Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Herod Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 828 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 14, 2013

Herod is a wonderful elementary school with dedicated teachers and staff that strive to create a well-rounded, creative child. It is a Vangard 'Gifted" Magnet. It is also the home of a great Dual Language curriculum which serves students from K-5th. We started 2013 with 825 students and interest in the school in increasing all the time. Our student population is very international and diverse, just as the city of Houston is. The children are taught to be respectful of each other and learning and trying our best is the focus for each child. We are fortunate that our principal wisely chose to keep all of our specialist classes. We still have P.E., Library, Music, Art and Mind Masters (a class only taught at Herod). Many schools had to cut programs such as these, but Herod was able to keep them and their wonderful staff. Children in the Vangard curriculum are challenged by the curriculum. From Kindergarten on, children are required to give oral presentations of their projects, which helps them with confidence and public speaking. The school also offers a PTO-run Enrichment program and a school operated Extended Day until 5:30 p.m.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2013

My daughter has attended Herod for 4 years. She is in the Dual Language program. We couldnt be happier. Wonderful teachers, committed administration and a modern facility. When she started she couldnt speak any Spanish. Now she is totally fluent. It's a lot of work and a real commitment on the student, teacher and parents part, but totally worth it. Wish I could give Herod 6 stars. Great work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2013

My son has been at Herod since 1st grade and is now in 5th. He is in the gifted/talented program. We have been very happy with the school, the teachers and staff. His teachers took time to work with him and keep him focused and on task. I'm surprised Herod only has a 6 rating, I would expect it to be an 8 or 9. The academic performance is very good, it has a diverse mix of students and as of this year, all new facilities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2013

As an experienced educator certified to teach PK-8, I feel qualified to really judge the academics of a school. This is a fantastic school whether you are in the neighborhood program or the Vanguard program. There are caring and experienced educators on this campus. Great staff...from the front office to the cafeteria. The academics are rigorous! They are more concerned with teaching the whole child, instead of teaching to the STARR test. The homework can be intense. The grading is a bit hard, since they grade based on what they are teaching. ( which is advanced in some areas ) So, your child may not make high A's across the board. This school is very accepting of being " different" and all cultures are represented. Smart kids are "cool" at this campus! I am pleased to send my child here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2012

My children have attended this school for two years and we are thrilled with it. Caring, dedicated teachers and staff, innovative programs, a full range of specials offerings and a truly inclusive atmosphere are among the things you will find at Herod. My children are in the G/T magnet program and have been challenged and supported every step of the way. I agree that you can't tell much about a school by its rating on this site. Visit Herod and find out why your kids should attend. Truly a hidden jewel in this area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2012

The school seems to be getting better with the new principal! My only complain is the fact that some staff members don't treat the kids with dignity and respect. I hope Mr. Johnson addresses that. Kids should enjoy going to school. Teachers have the right to discipline but keeping in mind kids dignity and respect. Ms. Roetzel, if you chose to teach, I suppose it's because you like children and enjoy working with them. How does being rude fit in that equation?!! Remember that kids say everything. Parents don't like to hear you are rude and ugly to kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2011

I am very pleased with this school my son had Mrs Hypolite for pk and couldn't have been happier she showed that she was more then just a teacher to my son being that dedicated teacher are hard to come by these days. My son is now in kindergarten and I know that he will have a fabulous yr as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2011

My son is entering the 1st grade Vanguard program at Herod. He thoroughly enjoyed Kindergarten and his class became family to him. His teacher Mrs. Melancon was awesome. She's very caring and very concerned about each child's growth and development. She loved them, and she challenged them. My son always came home to tell me the new things he learned. His sentences often started with, "Did you know " The administration and teachers seem very dedicated to finding and investing in the most effective ways to develop the students. I look forward to another great and challenging year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2011

Simply love this school! My son has learned so much in his first year of pre-k, he had a great teacher too (Ms.Pitts), she really cares about her students education. My son enjoyed this year very much, making new friends and all and is thrilled to start Kinder soon. I would recommend this school to all you parents, trust me you won't regret it. :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2010

My son attended Herod for grades 4 & 5. His first year there (4th grade) was great. Excellent, caring teachers. 5th grade was not as good. No communication from the teachers, e mails and notes sent to teachers were left unresponded to for up to 2-3 weeks. Phone calls to teachers were left unreturned. The office staff at Herod is very unfriendly. They don't acknowledge your presence when you walk in the office. They don't offer to assist you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Great school with teachers and staff who truly care about the students. Diverse population teaches kids about the real world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

My child is in the Vanguard Program at Herod and has had an amazing second grade year. The work she has been given has been challenging but she has also been given the chance to be very creative. For example, the class did a reader's theater rendition of the Johnny Appleseed story. Herod's guided reading program is top-notch. In addition, she gets to take Spanish and in 3rd grade she will get to take guitar. Next year they even move into a brand new building.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2010

We stumbled on this school by accident with our oldest child (I didn't understand the whole process of choosing an HISD school yet) and were extremely happy with our choice. My son is in the Vanguard program and we are pleased with his progress. He seems to be way beyond his peers at other schools. Herod also has the dual language program which is where my second son's passion lies. After doing research (this time) at many of the other programs, we decided on the Herod program. It is a Spanish immersion program that incorporates English as they get older. We are very excited about this opportunity for his life that he would not have had elsewhere. We really like the new principal and find her to be very involved. I couldn't be happier with any other school. Our family loves Herod.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2010

I agree with other parents. The school has named Vanguard without its quality. It is worse than other exemplary schools nearby. I don't understand where is thei actual problem. Is it administration/ principal leadership/ teacher quality/ neighborhood student quality or lack of vision? I am really upset.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2009

I know that Herod Elementary is a Vangurd school and it would be different from other mangnet school. Unfortunately, I am totally un happy about the administration and front desk. They have know connection each other.My experiance they don`t have any vision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2007

I have been a parent at Herod for past 2 years (my third year this year) and I feel that the school is going through big changes. With change in adminstration there have been a lot of changes in the school. Some for betterment and some not so much. My daughter's teacher seems lost and needs to get better control over the class. She is very unorganized and we have had instance where the children remind her to give the test that she asked them to prepare for. Its been 3 weeks into school and I have no clue as to what exactly is being taught.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2007

My son transferred to Herod from a neighbor school where he had a very bad experience with his kindergarten teacher. He was accepted into to the GT classes. His first grade teacher was heaven sent, second grade was a blasts, third grade was a challenge her first year with elementary students. We moved from HISD his fourth year to FBISD. My son still excels in math and science. He is now six grade, I do feel with encouragement he received from the teachers and administrative staff, and the principal, he is well on his way. Thank you Herod. Parent of the past.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2007

I have been extremely happy with Herod. I have two boys there this year (Pre-K and !st) and the teachers are fantastic and positive. My oldest is excelling in the GT program thanks to his K teacher. The office staff is extremely helpful, and even the nurse is efficent and kind. Thank you so much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2006

My child just started Kindergarten at Herod this year and it has been a very positive experience. The school definitely exceeded my expectations. I believe the teachers, staff and principal are very focused and involved. My child's teacher is very dedicated and competent. The parental involvement is phenomenal. I believe this school is one of the best in the area and I am happy to be a part of what is going on there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2006

I have been a parent at Herod for the past 5 years and I agree the school is not what it used to be! I beleive that the administrative staff including princinple have lost their focus ' the children!' It is time for an administrative change. The school has good teachers, they are not the best, but they are good. The parents at Herod are outstanding and deserve a thumb's up for their involvment.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

82 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

84 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

89 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

91 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
95%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

94 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 82% in 2011.

106 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

106 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 87% in 2011.

110 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students93%
Female91%
Male94%
Black or African American94%
Asian94%
Hispanic82%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special educationn/a
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)78%
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant93%
Gifted/talented98%

Math

All Students92%
Female89%
Male94%
Black or African American94%
Asian100%
Hispanic82%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special educationn/a
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)84%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant92%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students92%
Female95%
Male89%
Black or African American91%
Asian100%
Hispanic93%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special educationn/a
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant92%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students93%
Female93%
Male93%
Black or African American91%
Asian100%
Hispanic94%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education80%
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)80%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant93%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students88%
Female89%
Male87%
Black or African American83%
Asian100%
Hispanic88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special education17%
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)43%
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant88%
Gifted/talented98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students93%
Female93%
Male94%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic85%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education71%
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)82%
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant93%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students92%
Female89%
Male96%
Black or African American90%
Asian100%
Hispanic88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education71%
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)82%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant92%
Gifted/talented100%

Science

All Students90%
Female88%
Male92%
Black or African American90%
Asian100%
Hispanic84%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education50%
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)82%
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant90%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
93%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 73% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students86%
Female87%
Male85%
Black or African American79%
Asian94%
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special educationn/a
Not special education87%
Limited English proficient (LEP)64%
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant87%
Gifted/talented98%
Not Gifted66%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students85%
Female84%
Male85%
Black or African American79%
Asian100%
Hispanic77%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special educationn/a
Not special education85%
Limited English proficient (LEP)57%
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant85%
Gifted/talented95%
Not Gifted65%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students81%
Female90%
Male74%
Black or African American81%
Asian100%
Hispanic72%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Special education40%
Not special education87%
Limited English proficient (LEP)71%
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant82%
Gifted/talented98%
Not Gifted69%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students84%
Female90%
Male80%
Black or African American92%
Asian100%
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Special education36%
Not special education92%
Limited English proficient (LEP)78%
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant85%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted73%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students72%
Female83%
Male64%
Black or African American77%
Asian100%
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Special education18%
Not special education80%
Limited English proficient (LEP)53%
Proficient in English73%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant73%
Gifted/talented95%
Not Gifted57%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students88%
Female94%
Male82%
Black or African American94%
Asian84%
Hispanic87%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special education20%
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)59%
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant88%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted70%
Bilingual83%

Math

All Students88%
Female90%
Male87%
Black or African American88%
Asian100%
Hispanic85%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special educationn/a
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)78%
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant88%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted69%
Bilingual91%

Science

All Students80%
Female82%
Male79%
Black or African American93%
Asian94%
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Special education22%
Not special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)50%
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant80%
Gifted/talented95%
Not Gifted58%
Bilingual87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Recognized".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 41% 52%
White 25% 29%
Black 21% 13%
Asian or Pacific Islander 10% 4%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 26%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 6%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • WILLIAM JOHNSON
Fax number
  • (713) 778-3317

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5627 Jason Street
Houston, TX 77096
Website: Click here
Phone: (713) 778-3315

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Sephardic Gan
Houston, TX



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT