children ... I mention this because my son I mention it because there is not any respect and attention to children ... please! where I can complain about all this ..? is something you have to stop, since e talked to the director, and nothing changes ...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2012

Would you recommend this school for my daughter? We are moving back to Houston after 4 years of living in Mexico. We need a school with a good ESL program, please help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2011

Crockett Elementary has provided a quality education for the past three years for my daughter. Not only does she receive excellent academic training, she is also taking violin and dance lessons at no additional cost. The expansion and renovation of the school is remarkable. The environment that the children work and play in now accurately reflects the quality of education that the children receive there. HISD is fortunate to have such a school included in their district. Additionally, any problems or issues that have come up during the past 3 years have been addressed and resovled in a timely manner. Many thanks to the administration, teachers and staff for sustaining an an academic environment where true creativity in every discipline takes place!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2011

I loved going to Crockett! It was super fun, even if it was only for Pre-K and 1st grade. But i still remember my 1st grade teacher, and she had a hamster. I had no idea the principal still worked there, but she was nice and i loved her. I totally recommend this school! The music classes are great! I used to play violin! All i did though was "Mississippi, Stop, Stop" Over and over again, but then another music teacher tried to teach me piano! And i still think Crockett was the best place to be, we had fun field trips. I had a bunch of friends, and i was super sad when we moved! But still, i love Crockett!


Posted January 26, 2011

My son is in the preK program at this school. It has been six months, and I have noticed a marked change in his general mood...he has become more easily frustrated, more aggressive, and he has started acting out in the last couple of weeks. Pooping in his pants, drawing on the carpet at nap, and imitating behaviors of aggressive peers (who make up the majority of his classroom). He does not want to go to school anymore, he says. The communication style used by the adults (outside of his homeroom teacher) is authoritarian in nature--that is, they enforce their rules in a stern, aggressive, manner -without care for the child's feelings or questions about the rules. They also do very little about bullying, teasing, and altercations between students in general. I have been requesting a conference with his teacher for three weeks now, and she always tells me she is too busy...she doesn't have time. I have not experienced their elementary school program, but I would not recommend their engorged PreK program to anyone. If you do not want your child to be shuffled through the day with a militaristic disposition, then do not send your child here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2010

I totally disagree with the person who posted the negative comment regarding crockett and its principal Mrs Troutman. She probably is past due for retirement like you said,but I guarantee you that she & her staff still have a lot to offer to all the students that attend this great school. Age is not a factor when it comes to education. They have the best staff in all of HISD .. !!!!


Posted December 15, 2009

If you are even thinking about enrolling your child at Crockett Elementary School. Dont! The principal is past due for retirement. This place is a nightmare with students running wild and teachers who are acting wild. Very little learning occurs at Crockett and I totally disagree with the previous commenters.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

This school is awesome. My 2 boys have been attending since PK3. First of all I would like to comment the Principal Mrs Troutman for choosing such wonderful skilled teachers. They are not just teachers but true instruments that help plant a seed in each and every student who attend Crockett. Students are not just taught normal day to day class curriculum but also they have Marimba, Piano, Choir, Orchestra, Drawing(art) plus too many more things to mention. I recommend everyone who is an active tax payer to use the tax dollars wisely and seek for their children to get the best education ever. That is Crockett. By the way their is a bilingual program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2007

Crockett School has a rich Science, Math, Art , Orchestra and a Superior Professional Marimba Ensemble.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2007

Crockett teachers are very talented. They foster learning and motivate students to meet high learning goals. All the children get the opportunity to learn the varied musical instruments. Most of the children arrive early and do not want to leave.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

40 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

40 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

64 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

64 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
98%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

65 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 82% in 2011.

46 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

46 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 87% in 2011.

46 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students98%
Female100%
Male96%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic97%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged97%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)94%
Proficient in English100%
Not migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English100%
Not migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students94%
Female93%
Male94%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic95%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special education70%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)94%
Proficient in English93%
Not migrant94%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students92%
Female90%
Male94%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic92%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special education70%
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)94%
Proficient in English90%
Not migrant92%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students91%
Female97%
Male86%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic92%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special education60%
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)91%
Proficient in English90%
Not migrant90%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Not migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Not migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%

Science

All Students98%
Female96%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic98%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged98%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Not migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
56%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
48%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
56%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 73% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
51%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students71%
Female73%
Male69%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Special educationn/a
Not special education72%
Limited English proficient (LEP)79%
Proficient in English70%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant70%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted63%
Bilingual91%

Math

All Students69%
Female70%
Male69%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic68%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Special educationn/a
Not special education71%
Limited English proficient (LEP)79%
Proficient in English68%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant68%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted60%
Bilingual91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students59%
Female68%
Male51%
Black or African American80%
Asiann/a
Hispanic53%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Special educationn/a
Not special education61%
Limited English proficient (LEP)41%
Proficient in English59%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant59%
Gifted/talented92%
Not Gifted52%
Bilingual50%

Math

All Students64%
Female59%
Male68%
Black or African American60%
Asiann/a
Hispanic61%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Special educationn/a
Not special education62%
Limited English proficient (LEP)48%
Proficient in English63%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant63%
Gifted/talented92%
Not Gifted57%
Bilingual55%

Writing

All Students64%
Female78%
Male49%
Black or African American80%
Asiann/a
Hispanic58%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Special educationn/a
Not special education64%
Limited English proficient (LEP)48%
Proficient in English63%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant63%
Gifted/talented92%
Not Gifted57%
Bilingual50%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students72%
Female73%
Male71%
Black or African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanic72%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education29%
Not special education77%
Limited English proficient (LEP)60%
Proficient in English72%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant71%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted63%
Bilingual56%

Math

All Students75%
Female77%
Male74%
Black or African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanic77%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Special education43%
Not special education79%
Limited English proficient (LEP)77%
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant75%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted67%
Bilingual74%

Science

All Students72%
Female64%
Male76%
Black or African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Special education57%
Not special education74%
Limited English proficient (LEP)77%
Proficient in English72%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant72%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted63%
Bilingual78%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Exemplary".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 84% 52%
Black 8% 13%
White 6% 29%
Asian or Pacific Islander 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Two or more races N/A 2%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 37%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 18%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • CLAUDIA CHAVEZ-PINTO
Fax number
  • (713) 802-4783

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2112 Crockett Street
Houston, TX 77007
Website: Click here
Phone: (713) 802-4780

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT