Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
34 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 44 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Harvard Elementary School 5

Posted May 04, 2016
- a community member
Harvard is an excellent elementary school with teachers who care about the development of their students and get to know their students, not just focusing on high test scores. IB curriculum is a plus. Since it is a STEM magnet, technology, PE, music, math and science are the auxiliary classes. First rate teachers. Many excellent after school clubs are offered including choir, student council, honor society, track, engineering, robotics, coding, name that book, multimedia and early birds (running) in the mornings. Warm and nice environment for kids of elementary age.

Harvard Elementary School 5

Posted December 20, 2015
- a parent
My daughter is 4 years old. She is in the pre-k pals program. She has been going to this school since she was 3. She is speech delayed. Since she has been here it has been a blessing. The teachers she have are very patient and always looking how to make learning easier for them. I am very happy we are attending this school and grateful for the teachers in the pals program for doing an awesome job.


Harvard Elementary School 3

Posted April 21, 2015
- a parent
Harvard elementary is a good school but it could be better if principal and teachers kept their educator hats on instead of trying to meet the numbers. I have 2 kids going to this school. As another reviewer pointed out, caters to mainstream students - if you are above or below, you will not receive the support you need. No art, music or sports/physical education. No GT instruction. Also agree that teachers do not like to help resolve student conflicts and discipline tends to be administered without objectivity - probably because there are no job accountabilities or guidelines for this.

Harvard Elementary School 3

Posted November 07, 2014
- a parent
Harvard is a very good school for mainstream students who don't need much extra attention. In my experience, children with special abilities or special needs tend to be overlooked and fall through the cracks. In addition, I found the IB program and the Vanguard instruction to be rather underwhelming. The language instruction in particular is a joke. After several years of instruction my child doesn't know the most basic Spanish vocabulary words. If your neighborhood middle school is your school of choice, Harvard will be a perfectly adequate elementary school for you. If you'd like to send your child to Lanier or TH Rogers, you will want to choose ROE or Travis instead. Harvard doesn't really prepare students for the rigors of a Vanguard middle school.

Harvard Elementary School 5

Posted March 31, 2014
- a community member
I'm a fifth grade student and LOVE this school. They have kind teachers who help you with anything needed and have many after school programs that you can attend for fun!! This school is an IB school with students who care and get good grades. If help is ever needed you can talk to the teacher about it and he/ she will handle it. If your child ever deals with bullying the teacher and principal will handle it giving the bully a punishment. The principal here is always on top of his game making sure everything is in order. This school is amazing!!!!! All of the teachers here are highly educated and so are we (the students) we have many projects, but they are always fun and the teachers give you a reasonable amount of time to do them. We don't get too much homework and go over everything in class. Everything is very organized as well. We have a tech lad, a P.E room, a music room, a library,an art room, a math room,and a science room. We are always learning new things and get help if we don't understand. I highly recommend this school for all those parents out there. You won't regret it !!!!!


Harvard Elementary School 5

Posted February 23, 2014
- a parent
Great school-- very caring, wonderful teachers, both grade level and auxiliary. Would recommend to anyone looking for a first rate elementary school.

Harvard Elementary School 5

Posted October 25, 2013
- a parent
Harvard Elementary is a gem of a school! The teachers are all very caring, progressive thinkers, who are encouraged by Mr. Beringer, the schools Principal, to seek out and learn new innovative and technological ways to teach in the classroom and keep the students engaged. A well rounded internationally broad educational experience is foremost at this little school. Thank you for a wonderful experience watching my child grow and learn.

Harvard Elementary School 5

Posted October 25, 2013
- a parent
Mr. Beringer, Harvard Elementary's school Principal, runs a tight ship at this school, which is why it has succeeded in its effort to become an IB World School, with major improvements in test scores over the past five years. Our child enjoys learning and is eager to come to school with children who are just as enthusiastic about learning. I would encourage all parents who work or have worked internationally to give your child an IB World School Harvard Elementary education.


Harvard Elementary School 5

Posted August 10, 2013
- a parent
Harvard is a wonderful IB school with great teachers, friendly staff and an amazing principal! Our daughter had an awesome Kindergarten there.

Harvard Elementary School 5

Posted July 27, 2013
- a parent
Harvard Elementary has been such a great school over the years, that I applied to have my children attend there, and drive eight miles through heavy traffic every morning to get them there on time. As for parents complaining, I would state that most of those parents want teachers and the school to raise their children do to a busy lifestyle. Harvard teaches children to be independent, handle conflict, and be productive citizens. My child was very-well prepared for middle school GT.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Harvard Elementary School
810 Harvard Street, Houston, TX  77007
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 44 reviews. (713) 867-5210
Last modified Harvard Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top