Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

4 stars
Based on 41 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Debakey High School For Health Prof 5

Posted April 04, 2015
- a student
Debakey HSHP is an amazing school in the heart of the Houston Medical Center. It offers a wide variety of unique opportunities for students, and is Houston's No. 1 publis school for this reason. Students shadow doctors, see live surgeries, perform blood and urine sampling, and really get to live the life of a doctor. Obviously, this school is not for everyone; first off, it has an admission test consisting of math and an essay. Also, it is extremely rigorous, and potential students must be willing to give up much of their time for homework and studying. Speaking from experience, at Debakey, homework averages about 5-7 hours each day, not including studying for tests. Overall, if you are interested in medicine, willing to give up free time and put in your best effort, and just be a passionate student, then Debakey HSHP will be able to lend you many opportunities to explore medicine, and explore your own identity, learning and having fun all the way.
2 people found this helpful

Debakey High School For Health Prof 1

Posted February 09, 2015
- a parent
Very unhappy with this school. At orientation the administration paints a fantastic picture, so much of what they tell the parents is not true. i.e.: The assistant principal told us- "our students are good kids, trustworthy, so if for example we see a student on their phone in the hall or at lunch we will not punish them". This statement couldn't be further than the truth. Last year DeBakey collected over 14k in phone fines, highest amount in the district. Personal experience, my child calls me during lunch and phone is confiscated, can't pick it up for days and fine is $15. The administration in this school should change careers from education to the Prison System. Or possibly the military. Students are treated and spoken to with no respect. You would think...students attending DeBakey who study 6-7 hours every night and much more every single weekend just to keep their grades up would be treated decently. At orientation principal and asst. principal inform the parents: Colleges love students from DeBakey. NOT TRUE. Colleges only care about GPA/class rank. I would not recommend this school.
1 person found this helpful


Debakey High School For Health Prof 5

Posted December 04, 2013
- a student
DeBakey High School is Houston's number one high school for a reason. However, it is not for everyone. It is for those willing to give up free-time for homework and studying. The loss of this time is compensated by the great experiences no other high school can offer such as more exposure to the medical field and access to knowledge of medical science. In addition, the students are kind; none or rarely any bullying. Many are willing to help. Also, the preparation makes college easier. The pros outweighs the cons.
2 people found this helpful

Debakey High School For Health Prof 4

Posted August 15, 2013
- a student
DeBakey has very rigorous courses but it's only worth going to if you're able to take many Pre-AP and AP classes. Course selection is very inflexible and the counselors do not care for the students at all. Most of the teachers are very good and want to help you, but some are just awful; however the administration does not care and it is nearly impossible to complain or even change teachers. There are no sports teams and extracurricular activities are hardly existent with the exception of HOSA. You should only consider DeBakey if you're willing to give up other activities and your social life. Despite this, it still leads to many other opportunities, including the hospital rotations and Baylor-UoH program.
1 person found this helpful

Debakey High School For Health Prof 4

Posted June 25, 2013
- a parent
How do I get my child in this school. He is being homeschooled. Does he needs to take a test and where can he take rest. Need help


Debakey High School For Health Prof 1

Posted January 06, 2013
- a student
Debakey prides itself on a lot of meaningless work. The school does not emphasize creativity or individuality, which is a shame as the school contains the brightest minds in the district. The way the administration treats the students is atrocious. You would think these were the most troubled students in the nation. It enforces stupid rules for no reason other than to give students a hard time. Rules are important, no doubt, but the school seems to have no trust for its students. Despite forming a diverse community, the students are very segregated. The big divide comes with AP/Non-AP, and race lines are common and sad. The school has next to no social events for the students, which makes for a limited experience. Some teachers are incredible, and others are extremely questionable. Most don't seem to care for their students but rather for their salaries or their stats. Most play favorites, and several make up grades. The few that do care are harassed by students for being unfair or difficult. Please think twice before sending your child here. Sure, Debakey is a prestigious high school, but it doesn't look nearly as good in reality as it does on paper.
3 people found this helpful

Debakey High School For Health Prof 3

Posted December 16, 2012
- a student
This is my first year at DeBakey. I really don't like it. Most of the teachers dont teach, they expect you to know the book by memory. The staff is extremely rude and treats the student body like jailors. I would only recommend this school for people who are ABSOLUTELY sure about going into the medical field. But the one one good thing is the student body. Everyone is very friendly and sweet. The one thing that gets me through my hell-ish life at this bogus school.
2 people found this helpful

Debakey High School For Health Prof 3

Posted November 22, 2011
- a student
Hi, I am a senior at Debakey. I attended it for all 4 years, so I will offer my insight as to how the school is. Think of Debakey like an Ivy League school. It has a lot of prestige, but it's not the place for the BEST teaching experience or even overall experience. It is important for parents who are committed to the school to do their research. It is not for everyone. Pros>> -Excellent math department- one of the top in the nation. -Some teachers are highly qualified and helpful through not just an academic perspective. -Excellent student body of diverse, motivated, and friendly kids. There are no blatant cliques at the school. -Offers professional preceptorship to renowned hospitals and research institutions to each student. -Will prepare you for college. Cons>> -Not for people who are not interested in medicine. YOU ARE REQUIRED TO TAKE HEALTH CLASSES ALL 4 YEARS. -Almost no sports. Don't plan on being a varsity here. -Teaching is very much by the book. Creativity is not emphasized. -Red tape all over the place and very stringent rules. -Sheer amount of work gives little social development. Everyone is just a number. - Limited course options, and little flexibility.
3 people found this helpful


Debakey High School For Health Prof 3

Posted November 05, 2011
- a student
I went to this school, and I would say its not good nor is it bad. This school focuses students just on health, yes it's a medical school I realize that. The focus on just health makes it so there are no other activites. The arts division is barely there, nothing about technology except one class, and barely other classes such as sociology and anatomy. I'm not sure if anything changed, but if you're locking down a student to focus on one thing instead of letting them explore what other talents you have, there's no difference between going to school or not. When you go to school you go to learn, learning what you are adept at and are more interested in. It's misunderstood by many that you are learning about something you will remember forever, you can but the real point of school isn't to remember what year the Aztecs reached Teotihuacan. Aside from that, the teachers work amazingly hard and to them, hat's off for the great work.

Debakey High School For Health Prof 3

Posted October 10, 2011
- a student
Most of these comments about this school are greatly outdated. The school has changed tremendously..The school still has some of the best students and the work is extremely rigorous, but one thing that I notice is that the school has changed and in my opinion, the cons are outweighing the pros. Some teachers are absolutely amazing and are actually there to help students but other teachers are just teaching for the money. This school not only overprices everything (UNIFORMS!!) but they also WASTE it on pointless things. How about instead of wasting money getting another portrait of debakey and actually doing something to fix up the school? The faculty is strict and does so many unnecessary things! They treat students like DOGS giving them the least respect, they're extremely rude. They will punish you for the most ridiculous things. Debakey is an excellent school in academic perform./offers wonderful oppurtunities but I think they should treat the students with more respect, the ones making the school a top tier/ highly respected school. It's sad that the public only sees the school as a perfect rigorous high school, but they should see how the staff treats the students..
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Debakey High School For Health Prof
3100 Shenandoah Street, Houston, TX  77021
(713) 741-2410
Last modified Debakey High School For Health Prof is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Debakey High School For Health Prof Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 43 reviews. Top