Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Garden Villas Elementary School 5

Posted February 26, 2015
- a community member
I'm a former student of this school, and in my opinion, the school was great. I always had fun, and I had only one teacher who was tough on me. I genuinely love this school. I really hope I can visit soon to see how it's changed in the 6 years since I left the school.

Garden Villas Elementary School 1

Posted August 31, 2014
- a parent
I do not recommend this school to anyone, parents can not go to lunch with the students, when the output traffic is a nightmare, and some of the people working are nothing friendly


Garden Villas Elementary School 5

Posted August 28, 2014
- a parent
My kids have attended Garden Villas for years. We love the new atmosphere,staff and new look at Garden Villas Elem

Garden Villas Elementary School 5

Posted January 11, 2013
- a community member
I attended Garden Villas until 2002, and I would never go anywhere else if I had it to do over again. There are less and less schools that truly care for the students and parents that rely on them- Garden Villas stands above the rest. The music, cheerleading, and dancing programs are excellent, the field trips are great, and the students learn everything they need to become better people in addition to better scholars. I would not be as successful as I am today were it not for this amazing, diverse, loving school.

Garden Villas Elementary School 4

Posted September 21, 2012
- a teacher
I have worked at GV for 17 years. I have my dream job! We have a beautiful neighborhood, renovated school, new principal and dedicated parents. I sure hope our rating improves, we sure are headed in the right direction!


Garden Villas Elementary School 3

Posted July 10, 2012
- a community member
I am 33 and this was my elementary school. I'm sure it has changed, but I wanted to add my 2 cents. I can't remember my violin teacher's name, but he was AWESOME. My 3rd grade teacher completely ruined my love for school, though. I can't remember if it was Mrs. Beaty or Mrs. Hobdy, whichever was teaching 3rd in 1987, but I had straight As until the final grading period of the year. My mom asked to review the work, it showed that I had a high 90 average, but she gave me an 89. She told my mother, with me sitting there, that white kids needed to learn that they couldn't always be the best at everything and it was too late to change it. I hope that woman didn't teach much longer.

Garden Villas Elementary School 5

Posted March 13, 2012
- a parent
Love this school!! This is my daughter's first year in elementary school. The Pre-K teachers are wonderful!! My daughter immediately fell in love with Ms. Lawler and the other staff there. The magnet teacher are also great! Ms Winn does a great job with the school programs! Because of this school, my daughter has been involved with the Houston Grand Opera as well as nearly all of the programs at this school! We are thankful for the instructors and administration for doing an awesome job!

Garden Villas Elementary School 5

Posted May 07, 2010
- a parent
Excellent school, my son has been honor roll all yr.


Garden Villas Elementary School
no rating

Posted February 27, 2008
- a parent
Great school with very patient teachers to help my child excel in all that he do.

Garden Villas Elementary School
no rating

Posted February 23, 2008
- a parent
My daughters attend Garden Villas and I am pleased with the competency of the staff. We have had a positive experience here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Garden Villas Elementary School
7185 Santa Fe Drive, Houston, TX  77061
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. (713) 845-7484
Last modified Garden Villas Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top